FICO Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 120 reviews
Ratings breakdown
530
441
332
211
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 74 reviews matching the search See all 120 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviroment
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAJuly 10, 2018
Relaxed, but highly productive environment. catered lunch for employees, Friendly but serious employees Team enviroment. encouraged to learn new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Solution Consultant/Web Development (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJuly 6, 2018
Very relaxed work place for Consultants and Developers. No micro management. And ability to work from home. Very good work life and home life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't a nice work environment and the boss was very rude.
Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Green Valley, AZJune 29, 2018
I feel that Fico had poor management, the work environment wasn't friendly at all, & wasn't appreciated the hard work i'd put into it. I also noticed they play favorites a lot.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Bad Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short term job
Senior Technical Writer (Contract) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 26, 2018
I was just doing a small part time job. It was fine. Everyone treated me fine. It was hard to get the information that I needed to get my job done though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on $$
Project Manager Consultant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 11, 2018
Management's focus was on revenue instead of client. No yearly salary increases unless you are promoted even if you are a high performer. Long hours with no work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot of new technical skills here
Project Manager/Netsourced Delivery Specialist (Former Employee) –  Arden Hills, MNJune 4, 2018
advancement is up to you at this company....if you're willing to put the time in and take the classes and learn....i felt as a woman, i could've risen to whatever position i wanted to, which was nice....the flip side of that though is you are paid salary....but by the time i was laid off, they were beginning to expect everyone to work a 60 hours week...developers an 80 hour week....and that wasn't the work/life balance i wanted to keep...it was better when i started as most everyone was working 40 hours a week, but it had changed
Pros
rich learning environment
Cons
poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company but limited upside
Director, Global Business Operations (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 20, 2018
Company tends to keep individuals in the same position for long periods. No creative rotation or promotion programs. Pay and benefits are competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company
Senior Consultant / Project Manager @ FICO (Current Employee) –  RemoteMay 10, 2018
Long hours and management expect too much from their employees. They claim work/life balance but it does not exist. THere is no loyalty or commitment to their employees. A bit biased when is comes to promoting women.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People - Great Environment
Process Improvement Developer (Former Employee) –  Arden Hills, MNMay 9, 2018
While on two stints at Fair Isaac I found some amazingly talented people. The company at first was very employee driven but, later, as they shifted leadership, they shifted away from those things that made them a unique company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from the Consumer Scores division (myFICO)
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 24, 2018
This review is specifically for the Consumer Scores division (myFICO division). The other FICO divisions are much better, but not myFICO. myFICO is poorly managed by a several SVPs who are nothing but glorified paper pushers who sounded good but have zero leadership capabilities. It's a revolving door for a lot of the various departments especially Marketing and Product teams. There is absolutely no career path whatsoever regardless of how well you perform (3% annual increment is considered excellent, while most are only getting around 1-2 %). But if you brown-nose and suck up to the upper management, they might take notice and throw you a carrot from time to time. Such a shame because FICO has such a good brand equity, and they know it and abuse that to their advantage. If you have to join FICO, work anywhere but myFICO division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about FICO?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoffs every six months
Operations (Former Employee) –  MNApril 3, 2018
All about politics. Sr mgmt cares about the stock price. Employees are expendable. Layoffs are routine, every six months. No raises unless promoted.
Pros
Smart people
Cons
Politics, employees not valued, no raises unless promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best part of FICO?
Director (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 19, 2018
The management at FICO was fantastic when I started working for them. Clear vision, promotion opportunities, great salary and benefits. In the past 18 months the company has gone down hill. Mostly due to the senior managers and the sycophants they hire around them.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Terrible Senior Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company till
Support Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Carmel Valley, CAMarch 9, 2018
Another company took over the jobs. I did and more than 10 were let go. After we were let go, there wasn't much for us to do so we were let go due to the change.
Pros
Kitchen in the building
Cons
Lotsa overtime and difficult working alone a lot with companies all over the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training ground for someone with ambition. A lot of exposure to new and innovative ideas.
Client Partner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 16, 2018
I was home based employee but that did not deter daily discussions and collaboration with colleagues. FICO made it very easy to be successful, even if a person was not located in headquarters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with good benefits
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAFebruary 15, 2018
At the time it was a very slow paced company to work for. They were transitioning to Agile from Waterfall and it there were some pains in the transition. Long and slow development cycles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bill Review Auditor (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 13, 2018
Be in compliance with HIPPA and laws and regulations. Communicate with medical providers to obtain needed information to resolve bill specific issues.

Adhere to all company Core Values daily.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place.
Lead Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAFebruary 2, 2018
Fico is a good employer. There is a lot of new technology. Sometimes you can work remotely. It offers opportunity for advancement. They have decent benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Centric Company which strives for work/life balance but doesn't always attain it.
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAOctober 26, 2017
The FICO Score is well known for a reason - a very rigorous algorithm constantly updated, which also means a lot of work to ensure this data superiority. Most of the managers are great, while some are not aware of how hard their subordinates actually work and in some positions the stress level is high. Overall a good company to work for in the right position with the right compensation.
Pros
Free coffee, tea and sodas and snacks. Generally great co-workers.
Cons
Lots of work depending upon the position and not a lot of room for promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress Culture
Contract & Business Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 14, 2017
company offered many at campus benefits for the employees such as gym with personal training and classes and cafe with great food. Due to the quarterly reporting, certain departments work in a very high stress environment that create a level of job fear and unhappiness that is felt throughout.
Pros
on-site amenities
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good technical challenges, cut-throat management style.
Director, Analytics Consulting Services (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 6, 2017
My team had exceptionally interesting and challenging work. Most of my immediate co-workers were top quality.

Management is very opaque with all decision being very centralized. There were several misrepresentations made to me during hiring regarding scope and budget for my position. The rating systems builds a cutthroat culture that I do not miss.

The company IT support was the worst I have ever witnessed.
Pros
Strong technical challenges
Cons
Opaque management, poor IT, highly centralized decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FICO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight