Fannie Mae Employee Reviews

Found 1,020 reviews matching the search See all 1,024 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place to work
Accounts Payable Tech (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2018
Nice place to work, very busy


Rate this company

*required


Overall rating*

Job Work/Life Balance

Compensation/Benefits

Job Security/Advancement

Management

Job Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job
Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 28, 2018
I loved working there as a long term contractor but it is fiercely competitive to get hired on permanent. Overall it was a great working experience. I would do it again.
Pros
High hourly pay
Cons
Hire mostlt contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at FannieMae
Application Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 27, 2018
As the job culture is very good, I like working at Fannie Mae. I never received much compensation benefits despite working late hours and weekends when i was an employee. Job Security or Advancement is literally dependent on your manager. Job Work/Life Balance i would rate as 5 as the upper management is very considerable trying to keep the team happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae is a nice place to work
Business Credit Analyst IV - NUC (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 25, 2018
I had a great time working at Fannie Mae. The corporate culture is very employee oriented and there is a lot of room for growth. The commute was not ideal but the company offers work from home solution.
Pros
Flexible work hours and conditions
Cons
Management is not very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding - great coffee
Credit Risk Manager III, SF Credit Risk Oversight (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2018
Choice to work independently but had support as needed. Interaction with all levels of senior management was never intimidating. Excellent workplace.
Pros
Supporting management, great coffee, cafeteria, volunteer support
Cons
Government regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agile work environment
Product Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2018
Learned a lot about the secondary market. The organization is very supportive and diverse. Leadership was great and inclusive of people's opinions. Great opportunity to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful New Building
Investigator III / Mortgage Fraud Program (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Company has beautiful campus in Plano, TX. On-site parking and large kitchen with chef cooked meals. Open concept office work environment and small personal work spaces if you prefer to work away from team. Open seating through out the building.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Mitigation Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 19, 2018
Great work life balance and lots of flexibility.
They encourage joining an Employee Resource Groups which helps employees stay connected to other employees.
Pros
Business casual/jeans every day if you'd like
Cons
Not many cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fannie Mae is very fast paced environment where one will learn a great deal very quickly.
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 18, 2018
I learned a great deal at Fannie Mae. They have a high commitment to governance and compliance for all software releases and upgrades. They run a very effective ePMO.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine company
Associate Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 18, 2018
I was a contractor with the company so did not have much interaction with the wider organization but interaction overall was great and team was quite supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 18, 2018
Good place to work. Good benefits but little opportunity for promotion. IT groups are laying off senior individuals and only hiring junior level people.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
low opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Financal Banking
Loan Accountant (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 17, 2018
Fannie Mae is a great company which offers employees the opportunity to make a difference in our housing market. I was hired in 2013 to assist in cleaning faulty loans provided by various clients. During my stay, over 1,000 loan portfolios were corrected.
Pros
great work environment/culture
Cons
downsizing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A mediocre company
Service owner / Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Reston, VASeptember 14, 2018
Pros : Great work life balance, enough oppurtunities to learn, above average pay if you manage to get growth in the company
Cons: Poor growth , Terrible Management , bad company culture and no recognition for talent
Pros
see above
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Community Support to local areas
Cash Management Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 11, 2018
Fannie Mae allows the employees to participate in local community based organizations. There were times where a majority of the employees would build houses, paint, design the structure of a house and so many other community focused event. Employeess were often rewarded with gift cards, pizza lunches and game nights sponsored entirely by Fannie Mae.

The workday at Fannie was started with a large cash forcast for operating needs. I learned to managed projects. Management was great. The workplace culture at Fannie was very opened and employee friendly. The hardest part of the job was some of the time commitments. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my colleagues..
Pros
Professional Environment
Cons
Time commitments
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work place
Oracle DBA (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 6, 2018
Productive and friendly work place. Not very friendly for flexible working hours. The management is accessible and listen the concerns and do the needful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Senior Associate (Former Employee) –  Mae, WASeptember 5, 2018
Met many great people, and have lots of friends that still work there. Easy work, and management creates busy work for everyone, but not necessarily delivering real results.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience to boost your career
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAAugust 31, 2018
I had a great 1 year stint at Fannie Mae. In a short time as less as 1 year, I learned a lot of skills in Business Analysis and Data Analysis in an agile environment.
Pros
Great place to start your career
Cons
No value or credit given to contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Data Modeler/System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VA 20170August 28, 2018
Fannie Mae is a good working environment. I have learnt so much and improved my skill set with lot of challenging projects and it also helped me to execute my skills in various projects. The workplace culture was very friendly and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portfolio manager
Portfolio Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasAugust 27, 2018
The job culture was great, especially the work life balance. However, the opportunity for career advancement in my department was severely limited- unfortunately.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere
MATERIAL HANDLER (Former Employee) –  Maple Heights, OHAugust 26, 2018
A nice place to work. A stress free atmosphere that allows you the time to complete your job. Management will assist you in areas that help may be needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fannie Mae. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,024 reviews
5407
4359
3172
249
137

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP5%
In the Top 5% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Fannie Mae.

Powered by Comparably