Firehouse Subs Employee Reviews

Found 1,824 reviews matching the search See all 1,836 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place to Work
Sandwich Maker (Former Employee) –  Lenoir City, TNDecember 9, 2018
If you like a delicious, fun, and exciting place to earn a little bit of extra money, weather you're a teenager looking for your first job or a retired papaw board from sitting at the house all day, Firehouse Subs is the place for you.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team. I love leading this team. Wonderful group of people.
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Ashland, KYDecember 8, 2018
I come in five mornings a week and get things going. Make the prep lists, meat slicing lists, etc.

I also handle change orders, Inventory. Scheduling. All ordering. Any disciplinary action,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's was a fun place to work at.
chashier (Current Employee) –  Douglasville, GADecember 8, 2018
when I get there I make cookie's and make sure the dinner room is clean. I learned you must have good customer service skills. we have good management.
Pros
good management
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work but franchising can cause poor ownership
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Keizer, ORDecember 7, 2018
Great place to work. I was able to work from crew member to general manager with in 3 years. The pay is much lower then it should be for its management team. I have only worked for one set of franchisees and was good until I became upper management
Pros
Free lunch for management
Cons
very poor work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsatisfied
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZDecember 5, 2018
The owner micro manages in a very non effective way. I worked very hard and no matter what i did she would yell at me and get mad at me even when it wasn't my fault.
Pros
the discount of a sub.
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good First job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 4, 2018
This job is good only to those who have never had a job. Its a highschool job if you want to move up you can just go into corporate but you need to be a robot and dedicate your life to firehouse and the firehouse family. It just wasnt for me and its too stressful so i quit.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In Restaurant managers
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 4, 2018
Expect to work hard or harder than you have before. You must be fully committed to 55-60 hour work weeks, you will have to open to close due to employee call outs.
Pros
Great food, great District manager support, great Operational manager support
Cons
Long hours, poor quality of life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for high school students
Slicer Operator (Former Employee) –  Monroe, NCNovember 30, 2018
Learned alot while I was there. The staff was amazing along with the awesome manager we had. Everyone always worked as a team! We all loved serving the fellow fire fighter, police man & first responders.
Pros
Helping the first responders, Family oriented
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grat Job
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Englewood, OHNovember 28, 2018
Worked here while I was in college, The owner and GM were very excellent guys who I could count on. its a fast paced job that involves teamwork. overall a great place to work and a job I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Virginia beachNovember 28, 2018
The most active time is lunch than its dead till 6. More for college or high school students nothing to live of. Only worked about 4 or 5 hours a day. Fun at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work that keeps you busy.
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GANovember 28, 2018
It really doesn't get a whole lot easier than making sandwiches. While there are other tasks, such as preparing food for the day, or cleaning around the house, the main priority is the subs. It gets busy during lunch hours, but as long as you're good at following and remembering instructions, it should hardly ever be stressful.
Pros
Discounted meals. Easy work.
Cons
Bad if you struggle under pressure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
firehouse
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Forest Acres West, SCNovember 27, 2018
you only get discounts on food, mangers are rude and dont take care of employees, want team to do too much and dont look out for them, rude rude rude, food is good but rude rude rude
Pros
new items
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 27, 2018
The staff were awesome and friendly and great to work with. I especially enjoyed working there and I developed skills on how to make sandwiches quick and serve the customers their orders.
Cons
no healthcare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Timonium, MDNovember 27, 2018
a typical day at work would start off by opening and getting stuff ready , there would be some rushes but most of the day was smooth and calm. I disliked washing dishes and cleaning the bathroom but the rest was ok
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo excelente
Asistente de Gerente (Former Employee) –  Vega Baja, PRNovember 27, 2018
Muy buen trabajo en equipo para así poder darle a nuestros cliente el mejor servicio
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 26, 2018
Fast paced, too many employees for one location, needed better organization, unqualified managers.
Lack of training in the beginning, needs more to continue to have good employees
Pros
Discounts, flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive-quick paced
Dining Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaNovember 24, 2018
Firehouse Subs is a great place to work at. Co-workers can easily become friends and enjoyable to talk to. The environment there is fine. I don't think it's a hard job to do.
Pros
1-2 breaks
Cons
No free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am the last of my kind.
All Trained/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 24, 2018
I'm part of the first crew ever. Made it to management hated it stepped down now I'm relied on to do everything that isn't management related. Hardest part is dealing with incompetent management and corporate clowns who don't know what real work is like.
Pros
It pays money.
Cons
It's sucked the soul from my husk of a body.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworker were great
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXNovember 23, 2018
Overall this could have been a great experience but the owner micromanagement of her store and the disrespect and bad mouthing of employees makes for a uncomfortable environment

So apply here to feel less than human
Pros
Great coworkers, discount
Cons
No breaks, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Part-Time Work
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaNovember 20, 2018
I worked at Firehouse Subs for approximately 5 - 6 years. The typical day at work is what normally happens at a restaurant: arriving in the morning, preparing and setting up ingredients until the store opens, serving customers, and closing up shop at the end of the day. This is great if you want to make a bi-weekly check that is based on minimum wage or slightly higher than that, or if you are going to school like I am and you need additional cash. But unless it is your dream to become a restaurant manager, this is not something that you want to do long-term. Management is good, but the bad thing about it is that they might release you from your job early if the labor percentage of the day is too high, which means a lower check for you on Fridays. But other than that, I have no issues with Firehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Firehouse Subs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,836 reviews
5554
4511
3467
2152
1152

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight