Five Acres Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Difficult job dealing with emotionally disturbed youth
Special Education Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CAApril 2, 2018
There is very little support for on line staff. It is a difficult job that requires a lot of patience. There is also a huge disconnect with staff and upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work place
RCT(Cottage Counselor) (Former Employee) –  Altadena, CAMarch 13, 2018
The kids are hectic and the guys up top have no idea how to get us the information that would be helpful when the kids are brought here. Most of the employees are paid rather poorly and you never see the guys who are managing the facility minus a few. You dont start getting vacation days til 6 months and in this hectic environment you need them earlier.
Pros
Good coworkers in some cottages
Cons
poor pay, poor upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Employees Care About The Children
N.A (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 3, 2018
Staff work with a passionate heart and really appreciate the children as they are their own. Staff employees go over and beyond to aid in the restoration of the children in their care. Bravo! Well Done!
Pros
Staff Employees Work with a committed passion
Cons
The turn over rate is too high. Administration should work on retention of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Children Manage in a Displaced Society
N/A (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMarch 3, 2018
Doing a really good job with all of the Youth who come through the doors. The Staff has a lot of patience with the youth and show a lot of love to them as if they are their own!
Pros
Everyone Works with passion from the heart
Cons
The turn over rate is too much, too many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thriving company for business with kids
Youth Educator; Advocate (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 6, 2018
Great business to work for as a non profit. This is a money making business making money off children. If you do not have a background in child psychology or counseling, dont choose a job working with the kids, stay in the office. Working with the kids will trigger good and bad things for you. Foster kids are spoiled with activities to mask their painful backgrounds. Kids have a good time here but do not realize this a brick and wire facility heavily monitored and controlled. Little contract with reality. Stay smiling and do your job is common with staff. Working with kids directly is tough, you have hundreds of adult opinions on what's good parenting techniques. I suggest to just be your true self and do/say what's right for the child
Pros
Fundraising events, good for creative minds
Cons
Strict rules, triggers your personal life and opinions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case Manager
Case Manager Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Dimas, CADecember 27, 2017
It is a good place to work. Not enough recognition for hard work. Favortism. Worked 9-5 and the people are nice. The hardest part of the job was with the population we work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work hours, no support, non-existent work life balance.
Community Based Clinician (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAOctober 24, 2017
Typical hours were 9-12 hours. Would often have little to no time balancing client care, meetings, trainings, and productivity demands. Management was not receptive or advocated for clinicians, they seemed more focused on the bottom line and productivity versus client care. If you want to learn clinical skills, how to develop as a clinician or are a seasoned/license eligible clinician go elsewhere. Did not learn any clinical skills during employment there. Constant changes in upper and middle management as people were often moving to new positions or leaving the agency.

Culture- Lots of focus on wellness, but little translates to support or any kind of action to primary care providers. Agency culture appears concerned with their image in public. Upper management has little knowledge of day-to-day job concerns.

Hardest part of job- Meeting productivity within the 40hr workweek without having to work on weekends/late nights. Typical workweek includes late afternoons as that is when clients are available. Heavy commuting to client's homes. Rotating 24/7 on call crisis hotline. Lack of work-life balance, high stress work environment. Paperwork gets in the way of direct client care.

Most enjoyable part of job- Working with undeserved populations; the clinical work with clients; being able to make a difference.
Pros
Lunches, working with undeserved population, the clients.
Cons
Long work days, long hours, no work-life balance, heavy paperwork, lots of red tape, lots of commuting/driving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Benefits and Low Compensation
Intake & Certification Worker (Current Employee) –  El Monte, CAOctober 6, 2017
While this organization does a great deal for the population it serves, compensation and benefits are not adequate and far below state averages. I would not recommend anyone apply for positions here.
Cons
poor management; low morale; poor compensation and benefits; no dependent health care coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJuly 29, 2017
Five Acres is an innovative agency that focuses on what is important which is impact on children and the workforce is positive and passionate about the mission. Keep up the good work leadership!
Pros
Client impact that exceeds state benchmarks
Cons
This work is not for everyone and those who can't do it should move on versus complain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Unit Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CAMay 23, 2017
One thing i like about Five Acres is that there is never a typical day, I have learned how to build relationships with clients and clients family. I have learned different styles of management and which style fits my personality. The hardest part of my job is keeping up with 18 different personalities in a day. the Most enjoyable part of this job is the impact you have on a troubled child's life.
Pros
Great Benifits
Cons
Does not pay that much for what you do and go through everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work here
Crisis Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CAMay 2, 2017
Very busy, active children, a lot of redirection for children, I have learned to be assertive and when to back off. The hardest part of working here is the long transportation for day kids. The most enjoyable part is building relationships with the kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you are desperate stay away
Therapist (Former Employee) –  VariousApril 18, 2017
Do your research before you apply. This company used to really care about their staff, however, this is no longer the case. The management is awful. The pay is incredibly low compared to other non-profits. What is most disappointing is the staff turnover. I have never worked for a company that has had so much turnover. Even turnover among upper management has increased. It's unfortunate because the ones who truly suffer are the families & youth we service. The staff morale is very low, obviously due to the way they are treated & staff turnover. Personally, I am happy for those that have left as I know they deserve better. I'm not surprised they are spending money on mass advertisement and job recruitment; they can't keep staff. A few years back I would have encouraged friends to apply but now I tell them to look elsewhere.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Pay, staff turnover, billing expectations, morale, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Altadena, CAApril 4, 2017
There is no support for the kids or staff. Management is so quick to fire every body. The quality of staff is a joke. The pay isn't enough to deal with an unorganized environment. I would suggest to be on-call staff. Less stress sometimes.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Clinical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CADecember 15, 2016
Great company to work for, however the DMH paperwork is a lot and the residential staff and culture is hard to work with. Management is not that grate they would focus on drama instead of training and helping staff succeed.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
To much work load, not enough support
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
skip this place !!!!
scs (Former Employee) –  Altadena, CAJuly 22, 2016
i was a fifteen year veteran working up from child care counselor to the star team at their NPS school so I know this company well..
Management has changed in the last few years and its for the WORST.. they claim to be so humanistic and caring of children in need but are not FOR THEIR EMPLOYEES!!! they are all about bottom line only.. Raises were few and pennies , stress levels are way to high for the pay rates if your smart you will keep LOOKING
the kids and the free lunch is the only reason to work there but I suggest you think twice !!!!!!
Pros
free lunch
Cons
TRUMP LIKE management, HIGH levels of stress, LOW pay, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs support in how to appericate all employes that work on teams
Parent partner Residential Based Services(RBS) (Current Employee) –  Altadena, CAJuly 12, 2016
looking for new challenges and a company that will appreciate the work that each member gives in team efforts.
enjoy the family's I work with and the co-workers do not enjoy that management chooses which members of the same team be compensated for the same families and work done with them.
Negative is they do not give you enough time to complete paperwork during the work week. More focus is on the quantity versus the quality of care that is given to the families.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
more care is given to quanity and not quality of care for families
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was not happy here
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAMay 6, 2016
a lot of management issues, over all people is nice but salaries are not competent, you only get a rise of 2% a year

















its a happy place to work as long as you supervisor know what he is doing
Pros
free lunches
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Parent Support Liaison (Former Employee) –  El Monte, CAJanuary 19, 2016
not flexible over worked not enough training.
No advancement false hope .
hardest part of the day is when there is a family crises there is not supervisors available.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no advancemnt
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the families
Quality Assurance - Temporary (Former Employee) –  Altadena, CAOctober 30, 2015
I was able to work with some clients that were in great need of help. I enjoyed working with the diverse group. I worked with children that needed mental health services and glad I was able to assist them.
Pros
I enjoyed working with children
Cons
Job was too short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly mobile and extreme environment
Assistant Recreation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Altadena, CAAugust 12, 2015
A typical day consists implementing recreational programs that are therapeutic for clients ages six to 14 years old. Learned to be a more creative thinker and to work under some extreme and challenging situations. I was in charge of managing 20 to 30 Recreation Counselors five days a week. Worked with positive and energetic co-workers. The hardest part about the job was limitation in staffing (high turn-over rate), which in terms elevated a more intense work environment. The thing I enjoyed about the job is the volunteer support from various organizations in the community.
Pros
Postive programs and community based intervention for the clients
Cons
Extreme staff turn-over rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Acres. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 28 reviews
56
46
36
27
13

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.7Culture