First Transit Employee Reviews

Found 1,013 reviews matching the search See all 1,016 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 16, 2018
If you can stand in either very hot or very cold weather for 8 hours this job will suit you. The weather is one of the hardest parts of the job. The job itself as a CSR is easy. The cons are that the company micromanages and that it’s a negative environment.
Pros
Consistent schedule.
Cons
Micromanaged company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your a pawn to them
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 15, 2018
Where do I even start with these people? Management needs a serious attitude adjustment as many have superiority complexes. They will say that you are valued to your face, but in reality, you are just a pawn to them who they can run into the ground. Sure, there is a union, but they don't do much. There is a 95 percent turnover rate there. Must love split shifts and overtime to even partially survive here. Scheduling will push you to DOT maximum hours if you let them. This is contradictory to what they will tell you in training, to not burn yourself out. Overtime is mandatory here, so be careful and think twice about working here. Breaks can depend heavily on the route you get, traffic and weather, so, good luck on that.
Pros
Class B CDL training
Cons
Management, schedules, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love driving a bus.
Shuttle bus driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 13, 2018
I love doing the job.....traffic is rough but the people are great. I do my best to stay friendly and engaging. if you like to drive, this is a great job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job thrives on driver turnover
former bus operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA; LAX airport, Lot "C"October 12, 2018
This job thrives on driver turnover. They will hire anybody, whether your background is bad or not. Furthermore, the company, First Transit, does not provide benefits as posted, the Teamsters union actually does but after 90-days of working there (good luck). Also, the company pays far below the Living Wage Ordinance ($18.99/hr) mandated by the City of Los Angeles department that governs the LAX Airport. Drivers cannot live on the pay ($13.39/hr) so they leave.
Cons
Low Pay; Rude Mgrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of drama, management is a joke.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAOctober 12, 2018
Don't work for them! Low pay, ridiculous hours, no room for advancement, no respect for drivers, over worked underpaid.
Management doesn't work with you, they just work you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Transit
Operations Supervisor II (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAOctober 12, 2018
Sucks and Management doesn't know there job. They don't pay what you deserve and they aren't modernized. Everything is on paper. They don't have any of the programs they need to run the company correctly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a secure job but stressful
Paratransit Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  las vegas nvOctober 11, 2018
Stressful and forced to work all hours and was not really given a choice
at first until you were assigned a permanent route and days and even then was forced to work overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 10, 2018
First Transit is one of the worst places to work. There is no advancement in this company. If you don't work how they want you to you are mistreated in all types of ways. They have very poor management. Management doesn't communicate with one another and if their is a mistake they will not own up to it. They work really long hours and they only want to give you a 30 or 40 minute break for the whole day. They give you vacation time, but if you are not their favorite it is very hard to take days off even for doctor's appointments. This is not a kid friendly workplace if you have children stay away from this employer. They don't care about you as an employee or your immediate family (i.e. children).
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work force
Coach Operator (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 10, 2018
I had a good experience working for first transit Inc. meeting a lot of different people co workers and passengers' would recommend this career to anyone. was a little dangerous when I was dealing with drunk passengers and was only assaulted once by one man trying to get on with an open beer bottle ,but besides the assault is a good company to work for. and I worked in mesa A.Z. and Tempe A.Z. for this company 2 yards
Pros
good pay and benifts reaxing work place
Cons
no time to eat lunch or much of breaks during bus routes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Transit hires within
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 8, 2018
First Transit gave me a chance at a GM position. It was a contracted senior transportation I enjoyed working with seniors in Denver and Arapaho’s counties.
the employees were a family and worked well together.
Pros
GM responsibility
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendships can also help you develop a culture. Happy personalities,Thoughtful action=Happy work environment.
Driving (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MNOctober 3, 2018
It good place to work and they paid great. but i don't like driving long. I like to move around. They training how to be defensive driver also and how to be a good customer service.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
short breaks it not enough because of a lot rides
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
Driver (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 3, 2018
Life at first transit was difficult. Although the uncertainties of traffic made it difficult to work there the company expected you to get past that barrier and get the passengers picked up. A lot of favoritism was there but you had to see it. Not all the drivers obeying the road rules.
Pros
really no pros
Cons
sometimes no break except a lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bus Operator/Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 1, 2018
Good place to work with available overtime, CDL B required. No good benefits but paid holidays. Summer work is available. Being around the passengers is a wonderful social activity
Pros
Being around new people all the time.
Cons
Sometimes there is too much over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and professional enviornment
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CAOctober 1, 2018
Enjoy having the freedom to make decisions that will uplift the operation. Our client, OCTA, has helped me to understand some of the various transit material that I was unfamiliar with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woking with people.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Capital Heights, TNOctober 1, 2018
Driver people around to locations to locations. Making sure they get there safely. Make sure you on time at all time. Check make sure the vehicle is ok.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Good health
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and you can work your way up in the company if yo u h re9
road supervisor (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 29, 2018
I started as a route driver then became a trainer then eventually became a road supervisor. I did routes when needed, dispatched when needed, accident investigations, trained new drivers, random safety checks etc.
Pros
Lunch was an option
Cons
Very strict due to drive cams on every vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with advanced facility and equipment
Safety & Training Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Arcadia, CASeptember 27, 2018
I worked for two contracts for First Transit in Arcadia and Sylmar.
Foothill Transit was the Arcadia location and subsequently returned to Coach America when provided a [promotional position. The Sylmar location covered LADOT and Dash. Both locations had great newer equipment and facilities and excellent training location setups.

I learned a lot about working with other departments in melting minds to meet project goals. The culture was supported by the corporate level and seemingly national units.

The hardest thing for me was the commuting daily. Even though it was not as far as the Long Beach, Oxnard, or Bakersfield locations it was somewhat challenging.

Once again the part of the job that was enjoyable to me was the teaching and the response from the employees that seemed to buy in and appreciate what you were doing to make their job safer and their performance better.
Pros
Modern facilities and equipment
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stepping stone
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, VASeptember 26, 2018
great benefits good fast pace place to work at. love management and the way the maintenance program is ran. will continue to work here for many years to come.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing a safety environment to customer daily!
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Landover, MDSeptember 26, 2018
Inspect bus to make sure it is safety to driver First Transit customer from one destination to another in a safe manner, help disability customer in locking wheel chair in place, assist customer with direction when needed.
Pros
Drive 4 to 5 hours before lunch break.
Cons
15 min break when needed, use public restrooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 24, 2018
No communication. Things always changed. No consistency!
It was like you couldn't speak up for yourself without being reprimanded for it. I enjoyed the bus operators. It just was management. I had recently applied for the position for change and shortly after I was wrongfully terminated.
Cons
No Lunch Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Transit. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,018 reviews
5233
4265
3280
2118
1122

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight