Famous Footwear Employee Reviews

Found 1,290 reviews matching the search See all 1,325 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Warrington, PADecember 7, 2018
very understanding about school scheduling and gave hours eagerly
great environment, full of fun and work related challenges
management was understanding and motivating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor leadership
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIDecember 7, 2018
Dsm has favorites spends time with them outside of work. makes store managers give up any family life if certain team members want time off. doesn't let store managers run stores without getting approval of team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Famous Footwear
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Salina, KSDecember 6, 2018
i worked here right after i graduated high school and ever since then i loved working there. The managers are fantastic and they become part of your family. The discount is great also!!
Pros
discount and coworkers
Cons
no con
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHNovember 29, 2018
The manger there while I was working would make rude comments to sales associates and did not take on the responsibility of being the general manager. I did not feel comfortable there since there was a major stealing problem that was never resolved.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Managment, pay, store destroyed at the end of the night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Stillwater, OKNovember 28, 2018
Fun place to work, however no room for advancement. Work life balance isnt great, but it is retail in a college town. For what we do the pay is ok, but there is a hug gap between assistant manager and manager pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Salem, ORNovember 27, 2018
It was a great first job that helped me figure out what an actual job looked like. I don't have any complaints about how the store was run, or the people that work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WANovember 21, 2018
If you’ve ever done retail, it’s like any other retail job. You have certain goals to meet and lot of customer servicing. It wasn’t horrible but they did have a hard time finding a stable manager and customers stole a lot and they expect you to put your life on the line to prevent stealing which is unrealistic.
Pros
Discount on shoes
Cons
Shoplifters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Revere, MANovember 20, 2018
Work as a Sales Associate consists of Cashiering, Customer Service, and keeping the store clean. For the most part Customers are kind and easy to deal with. Managers are very reasonable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Assistant Manager Retail (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NENovember 19, 2018
Nice work environment good people all around. Very busy around holidays and back to school but management does great scheduling people so it’s not too overwhelming. Promoted goals and contests for sales
Pros
Discount
Cons
Longer hours when people don’t show up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relax
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 16, 2018
Love the way they pay attention to peple and the way it so relax and you can take your time without no one rushing you. And because it has different merchadise.
Pros
Relax
Cons
Not enough sociates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Great Falls, MTNovember 14, 2018
A typical day at work would mainly include making sure the customers had a worth while visit at the store as well as making sure numbers and quotas were being met. Learned great management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very understanding with schedules
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kittanning, PA 16201November 9, 2018
Working at Famous Footwear has been a great experience. I have worked their since high school and they have been very understanding with my schedule since I moved on to college life. I appreciate the balance between work and academics that working here has given me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow environment
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXNovember 8, 2018
I was only a floor associate so it was pretty boring but the job was easy, all I did was greet and help customers find the shoes they wanted, just walked around the store most of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have a great mission but do not follow it.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CANovember 3, 2018
It was definitely a learning experience. Not a place where there are lots of opportunities to advance. Plenty of work to be done but never enough time or shifts to do it. Great for a holiday job or high school position.
Pros
30% discount. sometimes it was %40.
Cons
Mangement has no idea what they're doing. Lower staff are basically fall guys. Sometimes no hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very fun to work there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXNovember 3, 2018
Me learning and getting to know new people each day and also working with people who like to socially communicate with me is very helpful and makes the job fun and effective
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall relaxing work envoirnment.
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Carson City, NVOctober 29, 2018
Stocking and helping customers with what they are looking for. Management was helpful and willing to show support. Being part of a team with each helping one another.
Pros
Company discounts, flexible scheduling.
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company !
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHOctober 29, 2018
Everyone I worked with at Famous Footwear was so kind and so strong in their position . They were so willing to help and make sure everyone knew what they were doing !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Adirondack, NYOctober 28, 2018
The company is sales driven along with customer incentives. We had daily meetings regarding boosting sales and the customer rewards program. The hardest part of the job for me was the manual labor of deliveries. The most enjoyable was the relationship between the associates and the managers. We kept the environment fun.
Pros
Competitive Benefits
Cons
Labor Intensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay, Easy Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXOctober 28, 2018
The start pay is $7.50, and you get hours based off performance. Meaning you have to sign people up for rewards if they arent already. Sell them accessories like socks shoes cleaner and insoles. You have to greet customers and tell them about current promotions. You have to keep the sales floor clean. which can be hard if you’re by yourself with an assistant manager who does other things.
Pros
30% Discount
Cons
no break unless you work 5 or more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 26, 2018
Famous Footwear who was the first place I became a family with my coworkers it was a excellent place to work the customers were excellent I would work make a Famous Footwear any time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Famous Footwear. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,325 reviews
5366
4473
3331
292
163

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Famous Footwear.

Powered by Comparably