Firehouse Subs Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 1,414 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5440
4388
3359
2122
1105
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,408 reviews matching the search See all 1,412 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be positive energy from everyone
Cashier / Server (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 16, 2018
Everyday is a new day at firehouse and you are greeted when you walk in by fellow co-works. They tech you what you need to know for your job and when you have questions they answer. the manger work with you around your schedule. the only thing that is hard about the job is remembering what goes on the sandwiches. the people that work there make the job enjoyable.
Pros
free medium sandwhich
Cons
highest pay is 8.00
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 16, 2018
Terrible management at the store I worked at hours were constantly cut for the gm friends and family she hired other then that the crew members that wernt family or friends were great and I learned alot about teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive sub shop with good food
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  South Charleston, WVMay 14, 2018
A typical day at work was too prep the food for the following day and night shift and keep stations cleaned and the dinning area and restrooms. I learned how to prep the food and count the cash register and prepare a deposit. Management was okay it was a nice place to work and great food. The Hardest part of the job was closing or opening without help. The most enjoyable part of the job was the discounts on the food.
Pros
Good Food
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fun
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 11, 2018
This was a great job. You show up and know whats expected of you. If you prove your worth and work hard promotions are highly achievable. It has a great culture and stands for something besides the bottom line.
Pros
Fast paced, discounted meal on and off the clock, nice uniform.
Cons
Lower pay, a lot of call outs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is great. Fun place to work.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMay 11, 2018
Firehouse subs was my first job the training an there standards helped me out so much to becoming a good worker it has helped me out in every job I have had. The environment is great an very nice people
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Different hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
FAST FOOD WORKER (Former Employee) –  2100 Louisiana Blvd NE Ste 814May 9, 2018
I had to learn how to adapt to situations. I had to be able to be flexible and versatile in my skill set for any task i was set to do. the workplace culture was friendly.
Pros
discounted lunches
Cons
short lunches, limited food options, bad pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an average job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Forest, VAMay 9, 2018
Honestly, entry-level job. Not really much to it. All I did was make sandwiches and clean the restaurant. Business was fast paste on the weekends but during the week it was mainly relaxed. Not a bad work environment
Pros
Discount, great food, decent pay
Cons
No breaks unless you smoke, short hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAMay 8, 2018
Terrible management, low pay and a terrible relationship between the staff are all clear indicators that this is not a place you would ever want to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
General Manager (GM) (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXMay 8, 2018
A good job, fast job advancement. Environment is good, the staff is good, the food is good, management is good. Everyone has a fun time, easy job and able to get things done.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 8, 2018
It is a easy job. not hard to learn. it is hot subs and that is all. it is privately owned and the owners are good people. The GM is also a good guy and helps with any problems that you may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job while in school.
SHIFT LEADER (Former Employee) –  Mt. Juliet, TNMay 7, 2018
Decent job while you are going to school. Generally work with young people from 16-23. Job is extremely easy and doesn't require you to think a whole lot.
Pros
discount on food
Cons
small discount for employees so its still expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace,great manager
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 7, 2018
My manager was a great boss, my team members was awesome, i loved working there, very simple and easy, my enjoyable moment was serving the customers and making them happy.
Pros
great employees
Cons
no breaks, not enough hours were given
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firehouse
Line worker (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, GAMay 6, 2018
My experience at firehouse wasnt so tremendous. The workers are lazy and leave all the new workers to do everything. My manager's daughter also worked their so she was like another fake boss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conway, SCMay 5, 2018
Working at Firehouse was very enjoyable. I liked working several different positions within the restaurant. Management at my current location could have been better, but I enjoyed the people that I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is bad
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 5, 2018
Lunch times are always busy. Cleaning is a lot. Sandwiches are good. PAY IS TERRIBLE. You are working so hard and quickly to only get paid the bar minimum.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZMay 4, 2018
Shift lead will have favorites and gets to decide who can be unprofessional. Top management thinks it's normal and okay to yell at employees in front of customers.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love firehouse
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMay 4, 2018
I wish I'd never left. Great company. The owner is an amazing woman. I recommend this employer to everyone. Firehouse felt łike family. It was my comfort zone
Pros
Everything
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work place easy slow paced
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Kyle, TXMay 4, 2018
best job i had out of the 3 easy work just steam fook and put them in the bread wrap it up and serve it to the people very clean establishment and no problems
Pros
clean nice
Cons
close early
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whatever you do just don’t work here it’s not worth it
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Timonium, MDMay 3, 2018
Worst job I ever had. Just don’t work here if you have common sense. If you actually care about people other than yourself don’t work here. The owners are very custom to taking short cuts with everything even how you are paid.
Pros
Discounts on the subs
Cons
Just don’t do it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work for a time
Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXMay 2, 2018
It got me through some bills the work is not hard and the people you work with make a huge difference but the management was not as good as i was hoping to get
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Firehouse Subs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight