Fairfax County Government Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 133 reviews
Ratings breakdown
564
441
320
23
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 133 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun play to work
Maintenance WorkerMaintenance (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 17, 2018
Job was great learned a lot hands on I worked hard landscaping and maintenance work and awesome people to work with been on time and get the work done
Pros
Get off early
Cons
Have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Lorton, VAMay 18, 2018
I worked in the sewage plant in Lorton the shop was extremely dirty with mice dropping all over the place the refrigerator in the shop was disgusting and the people in the shop not friendly . won't miss the place.
Pros
hours
Cons
co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
Workforce /Human Services (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VAApril 23, 2018
Poor Mgmt and Poor Leadership. Supervisor creates a hostile work environment and culture of fear. Worker have no voice and are punished for speaking out about their supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Virginia (VA) (Current Employee) –  Virginia (VA)April 22, 2018
The company has a great retirement plan and was a great place to work. I want to move on to a less stressful job as I get older. The office is located in the middle of a non-congested traffic area.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Social Services Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 19, 2018
I was comfortable and enjoyed the job duties, Hated the job insecurity and lack of management support. From the minute you are offered the position , you really dont have time to learn the job correctly because you have to focus on all the mandatory trainings.
Pros
team meetings
Cons
no free meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely work enviornment
Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 17, 2018
Working for SACC has been a great working experience, the workplace culture is friendly and warming. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my families happy with our programming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive work environmental with opportunity for advancement.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 7, 2018
Fairfax County Government was a terrific place to work and grow career wise. If you wish to advance your career then it's where you should be. I had the pleasure of working with Fairfax County Government for 28 years until I retired.
Pros
Grest benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairfax County Review
Spanish Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 7, 2018
I enjoy working with the Fairfax County Court system because it is a good place to learn a lot about different languages and cultures. I learned about different countries where people speak Spanish. For example, Costa Rica, Honduras, Guatemala, Mexico and Peru.
Pros
good trainings
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for job security, not much room for advancement
Human Services Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 20, 2018
People like the benefits provided by fairfax county government. Hard to get promoted if you don't know the right people. Benefits are being reduced for new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer where you can learn and grow
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 20, 2018
Fairfax County Government is an excellent organization to work for. It is going through a major transition as it increasingly finds itself needing to compete with other competitors in the workplace, but the opportunities to grow and move to other parts of the organization are many and varied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid fire dept
Firefighter/EMT (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 16, 2018
I loveed my mays years in the fire dept.I always enjoyed my work no matter what. Loved the shift work the people and exictment. As this is a young mans game and retired young and FUN
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
LIBRARY AIDE/ASSITANT (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 10, 2018
Great place to work and have a great support group ad leadership skills are always a plus. Lots of growth and room to excel in different departments in the County.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcoming
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 5, 2018
I worked a short while with Caliper but the time I worked with them, they were very understanding and made any situation stress free. They are a nice company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Improving
Logistics Coordinator (AAIV) (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 22, 2018
The county is dedicated to making the work/life balance manageable. Constantly emphasizes that happiness matters and has enough events for employees to enjoy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VA 22309January 20, 2018
Formulating programs and policies in support of community development. Very professional work environment. Frequent employee lunch. Frustrating to get information sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful team of cooperating assistants.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 16, 2018
Learning environment and working environment with plenty opportunities for advancement. I've mastered time management working here and my patience and warmth for the elderly has grown tremendously which I didn't think it could since I was already passionate about them. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to learn and ask my co-workers for assistance when needed.
Pros
1 hour lunch, opportunity for advancement
Cons
non merit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 13, 2018
Nice peaceful , laid back , quiet place to work. Everyone work one there own . Knew what there jobs were and did them.
Wish I would have stayed longer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management Team
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 4, 2018
Fairfax county has one of the most supportive management teams you will find to work with.

Work place culture is very professional and a formal environment.

They focus on work /life balance and provide great benefits.

Salaries are not a par with industry standards

Most enjoyable part of the job is the team you work and management support for training and career growth.

Competition is very high for internal job vacancies.
Pros
Great work /life balance and benefits
Cons
Pay not as competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at County
Revenue (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 29, 2017
You have 14 paid holidays to start you get a 401k and a pension. The OD& T trainings are great. Great place to work I will always say the best part is there is some many agency to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Probation Counselor (Current Employee) –  VirginiaDecember 27, 2017
Good for your. Not a bad place to work. Pay does not reflect cost of living. Very competitive workforce everybody wants to be a Hero. Lots of clicks with co-workers.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairfax County Government. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight