Eyecare Partners Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finally, This is the Kinda of Place I've Been Looking For!
Optician (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCMay 17, 2019
I have been searching for a job for three years. I was managing the optical at a private optometry firm. The work environment was toxic at best.
When you have been in the business as long as I have and have done pretty much everything, everyone wants your knowledge, but not you!

EyeCare Partners and Eyecarecenter were different. They wanted experience. Taking a job here was a no decision at all!

All the staff are friendly and outgoing, but also courteous and professional. The Optometrists are friendly, approachable and value my expertise.

I spend a good part of my day both learning and teaching. The manager is extremely helpful and is respected by the office staff.

We are busy from open to close, but the feeling is relaxed and not at all stressful. That is a rare combination!

This is a company that appreciates and rewards effort...and that's rare ,too!
Pros
The hours!!!, the teamwork, the overall friendly, but professional atmosphere!
Cons
In all honesty, I am not a big fan of the surfacing house that they use. Fortunately, they are changing that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not advise working here
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 3, 2019
Eyecare partners as a whole is a nice company. The call center is horrible. Our job description was to schedule appointments, check order statuses, and call patients to remind them of appointments. Training was three weeks and our trainers were amazing. Development not so much. We were supposed to have that supervisor double headset with us. She didn't. She basically left us to ourselves. I don't feel like I was prepared to be by myself. Development was still considered a training period but she basically had us be by ourselves which is fine. But I'm a perfectionist and i like to make sure I'm doing things correct. She did not offer feedback at all. Outside training we were given more duties such as taking billing calls and cold calling past patients to set up appointments. No where in the job description did it say that. I think the billing department should be taking billing calls whenever we speak to patients they get mad at us because we have to tell them well send it to the billing specialists. I've had several former patients cuss me out and tell me not to ever call them again because they are adults and can make their own appointments. Some of the patients would hang up when we identified ourselves. I definitely get how frustrating it is for businesses to call you but why answer the phone? Most of the people at the actual offices were nice but some were extremely rude. And then they would try everything in their power to not take the calls that they were suppose to take. I liked how fast paced it was. The company continues to grow which is a good thing but makes things  more... more difficult. Hello doesn't always have a specific offices scheduling rules and the credentialing sheets aren't always updated so when you reach out to the office no one answers. I think some groups of people should be assigned to certain hubs so that way they can be familiar with those offices. The computer 360s are extremely slow and patients get upset because we can't tell them when the next appointments are available. The hours and the pay were good. however living in the city and having to drive hwy 40 everyday was a nightmare. I had to leave 1 1/2 hours early to get to work on time because of traffic. And then I wouldn't get home til almost 5:30 or 6 if I got off at 4:30 or 5. I only live 24 miles from corporate office. I just didn't like how everyday after training and development you worked different shifts in the same week. I was not under the impression at the interview this would be the case. I do like how they implemented shift bids. I think that was a great touch. I liked the perks and incentives they had. I really wanted to like working here because I wanted to work for a company with advancement opportunities. This seemed perfect for that and a lot of the managers and even trainers moved up quickly in two years. The stress just wasn't worth it. It got to the point where I dreaded coming into work. When I'd go on breaks I just wanted to cry because I was so stressed out and my anxiety was high.  less
Pros
Pay, perks, discounts, food days
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a massacre
Staff (Current Employee) –  Des Peres, MOApril 27, 2019
Midday yesterday they fired our administrator, management, and found out more already put there notice in. There are only a couple left now. We’re sure they will get rid of them too soon. On top of all that we had a state inspection this week. Everyone is upset and does not want to be apart of this. It used to be the best place to work now it’s the worst job I’ve ever had. All the doctors complain to us but they don’t have any control since they sold out. Someone named xxxx from the corporate office came to talk to us but just made it worse. He made it sound like we asked for this which we didn’t! The benefits used to be competitive but now those are gone too. If your desperate for a job then that’s the only way I would work here. Good luck
Pros
My coworkers are the best part of this place. We really care about our patients
Cons
Corp management especially the HR department is untrustworthy in my opinion
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Official response from Eyecare Partners
May 1, 2019

Thank you for posting a review and providing your feedback. We apologize that your recent experience did not match your expectations and we are committed to strive for the best. We set a high standard for ourselves and are disappointed when our employees believe we are not meeting this. We are continuously looking to improve our Benefits package, and are looking forward to enhancements in 2020. If you have any other concerns, please feel free to reach out to Bridget Larson at bridgetlarson@eyecare-partners.com She would be more than happy to listen and address concerns as necessary.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Optometric Technician (Former Employee) –  CinApril 6, 2019
Very low pay, not a lot of room for advancement. I just couldn't live on the pay. Most of the people I worked with were nice, and most of the patients were pleasant. Management sometimes talked down to you. Good job if you can't find anything else.
Pros
People Skills
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Official response from Eyecare Partners
April 17, 2019

Thank you for the feedback. Please contact HR to share more so we can improve the process.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eyecare Partners
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 3, 2019
there was always work to be done. kept busy. customers were nice to work with. lots of great frames to sell to the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but very stressful
INSURANCE BILLING CASH POSTING LEAD (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILMarch 22, 2019
Very stressful and the supervisors/managers were relocating to other jobs outside of the company. I am sure they are a good company in whole, but the turn over is harmful to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place when I first started, but changes in management ruined everything.
Patient Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Eureka, MOMarch 20, 2019
I loved this job when I first started but we got new managers and a new VP after awhile and everything changed for the worse. The company as a whole is getting better, but they are treating employees worse and worse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Literally hate going to work everyday
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  AlabamaMarch 7, 2019
They play favorites. They hire you if someone ready knows you. If you get on one persons bad side they will nit pick you to death about every small and petty little detail.. Someone right next to you could make the same mistake and no one would ever say anything to them. No one wants to work for a company where there is NO positive reinforcement. Idk how much you pay me. I also have been made to feel like my job was supposed to come before my sick children. Everyone is fake
Pros
Discounted glasses.... thats all.
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Official response from Eyecare Partners
April 26, 2019

We do appreciate employee referrals and often do hire from here as they are a valuable source of potential candidates.
Quality patient care and strong team morale are important to us.
We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive employment experience.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People!!
Team Leader/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Ballwin, MOFebruary 21, 2019
I have learned so much working here! The hardest part of the job is when you first start, you have to learn their home made vision system, but once you learn that, everything else falls into place. I enjoy working with ALL the people here, everyone is friendly and helpful! The best part is my Director, I have worked for her before and I got the pleasure to work with her again! She has already made so many good changes and she's always available to listen to any questions or concerns, with ANY employee.
Pros
Holiday team activities
Cons
Healthcare is a bit costly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sad truth
Patient Advocate (Current Employee) –  Ballwin, MOFebruary 6, 2019
The way this company is ran is extremely unorganized and not fair for the employees. There are very limited opportunities to move up in the company and hard work is rarely acknowledged. Employees have little to no importance. I understand when a company wants you to be at work during scheduled shifts, but Eyecare Partners does not care what your situation is. Work before anything else! Inclement weather is not a exception, medical reasoning is not an exception, and availability is not a exception. Doctors notes are not accepted! Your life outside of work has zero importance to this company. Management is not friendly and is very intimidating to some employees considering they do pick their favorites out of the bunch. It seems that management would rather be best friends and lunch buddies than make sure they are being fair to their employees. Not to mention the VERY big changes in the company that seriously affect the employees have been announced at the very last minute. If you don't like it, looks like you're welcome to leave. N
Pros
Good area in Ballwin
Cons
Poor management, extreme changes with little notice, unfair overall
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Official response from Eyecare Partners
February 15, 2019

We always appreciate feedback and strive to provide World Class experience for both our Patients and Employees. We introduced Career Progression opportunity for employees during 4th quarter of 2018, which provided growth for employees which was fantastic to see the positive response from our employees. We have recently put into place quarterly shift bids where employees have the opportunity to rank business work shifts. Work Schedules are then given based on Employee Desire along with their tenure, performance and business need. Having quarterly shift bids in place allows employees to have visibility to their schedules 3 months at a time. In addition to the quarterly shifts, all employees also have the ability to swap shifts with other employee. Our desire is to have this in place so employees can better balance both their work and personal needs.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre employer
Patient Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Eureka, MOJanuary 31, 2019
It is required to arrive early to open all software off the clock; which is ridiculous. Regular agents just take inbound and outbound calls. I have learned a lot about medical practices and billing. Direct management isn't bad depending on your supervisor. How the company is run over all is poor. Employees are forced to stay at work during inclement weather or their jobs are threatened and are offered NO reasonable accommodations, favoritism is prominent, very little advancement opportunities, outdated equipment and and software. I love the other employees, most of the management, and most of all I love our patients. I enjoy working with various insurance companies and doctors. HR is extremely poor though. The hardest part of the job is probably all the the dramatic changes with little to no notice before a change goes into effect. Other issues include but are not limited to not being able to take an unpaid day off unless you call in and are forced to take an absence point. Also being lied to about various things to keep you with the company but there is no follow thrugh with the promises they make. They will pretty much just tell you what they think you want to hear to keep you quiet for awhile but never actually do what they say they are going to do.
Pros
Discounts and pay
Cons
Insufficient training and extremely stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Official response from Eyecare Partners
February 4, 2019

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback! It is extremely important that we continue to grow and improve as an organization. Providing consistent practices for our employees and our patients is what we strive to do every day. Providing exceptional service to our Patients is our Mission, and our goal is to ensure that the training and communication given to our employees allows them to do just that. We continue to grow and expand as an organization, and welcome feedback from our employees on how processes and support can continue to be further fine-tuned.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company to work for when you have a family!
Senior Patient Engagement Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MOJanuary 23, 2019
I worked for EyeCare Partners from March 2018 to January 2019. I use to enjoy going to work everyday until the company hired a new HR and President for the scheduling desk. After that the company turned upside down and not one agaent was happy with the drastic changes. Company didn’t feel like a call canter at first but the company just started losing great agents that had been there for years and staff that started with the company. The company doesn’t expect dr notes so if you don’t qualify for FMLA you might as well take your things with you when you leave. This company is not family friendly. And they are so wushu washy when it comes to company policy. They do not care if there is a snow storm if you leave you will get a point and they will fire you or continue to put you on finals just depends who you are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very freindly
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MOJanuary 15, 2019
i loved everything about eye-care partners, from the coffee, to the people that worked there.the staff, to the highest managers are very friendly,kind, and will help you succeed in the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team culture encouraged, monthly lunches, product discounts
Distribution Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fenton, MODecember 8, 2018
I am currently in the distribution center. I am part of a fantastic team that is made up of like minded people. Patient needs are top priority. We work hard and have fun. A positive environment that allows each member to perform their work to the best of their ability, without micromanaging. We have an open door policy for any issues that arise.
Pros
Monthly lunches, fun working environment
Cons
Although insurance is available employee deductibles are high
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
DBA Clarkson EyeCare (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 26, 2018
Decent place to work. Management constantly changes. Raises are minimal and insurance benefits are not the best. Starting pay is good. Very minimal training. Lot's of employment turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful place to work
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  15933 Clayton RdNovember 18, 2018
It's very hostile, managers are racist, they are very unprofessional, all management are friends and they can be very intimidating to some...the worst place I ever worked.
Pros
Flex hours
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Official response from Eyecare Partners
November 19, 2018

Hi there, I am sorry to hear you feel that way about working for EyeCare Partners. EyeCare Partners does not support discrimination of any kind. We expect our managers to be fair and professional. We strongly encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns further.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job and the wonderful friends I have made here
Patient Engagement Center Trainer (Former Employee) –  EuerekaNovember 14, 2018
I started out here as a Patient care specialist and then moved to a trainer after being here about 8 months. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and all the friends I have made while being here. When I came here I was looking for a job that I could stay at for years to come, there have been lots of changes since I started here, and I will say if you don't like change then this isn't the place to work for you. If you are up for challenges and like for things to change then please apply. The management has recently changed and I feel that that they are moving things in the right direction to provide the best world class customer service for our patients.
Pros
pay is good, coworkers, places to eat
Cons
travel, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Director of Call Center Operations (Former Employee) –  Call centerNovember 9, 2018
ECP is a great place to expand skills and demonstrate skills while accomplishing flexible but increasing objectives.
Weekly and quarterly reviews of well communicated objectives keeps everyone on track.
Pros
Great management team to work with
Cons
No stock options available.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work especially for the hourly rate paid
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  MissouriNovember 1, 2018
Decent place to work especially for the hourly rate paid . They are going through a lot of changes right now that just didn't fit my family needs. Upside about this call center versus others is you don't deal with angry patients unless your part of the billing department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly growing & great coworkers
Director (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 16, 2018
Awesome culture here. Love the fast pace that comes with a rapidly growing company. Feels a lot like a start-up given the acquisitions. Offers plenty of challenges which of course lend to great experience. Ability to be creative as there isn't "one" set process/way to approach an issue given multiple offices/practices becoming part of the broader organization.
Pros
Career opportunities, Great people, Patients are priority, Vision perks
Cons
If you struggle with change, it could be a con.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eyecare Partners. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 44 reviews
514
45
36
27
112

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture