FedEx Ground Employee Reviews

Found 5,811 reviews matching the search See all 5,932 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Fun Workout
Seasonal Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Defuniak Springs, FLJanuary 17, 2019
Started as a Seasonal Package Handler. During peak times you must want to work hard and be willing to learn the various positions available if you want to stay permanent and advance.
Day starts with team meeting by the manager. This meeting includes stretching exercises to loosen up, a safety message/reminder and number of trailers/packages projected for that day.
I find the work is hard and fast paced but rewarding. A great workout. Opportunities are available for advancement if you avail yourself of these. Many times kept on after peak season for regular PT shift. Also a great PT job if you need to move, easy transfer. The management staff are approachable and open to listen to your concerns, right up to the "top", each time I have talked with them about learning different aspects of the job. Raise of 25c within 30 days. Then quarterly.
Pros
Workout, raises, benefits, management
Cons
avg 3.5 to 4 hrs per day max, some days maybe less, hours depend on volume
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  SLC, UTNovember 26, 2018
I worked for FedEx Ground for a number of years as a package handler and as an Operations Manager, at multiple locations. FedEx Ground is a great company, with fantastic ideals and programs. Whether you have a good experience depends on your attitude, whether you can work hard during odd hours, and of course not every manager is perfect. With a good manager, most people will have a good experience, but if the location where you are hired does not have consistent and united management then it may be tougher to have a good experience.
Pros
programs, opportunities for promotion, education reimbursement, decent pay, benefits
Cons
some managers are difficult to work with, odd hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor structure
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 20, 2018
No training. Lazy management. Get penalized for putting your safety before the job. Outdated trucks with many safety defects. Paid poorly. If you’re good at your job and finish before someone else you have to help them because they can’t do their job on their own. Offers no medical benefits even though you’re doing the most dangerous job for the company. FedEx using contractors puts drivers at a huge disadvantage and is the cause for so much turnover and low morale. Take a look at UPS drivers, those guys make it a career, this is just a source of income till the next opportunity presents itself. If FedEx employed the drivers it would change for the better and would weed out incompetent management. My issues really stem from the contractors themselves more than FedEx.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Lack of training, poor management from contractors, no benefits, poor pay, morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay good people no management
FedEx Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, MODecember 26, 2018
Working as a delivery driver, you work for an idependent contractor. You are offered no benefits, no insurance. Overtime is mandatory as you deliver until all packages are gone. Overtime isnt regular once you know your route. Having said that, Brian Birminghman is one independent contractor for the Springfield Mo, and Brookefield Mo area. He cares more for bottom line than employees. He preached professionalism and had me give my former boss 10 weeks notice before he allowed me to start working for him, yet fired me over a text message saying he had no more work for me. Then he called me and did the same. The company is not bad, but independent contractors i would not trust. There is no professionalism as they are seperate from fed ex themselves.
Pros
Good pay, work load isnt too much.
Cons
No management no benefits you do not work FOR fedex. You work for the independent contractor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My collar has changed from white to PURPLE
Package Handler/Sorter (Current Employee) –  NewarkDecember 7, 2018
After an early retirement I opted to seek part time /holiday/extra help positions. FedEX Ground /Federal Express a company which has a proven track record of success. I applied, interviewed and was quickly hired. The Orientation was very educational and informative. Though i have worked here for a little over 3 weeks I really like the work and people.

1) job is physically demanding and safety is a top priority. Enjoy a good work out for 8 hours a day.
2) Company rewards employees with Taco parties, giveaways and raffles. The company swag is really nice.
3) Competitive pay and you are paid weekly.
4) Good work environment.

The Purple promise is the guiding principle which requires an outstanding exoerience. The Newark management team leads by the principle as well. An overall good place to work.
Pros
Good benefits for PART TIME employee
Cons
The work space can be cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive strssfull fast paced
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Chautauqua County, NYJanuary 12, 2019
Fed EX Ground is not the place to work your not a Fed Ex Employee you work for a contractor and they work you to death for about 650 per week with 100 dollar bonus every 2 weeks. The company Fed Ex does not back the drivers due to the fact you dont work for them hours are long sometimes the building doesnt get your truck loaded til 9:30 10:00 then you have to drive to your route area and bust your Butt to catch up to where you should be by then.and the worst part is say you have a pick up scheduled to occur between 14:00 and 16:30 hrs and you get there at 16:40 when you scan that package its considered a late or missed pu and your contractor is fined 400 dollars guess what it comes out of your salary
Pros
driving, Customer interaction, See the country
Cons
Long hours no family time completly drained after a days work and 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Real FedEx
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Schertz, TXOctober 1, 2018
When your a packagehandler this is your job. Load a trailer work hard for 4 hrs get good dental vision healthcare. What your not told is that you can be full time and only work for an hr and then wait for your next shift 8hrs from then. Station manager promises the world and then lies to you. Real big on safety. Good night managers poor day managers. Packagehandlers where promised a raise they never got it. Also if you have a lot of miss scans you may be fired. Great place to make friends. The FedEx ground in shertz tx would not refer to anyone. Also if you are looking to loose weight then this is the perfect workout. Morning shift when you finish loading your truck. You have to help someone else finish there truck. The only thing the don’t offer the packagehandler is 401k. Reason for leaving not enough pay
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Only 4hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good starting job but no long term advancement
Parcel Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belleville, MISeptember 12, 2018
A very hectic atmosphere, disorganized and not much room to advance professionally. Poor management, very poor! Rude HR, who acts phony and nice but doesn’t seem qualified to do her job. Ever worse hub manager, who isn’t very friendly or willing to hear you out. Too many leads that aren’t qualified and have no patience to do their job, they assign the wrong people to the wrong positions. Can get very overcrowded and messy, need to watch where you walk because there’s tripping hazards everywhere! Not enough hours to make enough money to live comfortably. Very snooty attitudes and lazy leads who refuse to do their jobs and help their areas!
Pros
Paid time off, raises, good pay per hour
Cons
No breaks, extremely poor management, lazy leaders, favoritism, rude security, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for while attending school or as a source of side income, but not a reliable source of income until you're within Management.
Lead Parcel Sorter/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, MI 48111November 14, 2018
The company tries to be competitive with their pay, and are flexible with hours, however they lack with consistency. Hours during Q1-Q3 are laughable and trying to become a valuable part of the company, or even your hub as a Package-Handler or Lead is not a sound goal due to the employee-to-manager ratio. Opportunities to move up within the company don't seem to be merit based, but rather a matter of personal preference.
Pros
Benefits program was recently upgraded, decent rate of pay.
Cons
Breaks between sorts are too far too long, full-time hours aren't great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor hourly wage with excessive wait for health insurance
Pack (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAOctober 31, 2018
It's a bad job, unnecessarily antagonistic managers, no 401k, high deductible on the insurance, and difficult to get true fulltime hours. They promote from within but it caps as to how far you can go. There's a lot of favoritism; lazy people who refuse to do assigned tasks as part of their job are allowed to stay while other employees are strangely gunned for. I enjoyed my coworkers but ultimately found the culture to be one that promoted and fostered poor performance.
Pros
It's good for a second job
Cons
Other employees are lazy, there are no performance right ups, no 401k, low starting wage with a wage cap, high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about FedEx Ground?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe place
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, CANovember 6, 2018
Fed Ex Ground is a good company to work at. Well managed, fast paced. But the managers make it a fun and safe place to work in. this company provides very good benefits,the only problem is the hours as being a part timer and you have to be at least 6 months experiences to become a full timer. the hardest about this job is lifting heavy products such as products the weight at least 200 pound or more and very loading at a fast paste, some people do get injured,because of their work ethics. Now what I learned is how to operate a scanner gun and learn how to log in the system and proper lifting keeping our areas safe but there other job titles and i manage to learn more about such as a picker lifting boxes on a conveyor belt and placing them on the rollers where they ship to the trailers, also as a loader we built walls in the trailers fill them to top until the trailers seal up and ready to ship out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workout
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 9, 2019
FedEx really get's you in shape and helps you lose weight. They offer good benefits, however, I did not need them because I am in the Navy. They offer tuition reimbursement but only no more than $1500. These are all great benefits for a PART TIME job. Furthermore, they do not promote meanwhile they always say they promote within. I have been working for them for over three years and I have worked both shifts breaking my back. I applied for a QA position and they did not give me the position.
Pros
More than minimum wage, part time, many benefits.
Cons
No breaks, no promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSHA really needs to look at this place.
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Fishersville, VANovember 30, 2018
Slow management that doesn't care about late dispatch times. Making up for lost time is the DRIVERS problem out on the road. Vehicles with safety issues/non-operational equipment.
Also put delivery drivers in jeopardy with heavy volume/delivery time constraints. Impossible driveways to travel in large vehicles and ever present danger of dog attacks. If anything happens it is all upon the driver.
Pros
Take as long as you want for lunch, just get the job done.
Cons
You won't have time for lunch!!! Safety issues as well. Full time hours/part time benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a part-time job
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCAugust 4, 2018
There aren’t many part time jobs that offer benefits, so that definitely sets FedEx aside from other places. However, the pay isn’t enough to cover living expenses. You typically work 4-5 hour shifts, five days a week and are pretty sore afterwards. As long as everyone shows up to work, and does their part, your shifts go by pretty smooth. Overall, the work environment is laid back. FedEx’s main concern is you doing your job in a safe, and efficient manner. If you’re looking into being here long-term, definitely try to stand out and move up; there are so many other positions available that don’t require as much physical work as a package handler is required to do. Plus, the salary for a package handler just isn’t enough to make this your only source of income.
Pros
Benefits, work/life balance, opportunities for advancement
Cons
No breaks, prone to injury, compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly recommened
FedEx Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJanuary 6, 2019
A typical day at Fedex ground was pretty much the same overall the positions available. you learn how to under go and perform well in fast paced working environments and reach maximum potential. management was always different for me depending on where I was placed. The hardest part of the job was the work its self because it was fast paced and most commonly busy. I personally got my enjoyment from working with great managers and well respected Co-workers.
Pros
occasional lunches, good benefits, oppertunity
Cons
short breaks, pay rate, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome workplace
Operations Administrator (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXSeptember 24, 2018
It can be stresstull, especially if you work the 3am shift and you're cranky from being up so early, but overall it's a great company to work for. Managment is always taking care of their employees, everyone gets along nicely like a big family, you meet a very diverse set of people. It's easy to advance if your work ethic is there, and the more you go up in the heirarchy the better it gets as far as pay, benefits, connections, etc.
Pros
Fun environment, time goes by quick if you stay busy, room for advancement
Cons
The hours can get cumbersome if you can't go to sleep at 8pm everyday to wake up at 2am the next day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is horrible
Package Handler (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Lewisberry, PADecember 17, 2018
Management was absolutely awful unless they see a chance to fire you. People get hurt all the time and they only cared about how much stuff they could send through in one night. They did not care one bit about what people did in their free time which is why many people came in high or drunk and made it impossible for most of the other employees to work. Do not work at this company unless you like to be treated like your next to dirt, they do not deserve a hard working employee like you.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management, Employees, Getting hurt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than anything else I’m qualified for.
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Ventura, CAAugust 17, 2018
People are always going to find something to complain about. It can be brutal sometimes. This is a part-time position and it isn’t really meant for hours.
Opportunity for advancement for those who stay. Many quit within their first month. Management actually gives out FedEx gear to those who work hard and do a good job. If you’re looking for a flat work environment this is as close as it gets. The managers are on your side and are there to help you. If everyone is doing good as a team they get everyone food.
Pros
Raises, Benefits, Pto, free stuff
Cons
Outdated or Non-Functioning equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as an Ops Administrator
Operations Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, MISeptember 17, 2018
I worked as an Operations Administrator for nearly 2 years on the inbound shift. I was out in the dock area for 1.5 years, then I got moved into the office. Had to do reports and work alongside with the Ops Coordinators and Managers about delivery disputes, misdeliveries. I left the company because I had a new job lined up about 15 minutes from my house vs. driving an hour to get to the facility, and an hour getting back home. Had a great team of co-workers and managers and they're always available to answer your questions. Benefits are affordable and outstanding. I would recommend working for this company.
Pros
Managers, employees, benefits and culture.
Cons
Distance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you fall into the "good ole boy' system
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  ColoradoSeptember 24, 2018
While Fedex Ground was a good place to work, in order to advance within the company, you need to be part of the good ole boy club. Education and experience don't hold any weight in the organization. Can be stressful in your working on the docks, but it's manageable. Benefits are good and probably one of the better things about the company. Lots of back stabbing by peers in order to advance.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours during peak, high turnover with package handlers, does not value past experiences or education, retains good ole boy club mentality
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FedEx Ground. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,934 reviews
51.7K
41.8K
31.5K
2510
1443

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight