First Solar, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ever changing company.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 2, 2018
Executive Leadership works well together; however, departmental managers are silo'd in their execution which make collaboration on projects difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work, Wished THere Were More Opportunities
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  ArizonaJune 26, 2018
I learned a great deal while at First Solar. However, there was not a lot of opportunities for advancement, therefore I had to seek other employment.
Pros
Great Co-Workers, Talented Individuals, Parking Garage
Cons
Need more career mentorship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good co workers very helpful
APPRENTICE SOLAR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Taft, CAJune 21, 2018
typical work day show up at 6 am check all gates open all gates then as crew arrived have saftey meeting .. what i learned was operations.of solar pannle systems. work place culture was a very strong and soild one we worked as a team
Pros
hours of daily operations
Cons
traviling long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fun environment.
Engineering Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJune 16, 2018
Good work experience. Engineers and Technicians was very understanding and very helpful all throughout my working experience. It was also a fun learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Office Manager & Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJJune 1, 2018
I enjoyed being able to help the community through social corporate responsibilities. We held fundraisers, clothing drives, and school supply drives for other countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of work
Coater Technician and Certified Safety Team Member (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHMay 30, 2018
Slowed down and laid off employees than hired temps at a lower wage to replace them. I feel first solar could have gone about that in a totally different way.
Pros
food
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work place
Materials Inspector (Current Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHMay 24, 2018
First Solar promotes personal growth and development of all employees. They do offer tuition reimbursment and advise employees to pursue education to have the ability to advance within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to Work for.
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 22, 2018
This was a great company to work for. The renewables area is in a growing phase and First Solar is the place to be if you’re into renewables. Renewables are still in a volatile phase, with companies beginning and exiting due to either politics or massive competition from overseas. FS has held on and I believe it will continue to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 16, 2018
Great opportunities to learn about the Solar industry and Project Development.

Company is completely remote, meaning there is a lot of people across the globe.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing senior management
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZApril 15, 2018
When I started 7 years ago, this company was completely different. They advocated for the employee: good pay, great bonus/incentives, employee advancement and clear direction. Forward to today and this vision no longer exists. Like most companies politics plays a huge role over who will be promoted and who will be made a scapegoat. Very disappointed after giving them 7 years of hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people, great communcation
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHApril 12, 2018
nice place to work , fun environment, long worthy hours , nice managers nice crew. easy to catch on . Very clean areas . i loved my partner who i was assigned to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Reliability Technician II/Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHApril 12, 2018
First Solar is a great place to work. Everyone is on a first name basis. There is an open door policy in place so you can bring any concern you may have to anyone of the persons in upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fs
N/A (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZApril 6, 2018
First Solar is always changing, the culture is very fast paced, but it is not necessarily equally distributed work. Management training is non-existent. Current leadership is top notch, but what they bring to the organization doesn't flow past VP level in the way of people management. Many ups and many downs over the last decade working for FS. The value on work life balance is definitely lip service and like any company certain politics exist and can run you over it you are not careful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production and great lunch room
Production Line Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHApril 4, 2018
Fast pace,sense of accomplishment trouble shooting alarms and continueous movement on production line
Many selections of food in lunch room
Great detail to quality
Pros
paid lunch breaks, Some really good employees.8 hr overtime per pay check
Cons
Work ever other weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar
Inventory Control/Supply Chain Associate (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHMarch 29, 2018
First Solar was a good conpany to work for however, I exerianced 3 different times layoffs happended. The third time it I felt it was time to start looking. Overall good company, good people and culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Site Supervisor / Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  CA, NM, NV, TX, AZ, HondurasMarch 12, 2018
Not a bad place to work. Very cut throat. When ENRON came in and took over, they cut people at all levels starting at the executive level and cut deep into benefits.
Pros
good base salary
Cons
benefits got cut quarterly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed and willing to work with you
Ama (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHMarch 6, 2018
i had some health issues and first solar was understanding and helpful with them i was there a week and was told " you will spend so much time with these people they will become like a second family to you" and that is what it was some people it was like high school but thats anywhere you go i loved this job but there lay off hurt
Pros
hospital cafe with better food
Cons
12 hr days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
although challenging I truly enjoyed working at First Solar
Electrical Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Electrical SuperintendentFebruary 25, 2018
While working at first Solar i found my self to be challenged every day. May new experiences wfe.orking with both union and non union craft. I also found ballance in work and personal li
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working enviroment
Field Technician II (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZFebruary 21, 2018
O&M good fun working environment.
Solar field operations.
Management could use major improvement.
good working culture other than direct management at my former location.
Hardest part was dealing with maintenance supervisor, no experience running a crew and no experience in the O&M field.
working with my team mates starting up every morning.
Pros
education
Cons
could not move to a new position/advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Butler, GAFebruary 7, 2018
Show up assignment get job completed. Work well with others. Supervisors well informed on daily needs. Cultures was good get jobs completed and on to next. No hard part. Being valued as a good employee.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Solar, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 258 reviews
597
4100
346
210
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.2

3.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight