Extended Stay Hotels Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 1,346 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5324
4302
3345
2165
1210
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,336 reviews matching the search See all 1,344 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your worst nightmare
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJune 19, 2018
Imagine being a front desk, a housekeeper, a laundry person, a maintenance guy, a bellboy, and a manager all in one & you've got a Guest Service Rep at Extended Stay America. The company only employs one person per shift, and requires you as a front desk to not only check guests in and out, but do laundry and deliver any hotel amenities to guests all the while being by yourself in a 100 plus room hotel. Management is gone for the day by 5pm, housekeeping is gone by 5-6pm, after that you're all on your own. 30 plus check ins? No problem, still by yourself... make sure you finish those towels though! Overbooked by 6 rooms? No problem, still by yourself though... and again, make sure you finish those towels! And all the while you're making minimum wage and or a dollar more depending on your position. Corporate doesn't care about you, so voice your concern at the annual "Extended Stay Roadshow's", they'll continue to "look into" whatever problem you have which really means you're on your own. Management can be awesome, but are still limited to what they can do for you as employees given the minimal resources they're given themselves.
Pros
A bi-weekly paycheck
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick breakfast bar,clean place,wiifii,full kitchen in your room
Night laundry (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 18, 2018
I worked at extended stay and i loved it! I started off doing house keeping,then i switched to night laundry third shift. Its a great place to work also i nice place to relax in a room cooking watching cable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 15, 2018
Cleaning rooms, hallways, interacting with guest and enjoyable workplace. The staff there was extremely helpful and fun to be around. A typical day on the job is getting there in the morning and seeing all of the guest heading out to have fun with families and starting my day off with the smiling faces of happy customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security.
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tulsa , okJune 14, 2018
The only thing I can postive is job security... you’ll always have a paycheck.. but that’s it.. the management team will mentally beat you up... and you’ll earn time off but if you take you’ll be scrutinized and looked down apon. The staff is always changing.. so much drama and back stabbing... good luck if you decide to try it
Pros
Always get paid
Cons
Bad health care bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Guest Services Representative/Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJJune 13, 2018
Relaxed, sometimes busy.

I improved my English language.

Good place to work.

It was hard when a guest wanted to stay without paying for the room.

I enjoyed meeting people from different parts of the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful Workplace
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 13, 2018
Overall it was a good job but just like any hotel you never know what Somebody could have going on in their room so sometimes things went left and police were called
Pros
No distractions
Cons
Short breaks, creepy guest
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 12, 2018
Was Ok . Nice and stable but does not pay for the amount of work and constant on call life you must have to work there. A good place but not forever and ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Days
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 12, 2018
As an Assistant Manager the days were very busy. I learned how to manage Employee and different cultures . The hardest part of the job was working in Housekeeping and the laundry . The most enjoyable part was working with the employees
Pros
the hours were good
Cons
leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too low pay for workload
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 10, 2018
Not enough pay for job position. Management on supervisor level was not concern for its workers, no consideration for employee's concerns about job. No benefits.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Extended stay America (Former Employee) –  Blue Ash, OHJune 9, 2018
Good place to work just things that they do don’t really seem right it could be a nasty job but it’s a very easy job. There is a lot of cleaning and could get stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place of work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKJune 8, 2018
I liked working there and the hours worked for me. The management was easy going. It was easy to get to work. It was a very relaxed setting. They had good 401K plans.
Pros
Easy to get to.
Cons
Not a full time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great pl as ce to work and learn
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 8, 2018
Learn a lot here and advanced my career. Limited service hotel si as GM uou learn and focus on guests and product quality in all areas. Job market in Texas was challenging for housejeeping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start for hotel industry
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 7, 2018
This job had it's perks, however they were masked by the many faults in management and the constant struggle to stay up to par with the qualifications and timed cleaning assignments.
Pros
discounts
Cons
management is futile
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very tedious job but enjoyable
Housekeeper/Hospitality Specialist (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 6, 2018
Working at this hotel allowed me to meet a variety of different people. The staff was great and I enjoyed the fast pace environment. Working outside was a little rough but we got the job done.
Pros
discounts on hotels
Cons
working outside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Asst Gen. Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJune 5, 2018
This chain is one of the lowest in the area. I would say its a good first step in the hospitality industry. The management of the company sucks. Despite that you can get good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Gardena, CAJune 4, 2018
Great job, kept me busy learned a lot of things met a lot of great people. Moved on to a better opportunity. I do recommend this company to other people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Receptionist
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 2, 2018
I worked as front desk receptionist from 3pm-11pm 5 days a week. I answer phones,make reservations, performing customer service.I also drive the shuttle to and from a driving company called Schneider for cdls drivers.
Pros
no lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to enjoy family time
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSJune 1, 2018
Make sure that you know what you're worth never settle for less! The customer service is a great place to start a new journey in life due to the people you come across. You never know who you may meet and help
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Darien, IL 60561May 27, 2018
great place to work, you meet a lot of wonderful people traveling in town for the weekend for golf events. however I do recall wages were low for the amount of work being done in housekeeping and front desk clerk
Pros
meet nice people
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work , fun people to work with, work around anyhting that ya might need off for
Housekeeper/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOMay 24, 2018
nice place to work ,fun people to work with. needed more housekeepers. gave you days off when you needed them.
Always got good review from Customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Extended Stay Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight