Five Below Employee Reviews

Showing all 1,168 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Stressful
Freight Lead (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 19, 2018
The best part of this job is the constant new items as well as completing seasonal changes. The work environment was usually fun when everyone's on the same page. The job consist of being unvalued at time and put under extreme pressure to complete things in little time frame since it was always put to the back burner.
Pros
Play with New items
Cons
No sick time, Never Any Hours, No room for Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 19, 2018
The company management is too mediocre.
Work environment is too stressful.
The working hours are little and the working schedules are crazy
Corporate take way to long to address any of the employees issues and it's so frustrating
Pros
No lunch
Cons
15 minutes break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as fun as it looks.......
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lowell, MAOctober 18, 2018
This company is the poster child for precarious employment
and also an organization that believes in a "bad job strategy." The store operates with a lean labor model, and they treat most employees as disposable. The company’s main concern is growth and opening new stores. Nothing in my experience leads me to believe that FB employees are a high priority at the company. There was no attempt at providing wages that people can live on, affordable health insurance so they can access health care or work-family policies such as scheduling regular hours so employees can meet their non-work obligations. Five below works best as a stop-gap job for part-timers and a resume builder for people who want to add assistant manager on their resume. If you are not the store manager, the position can be equated to either a cashier or warehouse associate.

The company operates with chaotic operations, and The labor strategy leaves you in a downward spiral.

Vicious cycle:
Small labor budget >; Low quantity and quality of Labor >; Poor operational execution>; Low Sales.

Small labor budget (exacerbated by the GM and DM hoarding of hours to achieve quarterly bonuses )
>; Low quantity and quality of Labor ( Store only offers part-timers from 0-10 hours a week; as a result most high performing employees either leave or become disengaged within 2 to 3 months)
>; Poor operational execution ( the company has unrealistic expectations especially when it comes to the store nightly recovery; decent store recovery is too difficult to perform reliably every time with only two people)
>; Low
  more... Sales.

While vacation and personal time are competitive, nothing else really is. The pay is not competitive, the health benefits are pretty weak, and low-level employees average around 10 or fewer hours a week. FB does not invest in employee wages. The Employees raises are far and in between. You may get a 25 cent increase every other year.
There are only two full-time positions in the store: Store Manager and Assistant Manager and both are pretty much stock boys or girls and cashiers.

My experience at Five Below.

The management’s behaviors and actions created a toxic store culture, in the workplace, Organizational trust for me did not exist because while the upper management seemed to be nice, they never seemed to be committed to resolving major work environment issues. Coworker relationships suffered because of the Managements lack of commitment to the people and production in the store they refused to follow policies that would create a more fair and equitable environment. The work at FB was not meaningful work or rewarding the best part of the day was engaging with a happy child and/or clocking out to go home. Recognition happened occasionally, but feedback and growth were nonexistent. The staff under management lacked empowerment and a voice; management ignored most requests and input on processes and procedures. When you insisted on a topic no matter how diplomatic or eloquently you made your point, the Manager would become strangely frustrated and erupt in anger, using unprofessional sarcasm or condescension, I suppose this was a strategy to maintain unquestioned authority and preserve the status quo.

Overall the management displayed all the characteristics of an indifferent or impoverish manager they demonstrated little or no concern for their management team or general staff, and they also seemed to care very little about delivering operational results. Overall most of their time was spent securing a “golden schedule,” CYA activities and doing just enough work to keep their job.

If you are expecting any training or development, or for any policies and procedures to be upheld especially any policies that we contribute to a fair and equitable workplace you will be thoroughly disappointed. The management did not communicate expectations they didn’t even bother discussing ASM yearly reviews with either of their assistant managers before or after submitting them. Overall the Management had a stunning ability to be ineffective as a boss and a leader. The people who benefited the most were all the toxic personalities who knew how to benefit from a complete lack of leadership. Honest employees were left to fend for themselves. I was extremely disappointed in my experience at five below. From my vantage point, Five Below is an example of what work life is like when companies are engaged in a race to the bottom and externalize cost to both their customers and employees by, both understaffing stores causing services to suffer, and neglecting the employee experience.
  less
Pros
Vacation time
Cons
Poor compensation, impoverished management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bay Shore, NYOctober 17, 2018
Working here was fun. I loved seeing all the kids. Working here was very easy. Co-works were always super nice. But I left because I wasn't getting any hours and when I went to go back to work there I was told I was put on the do not hire list. So that sucked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job but low pay
Associate (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIOctober 16, 2018
it was a good job while I was in high school; they were flexible with my schedule and willing to work around my life, but the pay was minimum wage and that wasn't working out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work if your a grown up
CEM (Current Employee) –  West Nyack, NYOctober 16, 2018
If you are a grown up or lets say someone living on your own and not at home with your parents it isn't the best job. The pay is laughable for someone with experience, unless you have been in the company since the beginning you do not have a chance to advance in pay or position. Its a joke job, it is more suitable for teenagers and college kids who need holiday or book cash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to work with Management
Supervisor Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Carmel, INOctober 16, 2018
A lot of the managers were in kahoots with eachother, and everyone is either married to or friends with someone in corporate. So, if you're just starting out and get hired in as management, you'll find that your managers often will give you the harder to work shifts, and several weekends in a row.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Crystal Lake, ILOctober 15, 2018
Great place to work. Flexible hrs, good discount. You get to see new products that come in & even demo them too. You get to help people find what they need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Below Strongsville Oh
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHOctober 15, 2018
Pay is unrealistic to job requirements
Management very poor
Management takes advantage of position
Poor scheduling, no consideration for minors
Lack of team efforts
Many complained about management
Overall poor environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dawsonville, GAOctober 14, 2018
i was never given enough hours that was worth working there. They were not flexible with my hours. I was sick on my last shift and the manager wouldn't let me call out. On the way to work that day I crashed and went to urgent care. Next day i quit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Lousy staff.
Part time sales lead (Former Employee) –  Fenton, MOOctober 13, 2018
Five below is a great company however they are more focused on building more stores than fixin the small issues inside the ones they already have. The staff doesn’t pay much attention and always complains. They constantly make mistakes or don’t do what they’re supposed to. Everybody is always on their phone and always taking back.
Pros
20% discount on all merchandise
Cons
No other pro options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Huber Heights, OHOctober 13, 2018
I think 5 below is an awesome place to work for and even shop at because there are so many options and just so much going on. Even working there is like shopping all of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester ctOctober 12, 2018
Five below was once a nice place to work. Over time it became not so good. They barely do raises, the only managers that get bonuses is the store manager. They don’t do night differentials.
They keep the people who do no call no shows, and call outs every week. The good people they try to get rid of.
Store manager works against their management team. They also lie, and are filled with drama. They love to watch people struggle instead of help them. You reach out to the district manager for help and all they say is “no excuses no blame game”.
Manchester ct needs a new store manager for the store to run smoothly.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Freight crew lead (Former Employee) –  Hiram, GAOctober 12, 2018
It was a fun, relaxed place to work. I worked mostly over night being on the freight crew. But I did work some days during business hours. It's the kind of place where if you see a kid playing with a foam sword, you can grab one too and duel with them. Worst part is store inventory since it's a high volume store, there's A LOT to count.
Pros
Environment, discounts
Cons
Part time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAOctober 12, 2018
Gained a lot of working experience. It is only minimum wage but you will learn how to talk to costumers and work as a team there. The hardest part of working there was cleaning the store and it's a small store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space , Excellent learning oppurtuinity.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Springfield, PAOctober 10, 2018
Employees are very customer friendly.
Time management is easy to learn, while working.
A typical day at work would be clocking in, checking to see if all the shelves are stocked properly, asking customers if they need help finding anything, or assisting them at self check out. Time goes by fast, at the end of the night you restock the shelves, count the registers drawers, sweep and mop.
Pros
discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work at. Very friendly staff and kind customers.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTOctober 9, 2018
Five Below was my favorite job I’ve worked. It was very easy-going and the work was not too difficult. I got along well with most costumers as well as picked up utilizing the cash register fairly quickly. All in all, it was a great job.
Pros
Discounted merchandise
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Excellent Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJOctober 8, 2018
very busy every day make the work day go by faster, management was organized, the culture was fun and different every one got along.. the most enjoyable part was the holidays toys for tots drive
Pros
easy going
Cons
no break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 7, 2018
i’ve haven’t been there long they don’t like to give people the hours they need and they lied about the pay rate for what i have no idea. It would be ok if there was a little more help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun products
GMIT (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 6, 2018
not enough hours or payroll to have a team, normally one cashier one manager on duty who may or may not get a lunch break, sometimes the MOD may be left alone for several hours to run cash register and run store.
Pros
Paid Time Off
Cons
Pay is not enough to inflation in Nashville
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Below. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,168 reviews
5362
4338
3258
2112
198

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

47out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Five Below.

Powered by Comparably