FHI Employee Reviews

Found 155 reviews matching the search See all 164 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Exprience
Frieght Handler (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAFebruary 21, 2019
Got Red Flagged when i was not even working there anymore. I was overworked and on some days i was there working and not getting any loads. Managers didnt even know how to do thier own jobs. trainers would train you incorrectly so that in the long run you would lose your job for it
Cons
Think of it and you got it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Disputanta, VAFebruary 19, 2019
steady pace work. long hours. Great work enviornment. Pay varied according to the work that was done. Unloaded and loaded trucks. Temperture varied according to the side you worked on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid Company
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAFebruary 13, 2019
You can make more money with a lemonade stand. They send smoke signals directly into your azz blowing smoke all into it like some two face gypsies. Nothing they say is truthful. You will make a motherlode they say. The labor commission should shut them down. I will have a bunch of people file complaints. Remember FHI the ball point pen is mightier then the sword. I will get my pay one way or the other. I can't wait to see your faces when you are hit with multi $250,000 fines. I might unload trucks most of the week but I study the law most of the weekend.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
FHI Cons Everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place. You get what you’re worth
Site Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 21, 2019
It’s simple. You work and get what you put in. Come in with a great attitude and work ethic and you’ll be rewarded with a steady income and job security. Very family orientated company.
Pros
Full Time and Steady Production Based Income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nature of the job. Was reckless and unsafe.
Yard spotter (Current Employee) –  Tipp City, OHJanuary 20, 2019
This job is production based pay. So was very physically hard on body to try and make any money. Not a good way to keep people working and have safety in mind. Recipe for disaster.after 1 year was almost crippled in knees. And COPD. From breathing all the funes from junk equipment.
Pros
None
Cons
All the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Albertville, ALJanuary 9, 2019
pay was production pay, so some days i wouldn't make much and others i would make alot, needed a steedy income, other than that i enjoyed working there and being a fork lift operator
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave Drivers
Associate (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTJanuary 8, 2019
Worst company you could work for unless you like being held hostage in a facility for hours not getting paid they lie they do not back or support their staff. You get paid by they truck and you the working conditions are unsafe the equipment is horrible upper management are a bunch of passing the buck b@#$. Don't waste your time! The site manger is a pure butt kisser.
Pros
none
Cons
everything they promise you
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're willing to do the work you'll go far
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 8, 2019
The work at FHI isnt complicated, but it is demanding. It is possible to injure yourself if you dont know what youre doing. Try to learn as much as you can from the other workers and don't slack.
Pros
Upbeat work enviroment
Cons
Working at 4 am
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selector
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 5, 2019
The selector position is one of the better jobs FHI has to offer. The pay is based solely on your production. That faster you move the more money you make. When it comes to lumping , the same applies. The faster you move the more you make; only difference is you get paid per truck rather than hourly. Can make a good amount of money doing either.
Pros
Good pay, good work environment
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work because of the people!
Freight Handler (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 5, 2019
FHI is a great place to work because of the people you’re working with! The work can be challenging at times but people you work with make it enjoyable. It is a warehouse job so some weeks are crazy busy especially with the seasonal promotional volume while other weeks are slow. It is a production based job so you’re always guaranteed your base rate at the end of every week but you have to be productive in order to make good earnings! It’s easy to do if you don’t mind hard work!
Pros
Production based earnings - I get paid based on my performance
Cons
It can be hot in the summer time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work at
Freight handler (Former Employee) –  Tipp city OhJanuary 2, 2019
My Trainer was a complete a hole towards me and i didnt do anything wrong he left me outside waiting for an half hour i would ask him on what to do and he would yell at me for no reason.
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Lack of discipline and need better trainers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable
Switcher Driver (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIDecember 10, 2018
The managers that deal directly with the employees are great but in the end I was fired for a mistake by someone I didn't know. Both my managers argues but in the end easier or them to fire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunday is chill day at work
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 4, 2018
you get paid by the truck and not by the hour and your checks fluctuate so much that paying bills is hard the only way to make good money is to get a second job
Pros
get out early
Cons
fluctuating pay checks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Assonet, MADecember 3, 2018
Company is an absolute joke to work for. The work life balance is horrible no social life if you work there. And upper management and corporate are a joke.
Pros
Work with good group of people and free lunches sometimes
Cons
Salary, favoritism towards certain people, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Analytical Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCNovember 26, 2018
A great place to work, money was good, and the Supervise was awesome. I would highly recommend anyone to work there, very laid back atmosphere, I would love to work there again.
Pros
They really care about there people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
unloader (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTNovember 22, 2018
Tons of down time not getting paid
Harsh conditions
Terrible hours
Management bullie workers
Incompetent
Felt like a slave...
Few employees got favored...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fhi
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Newport, MINovember 2, 2018
to some this up i worked 70 hours one week with 0 hrs of overtime pay! Once again its ran by people who just sit there and do absolutely nothing about it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for the lazy generation of today
Associate (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIOctober 21, 2018
Love this job. Regret ever leaving the place! The production based pay gives you daily motivation to work hard and try to make as much as you can. You just have to be smart and driven. So many guys come into this job and don't have the stones to do the job. As long as you listen to your training and soak up any advice from the knowledgeable employees here, you should easily be able to earn an hourly wage that beats any other job you can find in the area. Everyone expects to make those high wages immediately when they start, but it takes time to get familiar with the loads and get in a groove. Give it 2-3 months and you'll have more money on your check than you know what to do with.

Worst thing about the job honestly is the start times. Meijer's receiving window is from 12:30am to about 1pm. It's not the worst, but makes having a social life hard at times.

Bad days happen sometimes. Lack of motivation and work ethic in coworkers can result in prolonged shifts. Whether it's those trendy call ins or just guys not having the drive to make money so they stand around talking rather than working.

A lot of reviews on here are so far from the truth. Supervisors 'friends' arent given certain trucks. There are company procedures and list protocol that prevent these things. Just assumptions made by individuals uninformed of how this company works.
Pros
Money, Workout, Friendly Coworkers
Cons
Unreliable coworkers, shift times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this company! Wonderful staff, would have loved to have stayed ! Was filing infor someone’s maternity leave.
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Fuquay-Varina, NCOctober 16, 2018
This is a wonderful company. I was filling in for someone on maternity leave.
Wonderful management very concerned about work/ life balance. If they had a position available I’m sure I would still be there!
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
No long term positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fhi working
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Dacula, GAOctober 9, 2018
Warehouse work was stressful and dangerous. Not properly compensated for the hours and danger. FHI was a subcontractor for Publix supermarket. Work involved operating a forklift to load and unload trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FHI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 164 reviews
538
429
334
226
137

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture