Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 536 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5282
4158
368
211
117
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 192 reviews matching the search See all 536 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and poor support.
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 17, 2018
Management is consistently disorganized, doesn't communicate well with employees. Chronically understaffed and underresourced. Every day we're set up for failure, then we get blamed/punished for not "meeting Fairmont standards." No loyalty or empathy at all.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 2, 2018
I worked for Fairmont for 9 years and it was an amazing company in every sense. It is large enough to foster growth but has a soul that you are part of a family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, Fun, Engaging
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  HawaiiMay 29, 2018
Overall, a great place to work. I felt supported and always had a great time while at work. The company works hard to ensure the staff feels appreciated and engaged!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet and inact with new people very day
Career Server/ La Hacienda Restaurant (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMay 27, 2018
I love my job, because it didn't feel like a job. I enjoyed meeting new guest and clients and listen to their need and provide over the top service on my behalf.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
Pool Runner (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZMay 1, 2018
Over all and amazing job to work out. Very high paced friendly and a fantastic staff. Currently on a leave and would love to return back. Great service, amazing at time off school hours and salary.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Banquet Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 1, 2018
I worked 8 years for this company and every management that was there was really helpful on anything that you need or wanted to learn.
they show me a lot and think that is what help me to be where i am right now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Director of Engineering (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAApril 24, 2018
enjoyed my time at the Fairmont hotel. it was a good place to work, the team members were treated fairly. A good 401 K plan and the interaction between management and staff was good. good team spirit
Pros
free lunch good benefits good 401 K
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful place
Steward (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 20, 2018
never imagine i did really work there because of the way they treat people and understand.fair condition and so miserable the management is so discriminate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a great team
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 18, 2018
The Fairmont San Jose is an amazing operation! It is a huge hotel located in the center of a busy city, and the operation is just as fast paced as the outside world. I loved the culture and team at the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Workplace
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60601April 16, 2018
The summer will stress an employee out with the workload and the winter will stress the employee out with lack of hours, especially low man on the totem pole. You get a little more consistency once you get some seniority under your belt.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Union issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Fairmont Hotels & Resorts?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, stressful at times, no parking, low supervision,
In-Room Dining Server (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 14, 2018
good health benefits, dental, vision, life insurance, 401k, free uniforms, free dry cleaning, free cafeteria food, employee discounts, relocate easy, competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment but no growth
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAApril 9, 2018
It was a fun work environment but there were limited growth opportunities within the hotel. Job shifts were also inconsistent and based on seniority..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner Services for fractional ownership
Concierge/Owner Services (Current Employee) –  New MexicoApril 2, 2018
Management is very helpful, flexible, and supportive. I was encouraged to be innovative and take my department to the next level. We often had new training sessions that would improve my understanding the Fairmont experience..
Pros
Good insurance plans, high deductible but they provide an HSA to help compensate.
Cons
No PTO until you have been with the company for a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo divertido
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Del Carmen, PRMarch 29, 2018
Es una empresa en la cual te puedes desarrollar y crecer.
Pros
Imms
Cons
Muchas horas de trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Assistant Server (Former Employee) –  Sonoma, CAMarch 13, 2018
Sante
-Fast paced
-Fine dinning
-Making sure guest where comfortable
-Excellent tips
-Establishing relationships with guest.
-Learning about food and wine
Pros
Tips
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The diversity of the hotel was a plus learning the different cultures
PBX Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2018
I answer customers calls, repaired the guest room telephones gave direction to the hotel and ensured that customer satisfaction was always delivered .
Pros
Free lunches, stay overs when working overtime
Cons
That the Department downsized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairmont
Assistant Manager (San Francisco) (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 5, 2018
Great job, great staff. the time I spent here was great loved the team however the hours I spent at work were excessive and unnecessary, over all great job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job yet
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZFebruary 28, 2018
A true care for the employees, compensation is great, management is attentive, fairly strict, detailed and guest service comes first. On Call Banquet servers use a fair system to pick up shifts, standards are tough to work around with the time constraints but its somehow doable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 16, 2018
A great place to work, a very fast pace operation with a very experienced Team and great attitude focused in customer services and productivity.
A very demanding upper management team, focused in meeting or exceeding budget guidelines
Pros
Great Cafeteria menu
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Chef de Partie (Current Employee) –  Bermuda, GAFebruary 15, 2018
I love being a chef and working as chef in Fairmont,feel proud of it.
I learned and still learning lot of thing from my working environment and from my boss too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight