Fannie Mae Employee Reviews

Found 920 reviews matching the search See all 925 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work, great environment and people
MHA Program Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXOctober 14, 2018
The company is committed to providing top service to clients. The culture is great and the management is approachable and always willing to help employees move up.
Pros
Flexible work schedules - 2 days work from home
Cons
Location is in a busy area in Plano
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Business Analyst IV (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 9, 2018
Politically charged environment. Many people are nice, but it's not uncommon to have people disparage others for their own gain. I would avoid working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punctuality and fast learner
Java UI Developer (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 9, 2018
I will try to more technologies and and i will be up to date with the latest technology. I will try to manage the things in my project. I will try to enjoy the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable workplace
Application Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 5, 2018
Employees and contractors come and go, a revolving door.
No proper procedures SOP in place. Equipment, hardware, desks are outdated and is in an open setting in most instances.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive atmosphere, a leader in Cyber Security
Cyber Security Analyst IV (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAOctober 5, 2018
Fannie Mae has a positive atmosphere, great benefits, and good people. They are a leader in Cyber Security. With few exceptions, my manager was looking out for me and provided me the freedom to get my job done.
Pros
Benefits, compensation
Cons
Career advancement is not a strong point
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Scrum Master (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 3, 2018
Worked with the Product Management team to develop release plans and ensure product backlogs are well-groomed, prioritized and visible to all stakeholders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae Review
Financial Economist II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 2, 2018
Fannie Mae is a great place to work!

A typical day:
Code, program, model analytics and talk high level economics and statistics with really smart people.

Learned:
how to manage and work with data to find solutions to huge business issues.

Management:
Awesome

Culture:
Comfortable, and great.

Hardest Part:
Lots and lots of data to combine can be cumbersome at times.

Most enjoyable:
Learning from others and perfecting your code with great software and data resources.
Pros
Good data systems, Accurate data, great dictionaries to work with to perform your job, great managers, and fun colleagues
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work
Accounts Payable Tech (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2018
Nice place to work, very busy


Rate this company

*required


Overall rating*

Job Work/Life Balance

Compensation/Benefits

Job Security/Advancement

Management

Job Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 28, 2018
I loved working there as a long term contractor but it is fiercely competitive to get hired on permanent. Overall it was a great working experience. I would do it again.
Pros
High hourly pay
Cons
Hire mostlt contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at FannieMae
Application Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 27, 2018
As the job culture is very good, I like working at Fannie Mae. I never received much compensation benefits despite working late hours and weekends when i was an employee. Job Security or Advancement is literally dependent on your manager. Job Work/Life Balance i would rate as 5 as the upper management is very considerable trying to keep the team happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae is a nice place to work
Business Credit Analyst IV - NUC (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 25, 2018
I had a great time working at Fannie Mae. The corporate culture is very employee oriented and there is a lot of room for growth. The commute was not ideal but the company offers work from home solution.
Pros
Flexible work hours and conditions
Cons
Management is not very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding - great coffee
Credit Risk Manager III, SF Credit Risk Oversight (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2018
Choice to work independently but had support as needed. Interaction with all levels of senior management was never intimidating. Excellent workplace.
Pros
Supporting management, great coffee, cafeteria, volunteer support
Cons
Government regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agile work environment
Product Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2018
Learned a lot about the secondary market. The organization is very supportive and diverse. Leadership was great and inclusive of people's opinions. Great opportunity to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful New Building
Investigator III / Mortgage Fraud Program (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Company has beautiful campus in Plano, TX. On-site parking and large kitchen with chef cooked meals. Open concept office work environment and small personal work spaces if you prefer to work away from team. Open seating through out the building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Mitigation Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Great work life balance and lots of flexibility.
They encourage joining an Employee Resource Groups which helps employees stay connected to other employees.
Pros
Business casual/jeans every day if you'd like
Cons
Not many cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae is very fast paced environment where one will learn a great deal very quickly.
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 18, 2018
I learned a great deal at Fannie Mae. They have a high commitment to governance and compliance for all software releases and upgrades. They run a very effective ePMO.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine company
Associate Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 18, 2018
I was a contractor with the company so did not have much interaction with the wider organization but interaction overall was great and team was quite supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 18, 2018
Good place to work. Good benefits but little opportunity for promotion. IT groups are laying off senior individuals and only hiring junior level people.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
low opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Financal Banking
Loan Accountant (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 17, 2018
Fannie Mae is a great company which offers employees the opportunity to make a difference in our housing market. I was hired in 2013 to assist in cleaning faulty loans provided by various clients. During my stay, over 1,000 loan portfolios were corrected.
Pros
great work environment/culture
Cons
downsizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mediocre company
Service owner / Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Reston, VASeptember 14, 2018
Pros : Great work life balance, enough oppurtunities to learn, above average pay if you manage to get growth in the company
Cons: Poor growth , Terrible Management , bad company culture and no recognition for talent
Pros
see above
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fannie Mae. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 925 reviews
5363
4329
3157
248
128

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight