First Data Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life balance
Capacity Planner (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 20, 2018
The company lacks support for life balance. Job security was not existent at the time I work at First Data. Hopefully, they have improved on it and people are more willing to work hard there
Pros
Learning new technologies
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLSeptember 19, 2018
good, better, best, fun, creative, relaxed, spirited, lovable, rewarding, family oriented, manageable, inclusive, non-partial, competitive, adventurous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment only good thing is the benefits
Client Service Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GASeptember 19, 2018
Loved my job but every day is repetitive . There's no room for growth its people thats been here 10 years with only a $2 raise and 10cent raises every year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, COSeptember 19, 2018
Meetings to plan the Planning meetings. Meetings to plan the Status meetings. A CEO making millions who doesn't understand why the employees want a 401k. 91 Vice Presidents. Need I say more?
Pros
Good peers
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None at this time
Senior Aplication Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 18, 2018
None at this time. If this is required by Indeed then I will pass on using your site. Please let me know why you require this information ? You have my contact info to reach me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Data Entry Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 18, 2018
it sucks at this place i worked my tail off and got fired cause i was a couple min late on my time sheet mind you i worked extra on weekends cause they was under staff this place sucks i tell you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity, not feeling like a good long term opportunity
Senior Contact Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 18, 2018
Lots of moving parts here and managers are "narrow focused" to cover their responsibilities and are unable to guide a willing subject through the techniques and varied moving parts that could ultimately make ones job slightly easier and less stressful (i.e. sink or swim in an environment where the tools provided alone don't allow many to swim, and no leading by example, group meetings, or idea of how your hard work benefits the demands of a naturally stressful role where callers have good questions and you won't have good answers).

Also, know you'll be judged and graded by "process guides" that are often inaccurate (despite numerous internal "comments", that are often months old, by others like yourself seeking updates and clarification).
Pros
Diversity of workforce. Some perks. Decent benefits (no 401k match).
Cons
Hope you like overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDSeptember 18, 2018
Different departments that you can apply for, and hours that work around your life. They offer great vacation and personal days and quick to approve when you really need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Data
Account Implementation Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLSeptember 17, 2018
Not a good idea to be a part of this company. Turned into a call center environment. I recommend that you look at other options before choosing this company for a career path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 17, 2018
This job was fun for the most part. Good incentives. The only reason I even resigned from the job was because they moved far away from where I lived. When I first got there the hours were perfect. They ended up changing that also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job review
DATA ENTRY, FULL TIME (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 17, 2018
work start day come in to alot of work sometimes that 3rd shift didn't finish. work being held over that shouldn't have been to be a team player. the management sucks none of them is on the same page they see things that's wrong but only want to correct it when the see fit or will cover there butt. its a mixture of people. it wasn't that hard of a job the just wanted you to do your job n someone elses which was not fair. some of the co-workers and time to go home.
Pros
good insurance
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
COMPLIANCE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLSeptember 13, 2018
Great place to work, great benefits. good team camaraderie. great opportunity for growth. advancement, continuing education employee involvement. great leaders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, high pressure
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Work from homeSeptember 12, 2018
the only review criteria is attainment of sales goals. 50 - 60 hours per week on an ongoing basis. unreasonable sales goals when compared to sales opportunities
Pros
comp plan
Cons
long hours, no work/life balance, sell, sell, sell, then sell more. unreasonable sales goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn’t care about remittance
Lead Operations (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 11, 2018
Raises sucked, no room for advancement, you could tell the upper management didn’t care. Site directors are great and had to work in very hard circumstances not being able to promote from with in due to losing the Rec and not backfilling positions. It’s hard to keep good people when you don’t promote from within
Pros
Flexible schedule, good site directors
Cons
No advancement opportunity, no 401k match, cut shift differential
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a mixed bag
System Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 11, 2018
I'm guessing First Data is like many company's. The work/life balance, well, is not balanced.

Resources are bare bones, like laptops, supported software, etc...

Seems like more and more, jobs are being shipped overseas.

Health care is decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Client Service Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GASeptember 11, 2018
can be stressful very fast paced pay is decent but should pay more for all of the roles they want you to partake. ska
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door management, high turnover rate across the board.
Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, COSeptember 11, 2018
As in many companies management will make or break your experience as an employee. Difficult culture, toxic work environment. Management looks the other way and allows a hostile work environment to flourish.

Make sure to use all of the vacation time you have earned. The company will not pay you for it when you leave.
Pros
DTC location
Cons
Transitioning workforce to Omaha.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent interpersonal relationships developed with colleagues and staff
Manager Office (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2018
Mid level management and below are the driving force behind First Data. Each day is task driven and I learned to multitask as a manager and own my part of the business. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and the most enjoyable part was the people.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
Long working hours and not enough staff to complete daily tasks without working overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turn over
Senior Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDSeptember 11, 2018
Management was horrible. there was no work/life balance. Management always overbooked and techs got stuck working mandatory ot with zero thanks.. When I started they wanted us to sell one thing per day. By the time I left they were wanting us to average $15 per work order. We received no extra pay for this. We had 6 metrics to meet but all they cared about was $/work order, which wasn't even one of our metrics.. I was the top tech of the month one month but all I heard about was how my $/work order sucked. We were sent out to work in any weather conditions with no thought to our safety. When techs would bring our concerns up in weekly meetings we were told they would look into things- they never did. The health insurance was horrendous with a 2500 deductible. Once the deductible was met they only would pay 80%, not 100%.. The only decent thing was getting every channel for only $20/per month.
Pros
my manager was great
Cons
turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Director Collections Merchant Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2018
The company refuses to invest in up to date ERP systems which creates high turnover due to the number of systems a new employee has to learn and the long training period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Data. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,633 reviews
5642
4742
3723
2294
1232

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

2.6Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight