Fairfax County Government Management reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 156 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairfax County
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 11, 2019
Fairfax County was a good place to work, but needs management with respectable people skills. The county needs more career advancement opportunities for all levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Specialist
Planning Aide (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 1, 2019
A typical day at work is any day of the week.
What I learned was to move to Fairfax, VA as soon as possible..
Management is potentially a great skill.
Workplace culture is ok.
Hardest part of the job is living in Texas
The most enjoyable part of the job is the culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ffc gov.
School Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Fairfax County, VAJanuary 29, 2019
Nice employer if you can get a higher position but if at one of the entry levels then you will feel unappreciated. Management is good but at many times I don't agree with their chocies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Instrument Technician (Former Employee) –  Lorton, VAMay 18, 2018
I worked in the sewage plant in Lorton the shop was extremely dirty with mice dropping all over the place the refrigerator in the shop was disgusting and the people in the shop not friendly . won't miss the place.
Pros
hours
Cons
co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership
Workforce /Human Services (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VAApril 23, 2018
Poor Mgmt and Poor Leadership. Supervisor creates a hostile work environment and culture of fear. Worker have no voice and are punished for speaking out about their supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Social Services Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 19, 2018
I was comfortable and enjoyed the job duties, Hated the job insecurity and lack of management support. From the minute you are offered the position , you really dont have time to learn the job correctly because you have to focus on all the mandatory trainings.
Pros
team meetings
Cons
no free meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful team of cooperating assistants.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 16, 2018
Learning environment and working environment with plenty opportunities for advancement. I've mastered time management working here and my patience and warmth for the elderly has grown tremendously which I didn't think it could since I was already passionate about them. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to learn and ask my co-workers for assistance when needed.
Pros
1 hour lunch, opportunity for advancement
Cons
non merit
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management Team
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 4, 2018
Fairfax county has one of the most supportive management teams you will find to work with.

Work place culture is very professional and a formal environment.

They focus on work /life balance and provide great benefits.

Salaries are not a par with industry standards

Most enjoyable part of the job is the team you work and management support for training and career growth.

Competition is very high for internal job vacancies.
Pros
Great work /life balance and benefits
Cons
Pay not as competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairfax County Government
Behavior Health Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vienna, VANovember 7, 2017
I have worked for the county for over 20 yrs. Fairfax County is an excellent place to work for career advancement and security.
A typical day at my site is busy most of the time. You do have time to come up for air. I like to stay busy it makes me feel productive at the end of my shift. The management team is really supportive of the staff and will allow you to be creative with your work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great diversity and stable environment
Tax Compliance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 7, 2017
A typical day consist of research and data entry. I learned in the duration of being in office administration that you have to have excellent customer service experience and be a team player. Management is very helpful and knowledgeable of day-to-day operations. The culture of the workplace is very diverse with great team players who are open to ideas and challenges. The hardest part of the job would be to not over extend in ways that interfere with focusing and devoting my time on each assignment. The most enjoyable part of the job is occasional work with business owners, veterans and departmental head.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value your life?
Will not disclosure for fear of retribution (Former Employee) –  VariousJuly 2, 2017
If you want an employer that does not care that they placed you in a life threatening, physical danger and literally slam the door in your face when confronted, then this us the employer for you!
They don't have your back and will throw you under the bus at the first sign of trouble from the public. Supervisors don't come to your aide when help is requested in an emergency situations.
So pay and benefits don't mean anything if every day on the job could be your last day on earth because of Ffx Co Govt lack of concern to protect its employees.
Pros
None
Cons
They don't care what happens to you on the jobl
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community revitalization is TERRIBLE
Revitalization Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 11, 2017
Don't even think of applying to the office of community revitalization!!! The people that work there are depressed and little looking for another job. Your supervisor is a nervous wreck!
Pros
Bosses who are on planet Pluto
Cons
Psychopath bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Administrative Assistant 1 (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 18, 2017
It was a fun experience, the co workers were very friendly and cooperative, as well as the boss. Everyone is Willing to help if you need it. The typical day at work was very enjoyable because everyone was so friendly. The management was also amazing and understanding.
Pros
Many breaks
Cons
Long at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stale
Network Telecomm Analyst II/ (Video Engineer) (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VASeptember 7, 2016
Poor pay increases if any.
We have always done it this way mentality.
Co-workers Great.
Upper management has told me twice now not to be so helpful to other departments regarding A?V.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
poor pay and recognizition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 10, 2016
Great environment and Co-workers. Management and staff worked extremely well together in accomplishing tasks.
The hardest part of the job was to move on due to budget cuts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairfax County Goverment
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 14, 2016
I worked from 8am to 4pm Monday-Friday
Learned a lot about computers and everyday construction
Of all Management only my last one would help when needed or short staffed
co-workers were pretty much ok some worked hard some played to much
hardest part was trying to get all work for day finished without being called on to help upper management with problems
loved meeting people and I liked working with monies and bonding and really all my different jobs with the County
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Started hiring the real young who wanted to play and not work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a ok work place
school health aide (Current Employee) –  Falls Church, VADecember 3, 2015
it is a ok work place. Need a better management program to treat there employees with respect. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the children on a daily basics and to try to make a difference in there lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Human Service Worker II (Current Employee) –  Reston, VANovember 17, 2015
Unmanageable caseload, people have been quitting right and left. Job advertised was much different than what you are actually expected to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carefree work environment
SACC Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VaOctober 20, 2015
Co-workers are nice. Children are enjoyable. Management is relaxed. I learned to be creative in many ways. Hardest part of the job is programming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, and balance life priorities
Energy Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 18, 2015
Excellent work environment, engaged management, engaged community, international work force, great compensation, and healthy respect for the community and environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairfax County Government. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 156 reviews
573
448
326
23
16

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight