Family Dollar Employee Reviews

Found 12,610 reviews matching the search See all 12,625 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great a company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZOctober 20, 2018
Doesn't pay well, manger was too strict and too hard on everyone. Only smokers received breaks: long breaks. As a Family Dollar employee, you do everything in the store. As a cashier, you are responsible for customer service, minding the register, loss prevention, unloading truck, stocking shelves, facing the store, packing back stock and custodial duties.
Cons
No breaks, barely had time to take a lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place, poor management
Cashier/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Powell, WYOctober 20, 2018
Manager gives out work schedule with a days notice, didn't let me go to doctor appointments for my kid, complained when I would use the restroom. Co-worker gets 10-20 minute smoke break but I can't be in the restroom more then 5 minutes because i'm a guy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice customers
Asssistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Mankato, MNOctober 20, 2018
You are over worked and nothing is confidential. The manger leaves things all over the store. I work hard to keep the floors swept and countertop clean.
Pros
Na
Cons
Everyone knows your business. Including customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Most Days but Unsafe
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Unknown Gulch, IDOctober 20, 2018
As a SM or ASM you are left in the store for hours on end alone, sometimes without cameras. It leaves a very unsafe environment. Most people that work for the company are very wonderful people though.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Some stores have a unsafe work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAOctober 20, 2018
Great employees to work with but management is not the best
The pay and benefits, I thought, was excellent
There is plenty of work to stay busy and the day goes fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHOctober 20, 2018
Terrible customers and terrible bosses noi days off and extremely stressful Rude customers and even ruder staff a lot off robbery and theft not a safe working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to ever work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LAOctober 19, 2018
Poor management. They don’t care about you or your well being they are very disrespectful. No professionalism at all... I’ve never worked for. Company this horrible in my life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 19, 2018
You have a role of cashier but you so much more than that. You stock shelves, clean the store, recover the shelves and you have to also bring back all the unwanted items left at your register
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIOctober 19, 2018
Bad company they do not care about there stores employees or customers mold old food selling broken and expired product I don’t know how this company hasn’t gone under yet
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers made it exciting but management sucks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILOctober 19, 2018
They constantly cut your hours and want you to do the same work they didn't care about the workers safety I was an ASM I worked by myself opening and closing only time I really got help was on truck day my store manager quit do the district manager bring his friend in to be the new store manager and asked me to train him that was the last straw for me plus the store was so nasty in and outside
Pros
There was no pros working there
Cons
Your safety, they work you until they don't need you anymore then get rid of you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi great
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 19, 2018
I started off loving this job but it seem after I can back from vacation I was being accuse of many things and started to notice supervisor taking advantage of a new learner. I repeatedly felt unheard, uncomfortable and unsafe and has expressed this to the company multiple time but get ignored
Cons
Short lunch, scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice working there. Although the hours werent enough and poor management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Statesville, NCOctober 18, 2018
Poor management. Asked for more hours. Did everything i could to possibly recieve more hours and didnt get anywhere eventually i quit. I was left inside alone no manager with a line full of customers and register crashed.Called manager didnt even acknowledge the problem to come in to help was in the car with her girlfriend
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Poor management lack of hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Family Dollar
Performance Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 18, 2018
Getting notarized occasionally for a job well done. The fun was meeting new people, and helping them to succeed in the business.
Traveling and meeting my peers. There was not enough of payroll hours to run a store and be fully staffed. Hard to get good help for the stores due to locations. Always looking for great talent. A lot of hard work. Advancement is Great if you want it!

.
Pros
The pay in management
Cons
Having a work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would work there again if i had to
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 18, 2018
productive and busy workplace with fair nice co-workers the hours were not very flexible but the environment was laid back and easy to learn the managers were very understanding most of the time. The hardest part of the job was making sure the shelves were stocked correctly
Pros
i got to meet and interact with a lot of differant people
Cons
not enough benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work i would go in open store wait on customers
Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, KYOctober 18, 2018
It was a good place to work. it was a clean store it had good benefits.I would go in open store I would wait on customers.Made sure other workers was doing what they was suppose to do
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 18, 2018
not good for business to work really dont care who steal or buy i dont like the place the people the boss an the workers an how managment be its not good
Pros
no
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved family dollar
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Follansbee, WVOctober 17, 2018
loved family dollar just didn't give credit where deserved had pics but still worked hard gave me good experience always had fun and always was there loved my customers never got advancement and was never home for holidays or for kids but overall loved working there and learning alot
Pros
great fun
Cons
pay wasnt good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  adadfaOctober 17, 2018
always understaffed. forced to do everybodys job which makes it hard to do ones own job when they cant concentrate on what they have to do for themself
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very productive work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAOctober 17, 2018
I really enjoyed working at Family Dollar! I really enjoyed the customers! I never missed a day of work! I was always on time.. The reason for me resigning at this job was to reestablish.. If I could go back to Family Dollar I would.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Cashier Stocker, 60 (Former Employee) –  Dudley, NCOctober 17, 2018
okay place to work when looking for employment. good with scheduling when you have a second job. only bad part are the benefits and not being able to be full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Family Dollar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 12,626 reviews
52.9K
43K
33.6K
21.6K
11.5K

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

Diversity score

56out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Family Dollar.

Powered by Comparably