Fairfax County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced high demand job- fairly compensated
Food Service Specialist (Supervisor) (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 15, 2018
Responsible for 150+ employees and a multi-million dollar budget. High stress and long hours but paid well with room for upward mobility. Good workplace culture
Pros
free lunch, high compensation, good benefits
Cons
Long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible County To Work For
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Annandale, VAOctober 14, 2018
Administration is not supportive nor knowledgeable about their job and only worry about covering their own behinds. Throw teachers under the bus in an instant. Requirements for planning time has raised, class sizes have increased, and compensation has lowered. The counties reputation has lowered significantly because of unsatisfied employees, salary is lower than surrounding school districts, and too many hidden law suits because of administration's lack of leadership. Huge percentage of teachers leaving because of the amount of expected work compared to pay and not being able to afford living in the county.
Pros
None
Cons
Low salary, no support, unorganized, county is not concerned with teacher needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prgressive school system
School Counselor (Former Employee) –  Centreville, VAOctober 10, 2018
It was highly educational to work there. You learned a lot about different cultures and populations. It can be very demanding but the kids there were amazing.
Pros
Kids
Cons
Work life balance is difficult to maintain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definately a learning experience
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 2, 2018
Loved working with children with many ethnic backgrounds, cultures, and challenges. Several Military bases were in the district, which meant children were always coming and going. This made the population more diverse and more interesting to work with.
Pros
It was in my neighborhood. There were minimal traveling expenses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
ITALIAN INSTRUCTOR, Adults Beginner to Advanced (Current Employee) –  Fairfax County, VASeptember 28, 2018
Friendly and collaborative environment. Good people to work with. Good students. Opportunity to meet new interesting people. I wish it was my full time job but the salary is not enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor
Supervisor (TMPC) (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VASeptember 21, 2018
Fun job working with staff and student of a public school system. Trained students on varies video editing equipment and designed posters for class room use and office display.
Pros
You are always learning
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VASeptember 18, 2018
Great place for part time or full-time work. A caring and supportive team, fair pay, good benefits and a great school system. Highly recommend working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office in a highly diverse public high school
Administrative Assistant 1 (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 12, 2018
Working for and with high school students is very rewarding. Office atmosphere was always professional and welcoming. Team work was an important component of this position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Student (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 6, 2018
Fairfax County is a friendly, cooperative, and challenged county to help students expand their learning! The only thing is that the teachers could be a little more hard on the kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
High School U.S History and Government Teacher (Current Employee) –  Falls Church, VASeptember 5, 2018
Nice place to work and the time off is wonderful. Being able to use your leave with little notice is a dream. I would certainly recommend anyone to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with good pay
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAAugust 28, 2018
Substitute teaching requires only that you accept 10 full-day jobs per 6 months. This allows substitutes to be flexible with how much work they take on. When you do accept work, you are paid somewhat more for having a bachelors degree (I did) and I made a little less than $100 a day for a full school day. You are never held after school, but you must arrive promptly and be ready to do whatever is asked of you when arrive even if it is not what you originally agreed to. I never experienced any unreasonable demands, however, and everyone I worked with was polite, friendly, and professional.
Pros
Flexibility, Pay
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subbing can prove the best and the worst job ever
Substitute Teacher/Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax County, VAAugust 27, 2018
Subbing at FCPS is convenient for the most part but highly dependent on your experience, your relationships with the kids, the staff, and the administrators. The pay is okay, but for not enough in many cases, particularly when you have special ed classes where the risk of injury may be possible and having some experience and training with populations is helpful. Staff may vary in attitude towards you. Some teachers and IAs are demanding and give you scant directions, yet expect you to keep up. Others are more helpful and are able to explain things to you. The challenge of subbing is that you’re often not privvy to the kids’ background info and, unless the teachers instruct you how to handle them, you find out the hard way. Some schools and classes are more challenging then others, depending on their kids’ special needs. Getting to know the kids definitely helps. Staff who are more informative and willing to not “throw you to the wolves” are wonderful. Otherwise, there are those who enjoy badmouthing subs and judge you on the spot, despite it being your first day or being given insufficient info or chances to get to learn. Teachers and other staff are given the chance to bond with their kids over time. The challenge with subbing is being able to form a strong, working rapport and enough trust with the kids to get them to perform for you. Sometimes they work better for you because you don’t have that built up hostility where they keep butting heads with the same staff. That is tremendously gratifying because then you can view their true potential and can help staff change their  more... approach with certain students, particularly those in special ed. Don’t be too discouraged. This knowledge comes from years of experience. I love the flexibility and it allows one to not become bored in the same routine every day. On the flipside, you don’t develop as strong a bond with fellow staff and students. Developing rapport with teachers and staff will allow you more job ops.

Pay for subs was reduced, probably accommodate more quality staff and salary raises. I do believe this has hurt the system and the kids as well as sub morale and willingness to work. Sub pay should also be increased accordingly to experience and how often one works. Long-term IA positions should be paid at a higher rate as well.
  less
Pros
Working with kids, feeling needed and appreciated (mostly), flexibility, some fcps discounts
Cons
Low pay, lack of respect depending on students, school and staff, Lack of benefits—no paid vacations or snow days, negative attitudes towards subs, l
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i dont know
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAAugust 19, 2018
Indeed asked me to do this and i couldnt figure out how to decline. I was a substitute teacher so i dont know how things go for actual teachers. my job was to hand out work sheets and let kids do them.
Pros
Pick your hours
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was informative
substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, CAAugust 11, 2018
it was productive and I had a lot of fun and gained experience working with the kids. It was a like a team work and I had fun knowing a lot of kids. I would recommend this job to everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and taught me my life goal
student technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfax County, VAAugust 6, 2018
working as a student technician i worked and operated sound and lighting systems for the school country and it slowly developed into my life passion that im going to school for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, not a lot of room for advancement
WRITER/EDITOR HR BUSINESS SERVICES (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 29, 2018
Lowkey place to work, nice people with good ideas, but fairly siloed departments with little appetite for new ideas. Most enjoyable part of the job is profiling and celebrating teachers of the year.
Pros
Pleasant atmosphere with nice people.
Cons
Too much bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fcps
Substitute Teacher/Long term teacher (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 26, 2018
Great work environment. Wonderful to interact with students on a daily basis and have an impact in their lives. Truly rewarding to see change and progress in student's learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Stable Employer
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Falls Church, VAJuly 20, 2018
I recommend Fairfax County Public Schools to any employee whom seeks to achieve work/home balance with their school-aged children.Compensation is fair and steady, a respectable form of employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Nice Place to work
Maintenance Technician II (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 20, 2018
Good place to work and great benefits. I learned a lot of experience working there. I cannot really say there was something difficult about my job. The teachers and students always gave you something to smile about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great for students
Student Theater Technician (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 18, 2018
In certain FCPS schools, you can take technical theatre as a class. A select few of those schools also allow student technicians to be hired by the county to work in the theater. Pays very well for an early, practically guaranteed job. Hours are very random, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairfax County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 399 reviews
5175
4142
356
216
110

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.6

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight