FIRST STATE BANK Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Bookkeeping/Data Processing (Former Employee) –  Spearman, TXNovember 4, 2017
This is for First State Bank in Spearman TX. Best bank ever and the best job ever. No other job has come close. Great people to work with and I miss it.
Pros
great ppl to work with
Cons
no maternity leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build and fund loans for 3 branches
Loan Funding Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, TXJuly 4, 2017
At times, the work in the credit department can be very stressful. The work depends on incoming loans from the branches. High turnover in all departments.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
4 branches but only 3 that produces loans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good insurance
Teller (Former Employee) –  Hallsville, TXApril 24, 2017
this company is closed now. Had good benefits. It is a call center. Every move managed....even bathroom breaks. Busy taking phone calls the entire shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Directors, President, Vice Presidents are very easy to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, TXFebruary 20, 2017
This job was great. Co-workers were easy to get along with. It is a family oriented job. Supervisors were always willing to help if you do not understand a task that was given to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Advance
Branch Teller Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gun Barrel City, TX 75147September 3, 2016
I loved that it was a great place to advance in a financial career. A great place to get involved with the people of the community!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great little bank
Loan Processor / Teller (Former Employee) –  Maypearl, TXApril 14, 2016
Small town bank with great customers and employees. Began my lending experience here, and was delighted that I was given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and fun work place
Customer Service/New Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Yoakum, TXSeptember 24, 2015
Working at FSB was a great experience! Not only did they teach me a lot, they were also very great at working with me in my time of need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly work environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE BANK TELLER (Former Employee) –  yoakum, txJuly 1, 2015
Absolutely enjoyed working at FSB everyone treated eachother like family. I worked here while being able to go to school and taking care of my family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent small town bank
Full Time Drive Through Teller / CSR (Former Employee) –  Miami, TXMay 13, 2015
This is a great place to work. It has a very friendly and family atmosphere. I worked for this bank for 11 years and loved it. I would recommend this bank to all my friends and family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Interaction
Assistant Vice President/Operations/Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Sweeny, TXFebruary 27, 2015
Assistant Vice President/Operations/Loan Officer, First State Bank - Louise
• Review and approve or reject loan applications; originate services and underwrite loans.
• Assign duties to staff, schedule work, establish priorities and standards authorize time off and overtime, recommend staffing needs.
• Train, counsel and evaluate branch employees.
• Counsel customers regarding financial needs.
• Develop new business.
• Plan and design local branch advertising.
• Conduct staff meetings to reinforce branch and corporate policy, resolve problems and monitor staff morale. Prepare weekly and monthly production and status reports.
• Responsible for performance appraisal reports of assigned employees.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
AVP - Processing Real Estate Documents (Former Employee) –  Yoakum, TXFebruary 3, 2015
Great place and employees are wonderful. nice place to work. Great benefits and bonuses plus your salary. I would still be there if the travel time was not as far. It was too far to travel to.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
travel too far
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Banking environment
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Wharton, TXMarch 26, 2014
Working here was a blast, from the moment we opened the Drive-thru until we locked the doors at night I was constantly on the go. Handling customer's banking needs to the fullest of my ability. I loved the camaraderie that I had with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Start
Teller (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, TXMarch 4, 2014
Its A Good Place To Start Off In The Banking Field.
Training Is Very Accurate. Up to date knowledge of FDIC regulations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Head Teller Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waxahachie TexasNovember 21, 2013
Typical day at work, work night drop bags, drive-in customers, lobby customer,
I learned to help with the large items report and order debit cards.
Management was unqualifieded.
Co workers were always were undermining your work and trying to find fault so they could report you to management.
There was no hard part to this job.
Most enjoyable part was the customers I enjoyed them.
Pros
Customer service
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Bookkeeping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Athens, TXJuly 19, 2013
Enjoyed the people I worked with and had very good supervisors. Officers were also very supported and always were there to help out when needed. The hardest part was to learn the new laws and regulations changing every few years. My co-workers were also willing to help when asked. My supervisor was always there if I had any problem I was unable to solve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Human Resources M (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXDecember 6, 2012
As a one person HR department with numerous locations most daily contact was via e-mail or phone with managers and employees. Enjoyed the opportunity to work with Senior management in aiding with staffing and training issues.
Pros
generally five day work week m-f
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Mortgage Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  Sweeny, TXJuly 30, 2012
Very much a company centered around positivity, family, and stellar customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the Terrell branch
Teller (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXJuly 9, 2012
A typical day at work included opening and/or closing bank, taking care of my customers banking needs. What I learned was that no job last forever, and it is. The management was fine until we got a new CEO, and were lied to when we all asked if we were going to have to close branches, and if we would still have jobs. The hardest part of the job was working March to June knowing our happy little family (co workers and our customers) at our Terrell branch would be broken up. Most enjoyable part of my job was working with great co workers, and having awesome customers.
Pros
great co workers, awesome customers, close to home
Cons
insurance could be better; my branch closed down and we all got laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I rather work in the lobby, I can read lips very well and know sign languages
Teller (Current Employee) –  Gruene, TXJune 14, 2012
I love job what I do, Would love to learn other things.. I get along well with co-coworkers, Also Im hard of hearing and cant use the phone.
Pros
love to meet new people im very friendly and always smile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Bank Environment
Vice President/Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Graham, TXJune 1, 2012
Typical community bank, overall good people to work with. Slow paced environment. Not enough work to do.
Pros
great community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FIRST STATE BANK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 23 reviews
515
42
34
22
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

FIRST STATE BANK Reviews by Location