FGX International
Happiness rating is 71 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

FGX International Employee Reviews for Merchandiser

Review this company
Job Title
Merchandiser110 reviews
Location
All

Ratings by category

3.9Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 110 reviews matching the searchSee all 289 reviews
fgximerchandisingsunglassmileagegrantstorefosterglass

Flexible schedule. Job ended due to Covid-19

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I enjoyed the work and I also enjoyed the flexibility of the schedule. I was not required to work weekends but I could work weekends anytime I wanted to. My manager/ trainer was very good.
Was this review helpful?

2 stars

What is the best part of working at the company?They fired everyone and told we wasn't to even apply for a job at any FG department. Then hired a 3rd party vendor to do our job. After blaming the termination on covid-19. What is the most stressful part about working at the company?No stress, I drove alot I love it great pay. What is the work environment and culture like at the company?At your own pace as long as you got things doneWhat is a typical day like for you at the company?Driving from place to place setting new displays or cleaning and ordering
Was this review helpful?

FGX International insights

Based on 170 survey responses
What people like
  • Support from manager
  • Ability to meet personal goals
  • Time and location flexibility
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job
  • Sense of belonging

En algunas tiendas no hay colaboración en cuanto la entrega de la mercancía

En algunas tiendas se trabaja relajado por la colaboración del personal ennotra son extremadamente extresante
Was this review helpful?

4 stars

What is the best part of working at the company?Easy flexible hoursWhat is the most stressful part about working at the company?Resets mostly resets at cvsWhat is the work environment and culture like at the company?All the stores were very receiptive What is a typical day like for you at the company?I would do 4 or 5 stores a day my service area was over 4 counties
Was this review helpful?

Good work place when I was with the company

Serviced different stores. Flexible work schedule, was able to plan my schedule around kids school. Management was great. Was a good company before covid.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

It's another merchandising job.

The pay is the pits. No benefits. No travel time. No KM's. Most of the stores are good to deal with. A couple are not. Management is great. If he could get you more of everything he would.

Pros

No Pro's other than supervisor.

Cons

It's a P/T job.
Was this review helpful?

No loyalty to hardworking employees

During the first month of the covid pandemic this company furloughed everyone in the field. Shortly there after within a week everyone was let go. This company then brought in a third party company to replace us all. The stores that I frequented for many years I occasionally shop in and the displays are in horrible condition. Lack of product, dirty and disheveled. No loyalty to those of us that worked hard and helped out with other stores when asked.

Pros

Flexible hours

Cons

project completion time unrealistic, lack of factory support, no guanteed hours, no guaranteed accounts, annual review and increase the same for everyone
Was this review helpful?

The flexible schedule was what I liked most about this job.

Being able to make your own schedule and maintain your own territory and not having to worry so much about other employees was what I like most about it. The fact that they terminated all of their dedicated service reps. when the coronavirus got bad was a bad move on their end. They might be saving money but their displays look terrible now in all the stores I used to service.
Was this review helpful?

Low pay, no support

Increase workload, low pay. Expect perfection for minimum wage. No communication within company. Cannot exceed hours given unless approved. Do not adequate time for projects.

Pros

Flexible hours

Cons

Low hours, hard work, cant exceed hours given
Was this review helpful?

Cons: don’t like to give raises or promote employees

I worked for FGX for 3 years when the pandemic hit… the work is very easy and flexible but the pay was horrible and after 3 years I only got a total of .30 raise! They don’t offer a lot of hours either. Definitely a job for someone who is bored and doesn’t really need a paycheck
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 22, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We regularly assess internal compensations compared to the U.S. market and make adjustments as needed. This has been a focus of ours as we continue improving work processes and individual development. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Company supplies materials needed

Would recommend for retired people , low hours, too many hours during reset seasons, paperwork is very hard, low mileage reimbursement, cannot make a living with only this job.

Pros

Easy job

Cons

Hard paperwork
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 22, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We regularly assess internal compensations compared to the U.S. market and make adjustments as needed. This has been a focus of ours as we continue improving work processes and individual development. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

The work is easy and straightforward

The actual work is good but dealing with low inventory levels and a manager that is very helpful or responsive can be very frustrating. It is difficult to merchandise product when there isn't any product.

Pros

No heavy lifting and the sets are easy to maintain.

Cons

Poor management and inventory allotment can make stocking difficult.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 22, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback in order to continue making FGX a desired workplace. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

This was a great job.

I enjoyed working here. The manager was great. The job allowed flexibility in scheduling, we received regular pay increases. It was a great job while it lasted.

Pros

Great pay

Cons

Last minute jobs added
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 22, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We are thrilled to see that our investment in management capabilities are making such a difference and are proud when they help create the employee experience. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Good product.

I really enjoyed the work, but as time passed the co. seemed to care less about the workers. I worked there for 10 years with a hour notice my job and all reps. jobs ended. I had work lined up for almost 2 months. It made me feel bad the way the co. handled things. I was paid $15.45 in 2019 and I was due for a raise when we all lost out job.I don't have any ill feelings, I miss the work and the stores I worked in.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 22, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback and we will take into consideration your pros, cons, and advice. We appreciate your service at FGX. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Setting your own schedule

This is a good place to work for someone looking for something part time with a very flexible schedule. I don’t believe they allow this position to go over 28 hours a week, but I was never even close to that.

Pros

Extremely flexible schedule

Cons

Not many hours per week
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

It’s an ok company to work for.

You don’t get paid well especially with drive time. I don’t recommend it. Positive is you have a good work balance and work on your schedule. Negative is you don’t get much training then you get in trouble for not doing something correctly when you haven’t been trained.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback and we will take into consideration the positives and negatives you noted. We are continuously working on enhancing FGX individual capability building. The integration with EssilorLuxottica allows all FGX employees to benefit from corporate and functional training programs. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Enjoyed while I was there

It was a nice place to work well I was there, but the company closed down the field merchandising division with no warning at all and all of the hard work that we did trying to keep the glasses straightened and filled at the store level were trashed. It's like the company just didn't care anymore.

Pros

Flexibility in schedule

Cons

On a moment's notice the company laid off several thousand people
Was this review helpful?

Bad

Worst company to be a merchandise rep for. Would never recommend this job to anyone. I had issues from the very beginning from setting up my profile and able to access my profile through the website to print up such things as my w-2s or my weekly pay stubs all the way to having issues with ordering merchandise and never receiving it or getting store credits to the store in a timely manner. Not to mention the fact that I never got reimbursed for mileage correctly on each weekly pay stub my mileage was always calculated wrong for reimbursement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
Thank you for your response. We take all feedback very seriously. I’d genuinely like to gain a better understanding of your experience, so I’d appreciate it if you would follow-up this review with a call to me personally. You can call our reception number at (401) 231-3800 and they will be able to give you my contact information specifically. Someone will be available to take the call M-F 8:00am-4:30pm EST. I look forward to hearing from you. Luba Pelikhova, Global Head of HR.

The Job was more difficult than it should have been

Very outdated in terms to a merchandising role, I was sent loads of papers and it was hard to keep track of everything constantly per store(i;e: credits, inventory, etc) If they had integrated in a web system and gave all their field reps tablets or a handheld scanner, it would everything flow way smoother.

Pros

Nothing really

Cons

Everything...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
To begin, on behalf of FGX, we would like to apologize for our late response. As an employer, we are just beginning to explore the option of responding directly to reviews left on Indeed. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We apologize that you did not have the experience with FGX that you expected. As with all feedback, we will continue to re-evaluate our processes to better the FGX experience. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Ok for a part time job, depending on your location. I worked only a few stores in my area so pay was pretty low.

Pay & benefitsMy pay and benefits at FGX International were reasonable for a part time job. The more stores you service in a week, the more you make.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
Thank you for your response. We greatly appreciate all feedback. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

NO appreciation

I worked for FGXi for several years and was very happy and satisfied with the hours of work and compensation. That all changed with COVID-19. FGXi didn't even try to retain field employees even though we were furloughed on March 23 without pay, they still permanently laid us all off in mid April. Then I found out that they were going to be outsourcing the field merchandising jobs, which means they will be paying another company more money than what the employees were making, to do the same job. I find this to be extremely disloyal to the employees that had been with the company for years, most of us worked time we were not actually paid for because we were only compensated for a limited amount of time per store and most of the time that was not enough to get the job done.The best part of this job was the DM. He was always informed and could answer any questions I had. He was understanding and worked with me when I broke my foot and then my knee. He also was great about calling me if he had someone else that needed to be covered. The best part of this job was the flexibility of hours.A typical day consisted of servicing the sunglasses and reading glasses 3-5 stores, Usually Tuesday through Thursday. The company was notorious for adding store visits or changing store visits anytime before end of day Tuesday so this made it difficult to plan work for Monday and Tuesday. I left Friday open in case there was a heavy work load that week or in case there were any stores added late in the week - this also happened frequently.Through it all I learned that employee loyalty isn't - 

Pros

none
Was this review helpful?

Official response from FGX International

October 21, 2021
To begin, on behalf of FGX, we would like to apologize for our late response. As an employer, we are just beginning to explore the option of responding directly to reviews left on Indeed. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback and thank you for your time at FGX. We apologize that you did not have the experience that you expected. As with all feedback, we will continue to re-evaluate our processes to better the FGX experience. Sincerely, FGX HR Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FGX International. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 289 reviews

Ratings by category

3.9 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.0 out of 5 stars for Compensation/Benefits
2.8 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.5 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Career recommendations for Merchandiser

Explore information on salaries, job satisfaction, skills and more

Learn about FGX International in popular locations

  • Companies
  • FGX International
  • Employee Reviews
  • Merchandiser
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?