Five Guys Employee Reviews

Found 2,611 reviews matching the search See all 2,961 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, but full of fun
Fry Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJuly 16, 2018
Very relaxed work place until lunch/dinner rush. Becomes very hectic for the time, but the employees tend to stay positive and level-headed. Working the register and burger stations are fairly easy, but the fry station is a tough one to manage. You'll cut 100-150 pounds of fries every morning, put them into buckets of water, and carry them to the walk-in or fry station as needed. Whatever you do, don't just stand around. If you've got time to lean, you've got time to clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pace work place
Five Guys (Former Employee) –  Ocean City, MDJuly 16, 2018
I was a fun place to work. Very fast pace it stayed full from open to close. Its a structured place to work to say the least. I really enjoyed working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five guy a fun and productive work place
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Wayne, PAJuly 15, 2018
I really enjoyed working for five guys it was a quick and easy job. I think it and awesome job for anyone that enjoys working with food and love customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized scheduling.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJuly 15, 2018
When you are given roughly 35+ hours a week it’s not a bad place to work. However, there are times where you may be scheduled but then a couple hours before your shift you’ll be told not to come in. And sometimes you’ll have weeks where you’ll work minimum amount of hours, but the moment when they realize that they are understaffed and need you they expect you to drop what you’re doing and come in. Don’t work here if you want guaranteed hours. On the flip side I recommend working here if you’d like to say you have a job, but like to get your shifts changed constantly and not have a stable schedule.
Pros
Easy, good customer interaction.
Cons
Changing/shifting scheduling, not guaranteed to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
crew member (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 14, 2018
need to raise pay for workers if they are going to reduce hours. people who have more bills to pay or have children need more pay or hours. its good to work at just need to raise pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Centerville, OH 45458July 14, 2018
The staff at Five Guys are all about their mission. The mission is what pushes the restaurants forward and gives the employees a standard to put themselves to. It makes for a great work environment and a great atmosphere to try your best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build team spirit!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJuly 13, 2018
As a first job, I couldn't have asked for a better environment. Crazy, chaotic, fast-paced, where the kitchen and lobby and back of house learned to work together like a (mostly) well-oiled machine and keep each other afloat. You learn quickly to trust your crew, even the people you might hate, because otherwise everything will get really clogged up. They're also good about customer service and cleanliness. It's certainly not a perfect place to work, but there are certainly worse places too.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
High stress and fast environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it very much
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 13, 2018
It was an great opportunity to work I learned nd grew from it nd I learned that no matter how hard or above nd beyond u go some people are still not satisfy
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Request are just request
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers Day
Manager (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 12, 2018
Typical day on Five Guys is normally about interacting with your customers and your employees. The manager is the one who controls the environment to be joyful. So I always aim to make sure everyone leaves their emotions to the side, in order to have a happy environment. Being a manager their is fun because that's their culture to have a high energy atmosphere. Making it the best part when your making a glistening patty to a customer who may become a regular to your store.
Pros
Free Meal up to $20
Cons
Hardly any breaks as a manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYJuly 12, 2018
5 guys helped me become who I am today a dedicated hard working young man full of energy. I’m the type of person who would rather be at work making money more then having fun outside. Making money is my fun and 5 guys helped me realize you don’t need to have a day off to have fun. Work is fun
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Associate (Former Employee) –  Lehi, UTJuly 12, 2018
As long as you stay on task and focus this job is a easy fast food job. Pay is good, hardest part is clean up after store closes. Management is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for them, but the people in this area have no sense of work ethic
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Brunswick, GAJuly 12, 2018
I love working for five guys!!! I love getting up to go to work!! I'm just getting too old to have to deal with having to work 7 days a week. I love the company.
Pros
free meals and friendly atmosphiere
Cons
short staffed, huge turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun crew to work with
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Vestal, NYJuly 12, 2018
Come in with a happy Spirit and on time and always ready to work hard because you may have to pick up other people hours and you maybe working short staff
Pros
Free lunch/pay raise
Cons
Hours / family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family environment
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Austell, GAJuly 11, 2018
Have to not mind cleaning constantly. Cant be lazy and do nothing, have to be constantly moving. Will get the hours you need if you work full time or part time,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced food resturant
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Lima, OHJuly 11, 2018
Stock inventory first in first out. Truck inventory. Counter service cash handling open and close procedures. Maintain a clean and safe work environment. Work well with a crew and provided support where needed.
Pros
free meals on work shifts
Cons
benefits not very good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJuly 11, 2018
A fast paced, upbeat environment, willing to train anyone. They provide a great customer service while serving a great meal. They train everyone to learn everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 11, 2018
Five guy was a great job the pay was good the manager was great an yes I would recommend this job to others I was a great experience the peanut was great
Pros
Peanuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cook (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 11, 2018
i liked five guys i learned alot their how to weigh a burger how to prep how to clean a lobby five guys taught me patience if i could go back to five guys i would with no hesitation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The food is good, but working there is not a great idea.
Crew (Current Employee) –  Macomb, MIJuly 11, 2018
The work day is very fast-paced. I learned responsibility and to always be aware of everyone around me. The managers do not know what they are doing, but the GM is very excellent.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated life
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Dubuque, IAJuly 10, 2018
Worked so much. I had broken equipment no help. Promises of advancement then hung out to Dry after a poor audit I scored a 95%. Too much for what they want to pay. Wish I worked for the actual Five Guys and their dad they were awesome.
Pros
Free burger( free comes out of food cost)
Cons
50 hour work week, more like 70.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,961 reviews
5916
4919
3734
2215
1177

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight