First Option Mortgage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place For Millennials
Loan Originator (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNMarch 29, 2018
A great place to work as a loan officer if you have an entrepreneurial mindset. I'm so happy I got into an industry that is centered around building relationships. I got a lot of mentorship from my immediate management team.
Pros
Career Development, Real World Experience
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loan Origination
Mortgage Loan Originator, Retail Mortgage Banking (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 12, 2018
The essence of this function is to provide interested consumers with a viable product to procure real estate. This company did that very well. However, the idea that sales producers made great managers is besides me. This company can be some much more if it learned to utilize its resources more efficiently and appropriately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTFebruary 5, 2018
Great commission job. Helpful management. Great corporate support. Perfect place to be a loan officer. Friendly and supportive cowerkers. Great relationships with agents and title.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work with Awesome Management
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 2, 2012
I worked as an Admin Assistant for FOM when they initially opened the branch in Jacksonville. I was very new to the area and had some troubles while first adjusting. The management was extremely flexable as well as caring and made the adjustment easier. I would recommend anyone to work at First Option Mortgage of Jacksonville.
Pros
caring management, great teamwork, compensation, benefits
Cons
the mortgage crisis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of team work
Senion Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 15, 2014
It was hectic at best, lots of paperwork to complete loans. The customers at closing was the BEST - when people asked me what I did for a living - I said I CHANGE PEOPLE'S LIVES
I learned more compassion, and it was very heartfelt. Everyone here assisted everyone else, it was a feeling of management wanting us to succeed. When I had to deny a potentiol customer - it hurt and they were sad. But I always had a plan for them - and if they followed the plan - maybe we could proceed in 6 months. That was a great feeling
Pros
great office
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Loan Originator, Colorado (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 19, 2017
I was not able to build a customer base, because I did not receive Quality Leads. There is a shortage of homes for sale in Denver. Great people to work with .
Pros
Free Lunches - Help with Files
Cons
No Quality Leads to make a Good Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Manager (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GASeptember 23, 2016
This company is not only like a Family, but truly is a family. My group of co-workers are amazing. I really enjoy working here and not just with my immediate group that I manage, but also with the folks at the corporate office. I have learned so much from our management team alone. It is truly a pleasure to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work enviroment
Loan Funder and Shipper (Former Employee) –  Atlanta GA Corp officeMay 26, 2015
Working at FOM on a daily base was very stressful. The executive management team was not appreciative or showed any gratitude towards the workers, the only thing that matter was to get the job done.
Pros
pleasure to work with non management team
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILApril 6, 2014
I really enjoyed working for First Option Mortgage
I started as a loan officer and advance to several positions
in the company, the owner was a great person to work for.
Pros
lunch, great benefits
Cons
traveling with short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee friendly environment at the corporate level
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 18, 2012
The company really has a family atmosphere and upper level management are very approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 6, 2014
I am the only one that has an outside sales contract where I do not have to report to the office each day. I use my laptop and go to various Real Estate offices to meet with agents and or clients. This flexibility allows me to conduct one on one business both with agents and clients which has always been my strong suit.
Pros
Freedom to structure my own day
Cons
No one watching over my shoulder keeping me focused
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First option mortgage
Mortgage Loan Originator (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 4, 2017
Good employer, just isn't what I'm looking for anymore. The coworkers are nice. The pay isn't quite clear and marketing and support leaves a lot to be desired
Pros
loose atmosphere
Cons
unclear pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you like a slave
Loan Opener (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 20, 2017
Pay is too low, managers are great, people are wonderful, atmosphere is like a sweat shop...working 14 hour days with no overtime. People don't stay and go to places that treat them right.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Homewood, ILAugust 28, 2012
Working for 1st option Mortgage was very intense, becaust i worked as a loan officer to help clients get a mortgage, the hardest part of the job was qualifiying the client , the most enjoyable part was closing the deal for the client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Branch Coordinator & Mortgage Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNApril 28, 2016
nice people and they have a nice location I liked to walk around the lake and go jogging the scenery is nice and you can go ice skating in the winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Company
District Sales Branch (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2013
Very successful company but moved out of the Texas market. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 28, 2012
I liked being here when the real estate market was good, it is a commission only job.
Pros
great pay
Cons
commission only
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Branch Coordinator/ Processor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 18, 2015
Great work environment, learned an incredible amount of information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly atmosphere
Loan officer/processor (Former Employee) –  South Holland, ILJuly 13, 2012
client intake of loan applications. this was a very comfortable setting to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Option Mortgage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 20 reviews
510
43
35
20
12

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

First Option Mortgage Reviews by Location