Father Joe's Villages Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 2, 2018
Volunteering in the kitchen at Father Joe's has allowed me to see people from all walks of life. It has emphasized the fact that everyone deserves to be treated with respect. I have also learned food handling skills and how to work well with others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee's were committed to their jobs.
Program Manager I (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 1, 2018
A good place to get experience working with helping the homeless; which was a rewarding job.
Managment over all is supportive to their employee's. When I left managment was making some positive changes with the structure of the company which included better pay and benefits.
Pros
Employee commitment and involvement.
Cons
Low wages and basic benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Residential Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 6, 2017
Accomplish intake procedures of new clients entering the shelter. Distribution of supplies, supervision of client activities, and providing proper information on agency services and making appropriate referrals to help meet client's needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Father Joe's Villages mission is admirable
Employee (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 30, 2017
Never a dull moment. This is an organization that is committed to end homelessness in San Diego. I wish they could commit to their employees with competitive wages
Pros
Free meals, generous PTO, medical, dental and vision
Cons
Limited cash flow, no competitive salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax
Clerk III/Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 6, 2017
Customer service and Clerk III Title Clerk
answering phone calls and making sure title's were good to go for auction. Learn how to do DMV paperwork and what is profit organization is.
Management was really good
Just a topical day at work no hard part.
Helping people with customer service and also enjoyed going to
the DMV to get title's cleared for auction.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
The people that use to work there are no longer there so no cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Father zjoe's is a great place to work and help the homeless population
Residential Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 23, 2017
Over all it's a great place to work especially if you like working with those I need. Great benefit package.. Hardest part of the job was performing random UA's.
Pros
it's a great place to work.
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor compensation and high turn over
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 4, 2017
I like the mission of Father Joe's Villages, and I started off with a great team.

Through advancement and turnover, I started with a new team and a new supervisor I didn't get along with. They promoted the supervisor despite several warning signs. The pay is extremely poor. If they have better pay for their employees, their turnover would not be nearly as high.

Some people seem to really enjoy working here, but it's not for me.
Pros
Believes in their mission, cares for homeless
Cons
Terrible pay, High turnover, Constant change of policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing great things for the community
Staff (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 23, 2017
Father Joe's is always at the cutting edge of supporting the homeless. You know that your work makes a difference in the community. I invite others to join
Pros
Employee benefits are good
Cons
no 401k match
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked under paid
Tenant services/ Multiple program Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2017
Overworked and under paid. I really did not enjoy my time working for father joes. They give their employees an unrealistic work load for a very low pay rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-faceted experiences
Volunteer Laborer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 4, 2016
..An animated often fast paced environment. Open to the concept of taking the initiative to work wherever help is most required. Get to learn different nuances of food preparation and storage. Learn 'get along' skills.
Pros
Smooth efficiencies .. many pleasant people
Cons
Occassionaly work is 'too' physically demanding.. and breaks are skipped.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Father Joes
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 25, 2016
Working for father joes I experience poor management, and an unorganized work environment. I would recommend anyone looking for a job to look elsewhere.
Pros
helping the homeless
Cons
poor management, unorganized, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run like a corporation. When you have seniority, you are vunerable for termination.
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  San DiegoJune 25, 2015
The culture of caring for staff has disappeared with the retirement of Father Joe. The executive staff and boards of the various programs are more concerned with finances than with the well-being of their talented and dedicated staff members. FJV's is a good place to start a career in human services because training opportunities abound, but not a secure place in which to build a career. My advice to current and prospective employees is to plan your departure from the beginning of your employment. This way, it is under your control, and not under the control of management.
Pros
Training
Cons
Capricious about justifications for terminations
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 15, 2015
On a day to day basis I enjoyed working at Father Joe's. I worked with a capable team and it was a cohesive environment. There was a lot of changes within the organization which was at times difficult but we were usually given a period of time with which to adjust to changes. One of the things I like about the organization is the opportunity to learn new skills. We were frequently being trained on how to better serve the population we were working with. I enjoyed working with the clients but at times it was difficult because of the circumstances the homeless population face.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 21, 2013
Volunteer work. Dealt with a lot of homeless. I was an experience I would not mind doing again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Father Joe's Villages. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
54
44
32
22
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

1.3InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

1.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Father Joe's Villages Reviews by Location