Exterran Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 468 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5161
4145
397
235
130
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 302 reviews matching the search See all 468 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2018
These guys had grown up by the time I joined. They merged with Universal Compression to become Exterrran. Was pretty good, but suffered a great deal of management change....like most mergers.
Pros
Good people and tools
Cons
Too much leadership turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Productive
Buyer/Expeditor (Former Employee) –  Alleyton, TXJuly 21, 2018
Job was stressful, to many changes, nothing stayed the same and never stayed consistent
Management was poor, They didn't seem to engage with their employees, just a number to them.
Facility was very out dated.
Dealing with co-workers that didn't want to learn from me being that I had been there for 30 years and was only trying to help them to succeed.
Working with employees that had been their as long as I had they were family to me and they felt the same way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes management was difficult
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  West VirginiaJuly 18, 2018
Over all a good place to work, When they shut down shops on the east side and changed there name, they brought a lot of people from Texas with them and it replaced a lot of good men. Everday they where dead lines to meet, We were able to overhaul a unit about one to two a month, witch was very good.
Pros
pre-diem
Cons
No respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay. With horrible managment.
Welder/ Fitter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2018
Was a good paycheck. They don't communicate with their workers, in the sense that if you are doing something the wrong way. They will simply let you mess it up. To the point where you get written up and fired.
Pros
Paid lunch time.
Cons
Super strict in everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out fun.
FIELD TECH II (Former Employee) –  Greeley, COJuly 13, 2018
There are a lot of awesome people that work for this company, But there are just as many bad decision makers. This company was very top heavy and made poor decisions in regards to technicians.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and safety oriented
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harcourt, IAJune 24, 2018
A structured company to work for. Am proud and fulfilled working 15yrs growing my career. Exterran is the leading gas compression company to compete for in terms of technical expertise,technology, manpower development and core values.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKJune 13, 2018
I worked with a great group of men and women. I had great mentorship that was offered to me without solicitation. I made and have great friends from my time with Exterran.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked at
Director - Global Logistics (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 12, 2018
Management was a joke. No leadership- all about politics. Results didn't matter- only company politics did.

Spent more time in meetings than doing actual value added activities. Run- don't walk away from this company.
Pros
None
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Tactical buyer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2018
Normal problem solving, typical management not always honest, work environment business casual, work instructions lacking, work is repetitive and not very challenging,
Pros
Consistent
Cons
Management inconsistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Field pump and engine mechanic (Former Employee) –  Pampa, TXApril 10, 2018
Fast paced with strong work ethic.Productive days. Team participation from employees. Willingness to learn multiple job duties allowed me to expand my duties. Lots of overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safety palce
Assembler Fitter Senior (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 8, 2018
Punctuality
Safety
Make analysis of risk
Filling up JHE before to start to working
Good culture about housekeeping
Team work culture
Training on work about highs elevation work
Pros
Free luchs when no accidents
Cons
No pay raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Millwight (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 27, 2018
normal day starts off with a safety meeting and getting directions on what needs to be done for the day. once the meeting is over you gather your tools and you to your assigned area for work.
Pros
money is good
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Assistant HSE Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OkMarch 22, 2018
Even though this company has be bought and sold several times the atmosphere is off the charts. The employees that work there are wonderful, and management is out standing.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was brought in as a contractor and not offered a full time position
Texas - Facilities/Real Estate Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2018
.As mentioned I was brought in as a contractor on a temporary basis and not offered a full time position which makes it difficult to assess them failry
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work.
Project engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2018
Friendly work culture and very experienced engineers willing to help and guide entry level engineers. Great opportunity to get design and hands on experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Carrizo Springs, TXMarch 11, 2018
Don't work in The oilfield it robs you of your family life and they spit you out when the lay offs begin. I almost died working 100 plus hours a week and they didn't even care about their employees. Management sucked too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Billing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 5, 2018
Typical day included supervising team of 6, generating invoices, creating reports. Family like atmosphere. Management team was great. Most enjoyable part was working with the wonder staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n\a
Quality Senior inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77041March 5, 2018
it's a great company to work for if you are planning of spending 10 to 15 years performing the same task. Before you get a promotion or need to be a full time employee. Not contract, to even be consider for any managing or lead position.
Pros
n\a
Cons
n\a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work until things got slow.
Designer IV (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXFebruary 28, 2018
Exterran was a good place of employment. I enjoyed working for them until the split. When the Company split and we become Archrock it seemed as though the plan was to centralize all of the Engineering and Drafting to the Houston location which in turn left me without a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Service Tech
Field Service Technician Senior (Current Employee) –  Yukon, OKFebruary 24, 2018
If you like long hours, not spending enough time with your family & being stressed to the point of having health issues, this is the job for you!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport