Expressions Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get what you can and go for better
Manager In Training (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIApril 2, 2018
The work is easy but upper management tries to make things difficult. They want you to be all for “the team” and once you need something they are not willing to help you out. When they don’t want you as a employee any longer they will find ways to let you go even by making false accusations on you to hurt you from getting unemployment benefits. They place would be better if they had upper management and a owner that genuinely cared about their workers.
Pros
No pros
Cons
No employee discount, a healthcare plan that makes employees not sign up for the benifets, poor upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just dont make it your only job
Chef (Current Employee) –  Timonium, MDFebruary 15, 2018
Very laxed and cool atmosphere. Work at your own pace. No micro management. But the hours are inconsistent. In season your working upward of 13-16 hour days but once the season ends there is no work for 2-3 month gaps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 19, 2017
Expressions taught me a few things. First, as long as you do your work and come to work on time you can get recognized. By being recognized this could lead to a promotion. You can expand in anyway at expressions. For example, if you become manager there is a possibility of you running your own store.
Pros
you the sneakers first hand, a small discount percentage
Cons
no paid vacations, barely any sick days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for this company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, MADecember 11, 2017
if you need a part time job then yes its a dcent place to work. But if your a maanger doesn't offer much incentives at all. And if you are in the hood watch out!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Media rocks
Editor (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLSeptember 28, 2017
Public Media is such a worthy nonprofit that you'll put up with more garbage than usual. And really that's OK.
Management isn't the best, but generally there is so much to do that it doesn't matter.
Great magazine.
Pros
a worthy nonprofit
Cons
doesn't pay well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers hated shopping here
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 22, 2017
The manager was a creep. Scared alot of females customers, didnt like me taking on more the he can handle himself, very judgemental of how certain customers dressed so he would not want to make sale to them, disrespected them by thinking they were trying to steal and be all in the business verse actually trying to help the customer find a new outfit.
Ultimately blamed me for sneakers he stole for his daughter and later was fired for theft.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great music and the latest trends in sneakers
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIAugust 29, 2017
One of the best retail jobs I've worked. Helping everyone from men to infants with sneakers. Music is always on point to keep the customers entertained and wanting to come back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Gymnastics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Romney, WVAugust 11, 2017
Great place for kids and young adults to come and excel at gymnastics. Different time slots to choose from that will fit in with your schedule. Friendly staff.
Pros
Affordable prices
Cons
Limited space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
Assistant Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Chelsea, MAJuly 30, 2017
the store manager at the time made every typical day very enjoyable
i learned a lot about sneakers and how to categorize them
expressions management could be better
Pros
working in a plaza
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ot a good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 28, 2017
Overall the Owner had to many young kids being supervisors, and not being fair to older staff that was working their. Mattapan Expressions would be a great store they just need the right people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the manager
Sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Red Wing, MNJuly 20, 2017
Had a lot of fun waiting on customers and working as a team with the manager. Was able to try display set ups and was trusted to open and close business.
Pros
Hours were flexible
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hair dressers (Expressions)
Hairdressing Assistant (Former Employee) –  GuernseyJuly 20, 2017
I only did experience there for school, but I didn't get paid as it just experiencing what I may want to do in my future. But I didn't like hairdressing.
I used to go in, do dishes or sweep the floor and I did once wash the boss's hair.
I learnt it is hard too be a hair dresser, but the thing I enjoyed the most was talking too people.
The hardest part was being on your feet all day
Pros
I had lunch off site, and had an hours lunch
Cons
I had breaks in the kitchen too sit down and have a coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoe Sales and customer service.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 23, 2017
At Expresssions it is about selling sneakers like Jordan s, and Nike. You also have to meet your sales goal by upscaling sales and providing great customer service. We get shipping twice a week and have to maintain backroom neat and organized by stocking shoes accordingly and accurately.
Pros
The pro's about this job is you get your schedule 2 weeks in advance.
Cons
There is hardly no growth potential and pay is very minimum.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJune 14, 2017
at one point the amount of hours we would get would be based on add on products that we sold to every shoe, the down fall is that with every return it would hurt your overall score which will then determine how many hours you would work.
Pros
Manager
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place to work
Management Trainee (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 6, 2017
The owner and other employees are professional and driven. I would recommend anyone to peruse working here. Great place to start after you graduate from college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAJune 4, 2017
A typical day at Expressions consist of a heavy flow of traffic from customers coming in to shop. I had to present customers with product and also be able to up sell to the customers to meet daily quotas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hyde Park, MAMay 25, 2017
great environment. upper management really get involved and treat you with respect and as a equal. as a manager at times it was overwhelming but I always had my boss give me a helping hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't go back
Driver (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMay 4, 2017
The job was ok it I had to drive to different stores in different near by states, some stores didn't have docking places so hard to find parking to unload the truck. the pay was horrible no way of moving up in the company and the supervisor was very disrespectful always yelling at employees. We had no benefits, no holiday pay, no sick time
Pros
Sneaker Releases
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment strong
Assistant Manager - Trainee (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 24, 2017
A typical day is helping customers and reaching my weekly sales goals.
The hardest part is reach my goals during a tough sales week.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping a customer and seeing them satisfied with their purchase.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 21, 2017
- some days would be slow but then pick up
- i learned a lot about how to interact with customers and figure out what different styles people like
- management was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Expressions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 77 reviews
520
427
316
29
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture