Five Guys Employee Reviews

Found 2,776 reviews matching the search See all 3,140 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack Of Management.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Layton, UTSeptember 24, 2018
I quit due to being verbally and physically abused. Overall it still wasn't that bad. I loved my morning shifts. I loved my hours and didn't mind the fast pace.
Pros
It was a learning experience. That was my first fast food job.
Cons
Short breaks on a good day, Terrible management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is okay.
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Richmond, OHSeptember 23, 2018
Work is fast paced.
And job is great for those with empty schedule .
It is clean and not a very demanding job.
But customer satisfaction is very high protiery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDSeptember 23, 2018
It was an ok job, just the pay wasn’t enough and we would always be understaff. Manager wasn’t doing his job at the time. And hours were a little bit crazy
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Healthcare, payment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work just not enough hours
Crew associate and Shift leader (Former Employee) –  Ocean City, MDSeptember 22, 2018
I enjoyed working at Five Guys very much, unfortunately the hours were under 25 and It did not meet my standards to work full time. Also the management there were poorly trained and did not seem to care about the customers.
Pros
Easy advancement
Cons
No breaks, bad managing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 22, 2018
It was an ok and easy work environment. Me for one learned everything fast cause of my background. Only thing I hated was that they smash their burger patties more than once
Pros
Fun productive workplace
Cons
They smash and flip their burger patties more tham once
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about myself there.
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 21, 2018
Everyone was very nice and casual. You could be anybody from all walks of life and still feel at home. I learned how to use a cashier and to properly handle food. It was nice leaving a hard days work and still receive tips. Hardest part was rude customers and cleaning restrooms.
Pros
It was nice leaving a hard days work and still receive tips
Cons
Hardest part was rude customers and cleaning restrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for this company.
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKSeptember 20, 2018
I loved it there! Everyone was so nice and happy and so super helpful, I made a lot of friends, My supervisor was amazing, he became my best friend actually (no I didn't get special privileges). Other employees were so great we made sure our work was done and to work as a team. I loved being there. Every day was a new laugh and experience because you don't stay on one station, you are cross trained. I always was excited when I got to learn something new. Mind you I was there when Five Guys first opened in Lawton, so it was super fast paced and I didn't mind. Will always be one of my favorite past jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a first job
Cashier/Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXSeptember 20, 2018
At first its a little overwhelming to learn a lot of procedures,but after you've done it for a while its a breeze. Fun environment to work at,with good co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente trabajo en equipo y gran ambiente laboral.
Cocinero (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 19, 2018
Cuando de trabajar en restaurante se trata debes estar dispuesto a tener una amplia disponibilidad de tiempo para los diferentes horarios que la empresa requiere, así como también saber controlar tus emisiones ya que el trabajo en equipo es todo el día y todos los días, debes tener habilidad para poder llevar buena comunicación con los comensales y con tu equipo de trabajo y así entregar lo que el cliente final desea.
Pros
Esta en norma con el estado y hacen valer tus derechos y obligaciones.
Cons
El aumento de sueldo es de larga espera ya que esta petición pasa a diferentes niveles de gerencia.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean work area
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLSeptember 19, 2018
Work at a fast paste, I had to cut the veggie sometimes I had to fry fries but no matter what was my job title I got the job done I keep the lobby clean, work on the grill do customers service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense & Gets Busy Fast
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 18, 2018
Working at five guys was terrible!!! The employees were very disrespectful and the management was poor. If i knew Five Guys would be that way i wouldn't have applied.
Pros
Free Meal, Bonus
Cons
Rude employees, Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great stepping stone
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCSeptember 18, 2018
Working here taught me the value of hard work. With that being said I worked my way into management. This experience was a life lesson. It was like I was breaking a barrio.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Five Guys
Team Member (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  we all do a little bit of everythingSeptember 17, 2018
Everyone is helpful the place stays busy and all employees work to ensure we provide the best quality. There is no time to worry about what is happening elsewhere we stay busy with all the people that come in especially on the weekends. If you want hours this is the place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Niskayuna, NYSeptember 17, 2018
Good customer service and clean place to eat at...food is also good and I will recommend you try it. Plus they have free peanuts while u wait for your food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Fun But Also Very Toxic Place to work in.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  East HanoverSeptember 17, 2018
Working at five Guys Was Fun but I didn't Enjoy coming In everyday To work. Due to the Fact that the Employees There Are Unprofessional , And The Management There Was Ridiculous And unprofessional as Well
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Work Environment
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 17, 2018
Five Guys is a wonderful place to work. I have grown so much with and because of the company. The ideals and goals of the company are very manageable and not too stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 17, 2018
a typical day at work would be me doing paperwork truck ordering a lot of computer work if i was needed in the front id go. i learned to be a manager how to talk to others and how to make sure my customers and employees are happy.id typically walk out in the doing room make sure it was a clean and safe environment id also talk to the customers while i was doing my walk through's. it was always a happy culture as long as the employees were happy.the hardest part of the job was to gain respect from older and younger employees especially with me being young.the most enjoyable part of the job was the communication with my customers they'd come in and ask for me and leave me good reviews
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks on certain days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 15, 2018
Excellent, fun, and upbeat work environment! The place is incredibly clean and the food is to die for. Just watch out for some of the employees, they are constantly in competition for an assistant manager or manger position.
Pros
Free lunch, family-like employees, great customers
Cons
watch who you put in management positions..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
General Manager (Former Employee) –  LouisianaSeptember 14, 2018
Lack of training
Treatment by management
work life balance none
not enough resources to do the job.
Employees could not afford eating there without free meal
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Doing a lot of work alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and clean
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CASeptember 13, 2018
Very clean place to eat actually the cleanest. You always see employees cleaning every part of the restaurant. Very friendly, great service with a fun atmosphere.
Pros
clean
Cons
too expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,141 reviews
5974
4970
3771
2239
1187

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight