FirstService Residential Employee Reviews

Found 753 reviews matching the search See all 837 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Community Association Manager (Current Employee) –  Sun City Center, FLJanuary 10, 2019
Employee experience depends upon where you work and the boards you are serving; which First Service has no control over boards actions other than trying to guide them.
Pros
Great support of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Summer Work Crew (Former Employee) –  Aubrey, TXJanuary 7, 2019
working here was just wonderful i just loved coming to work every day and finding out what new and exciting things i would be doing each day , it was a blast
Pros
Loved it awesome pay awesome experience
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work if management stepped up their game
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 7, 2019
Would be a decent job if co workers were fair or management actually stepped up. Pay rate doesn’t match cost of living in the area and you’re not rewarded for hard work or constantly being dependable/ reliable.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
Poor management m, vindictive coworkers, poor pay rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special they don't care about me
Engineering (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 3, 2019
Started working with them through RMI 6 years ago. Their has been no training, advancement, reviews or raises. The managers are all new hires and the company is for office staff, whom direct their core values through their income incentives. Its all about money, no ones watching the managers who have motivation to cut corners. At the end of the day to many cut corners so this is not an enjoyable or rewarding company to work for in the engineering positions.
Pros
Nation wide
Cons
Office culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company.
Union Doorman Part-time (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 2, 2019
Really I don't work directly for First Sevice as I am union employee, so beyond them handling my paychecks, I don't really deal with the company that much.
Cons
Poor organization, lack of concern for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
o On-site Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLDecember 30, 2018
A typical day at work started with our daily Mission Meeting and discussion of any issues my team was having and how we can resolve it.. In the fifteen years in management I learned patience and to listen to what residents needed. We were a team of five and I could not have done my job without them. The hardest part of my job was when a resident was really upset with a serious issue and wanting to be able to help them right away. The most enjoyable dealing with my residents and vendors. I love Customer Service and being able to help. My door was always opened, No appointment necessary.
Pros
Education, Benefits and Tenure
Cons
Getting yelled at from and irate resident when something goes wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Portfolio Manager, CMCA, AMS (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VADecember 27, 2018
Overall a great company to work for. Executive leadership is easy to communicate with and typically have your back when dealing with difficult residents.
Cons
Daily Morning Team Meeting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demotivating place to work; mission and values are lip service
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  NevadaDecember 21, 2018
Culture of cliques and when you're out, they make sure that you are out.

Ghost policies and procedures.

Never know when you will be written up or fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Porter/Doorman/Concierge (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2018
It's a great company to work with and the salary is very good with great benefits. There are great potentials in career advancement with-in the company. A tipical day at work was greating people and keeping the place clean. The hardest part was the long hours of standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Served as the first point of contact for all residents and guests
Front Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, MNDecember 10, 2018
Provide good communication skills with residents and staff.
Maintain a clean and organized environment
Documentation of shift activities Collaborated with staff members to maintain a clean and safe environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Mesquite, TXDecember 8, 2018
I have been with First service for 2 years now and have loved it ever since I started, it was my first job and I was very nervous but the managers are really cool and helped me adapt very quickly
Pros
30 min lunch
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate operations
Community Association Manager (Current Employee) –  FloridaDecember 7, 2018
I enjoyed working for this corporation. The corporate values and global service standards are good and management is supportive. Corporate communication to employees and residents is outstanding. Dedication is appreciated by the corporation. If a CAM is no longer a good fit for a particular property, the corporation may offer positions at other locations. I enjoyed serving the needs of the community.
Pros
Good office environment
Cons
Political game-playing by some association board members
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with focus on excellent customer service and employees!
Community Association Manager (Current Employee) –  Bluffton, SCDecember 4, 2018
I work for FSR, they are an awesome company period! They are very engaged with employees and clients. They spend the time and resources on training.
Pros
Engaged with employees and great training programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with great staff
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 1, 2018
A typical day at work I would greet the valet, front desk a well as residents. As I would deal with residents some easier than others, I always knew how to approach certain situations that would occur. I was on a program that First Service provided in order to gain and L CAM License. I am currently working on getting that. Dealing with the building as a whole would be the hard part, but when you have a staff that work together things go a lot smoother. I did enjoy the work I did as well as the resident I made happy while working there even if things did not go into their favor.
Pros
Lunches
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team oriented company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Sun City Center, FLNovember 29, 2018
FirstService starts each day with a First Call meeting that everyone attends. We then go to our desks and begin our days. It's a great team building exercise that gets everyone involved
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
DIRECTOR OF ENGINEERING (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 29, 2018
Meet with the property manager on a daily basis.
Learned about new construction site.
I enjoy working around all the tenants.
I enjoyed working with the HVAC Condensing water system/Cooling Towers.
Pros
all new equipment
Cons
Small loading dock/Receiving area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like High Rises, This is for you
Customer Care/Concierge (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 27, 2018
Great Job working as a concierge. Made a lot of lifelong friends with the residents I came in contact with throughout my 4 years there.
2nd best place I ever worked
Pros
The Interactions
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-so company
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLNovember 26, 2018
Great Company, but poor management all the way up. No space for growth. Your job title could change the next day to something that you were not hired for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a part-time job is fine
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 25, 2018
It is a fine place to work but it is not enough to live with the current salary.

benefits should be included to those who are also part time.

If you are not planning on working in the tourism and service industry then this job is not fulfilling in terms of carreer
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Aplicable
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLNovember 21, 2018
The company manages many different properties throughout the United States and Canada so it''s not practical to rate the company base on my experience at my property
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FirstService Residential. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 839 reviews
5230
4244
3185
281
199

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight