Five Guys Employee Reviews

Found 2,889 reviews matching the search See all 3,266 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain experience
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZNovember 15, 2018
I loved working at Five Guys! It was definitely a great first job for me and I loved my manager and Coworkers. I would recommend the Gilbert, AZ Five Guys to friends. I worked from 4 till 11:40 or sometimes later. I learned how to handle costumers and a cash register and how to work well with others. The hardest part would be closing time when we are all cleaning and its not very hard. I had great experiences there!
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long time to clean and close
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced and can be fun.
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILNovember 14, 2018
The days are not that difficult whether it's the work itself or the customers. Everyone seems to get along pretty well here.
The only "hard" thing about this job is the pace, it may not be to everyone's liking as it is pretty quick at times. Working can be enjoyable and fun if you make friends within the workplace.
Pros
Free meals each day you work.
Cons
Unpaid breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place will keep you busy
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Richland, WANovember 14, 2018
Worked for this company for a few months, good people and great fries. Did decide to leave, only due to my own problems. Would definitely eat there. Wouldn't go back to work though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competitive work environment.
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CANovember 14, 2018
Five Guys is an incredible starting job for work experience in a fast paced and time constrained environment. The worker incentive programs ensure that the employees remain working to the best of their abilities.
Pros
Discounted lunches and amazing food
Cons
Small crew
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food and unique work environment
manager (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WINovember 14, 2018
They have good values on costumers as well as employees which is nice. The only issue i had was that the management was not the best and often dramatic.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lowsy
Shift "Leader" Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2018
Did not really care for employees. Managers were underpaid, Upper management over paid. Waste of time.Good for students. Not for a career. They play favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok the employees mak it hard
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2018
Cool I guess lack of understanding employees hard to work with good pay and contests just the employees manager taking advantage of there positions other than it’s cool
Pros
Good pay, contest
Cons
Employees lack of team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really prepared me for my future
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORNovember 12, 2018
This was the first job that I got after looking for a restaurant to work, walking through two inches of snow in late January 2017. Working at Five Guys really made me learn how to be a successful employee by working hard. I sure made a lot of terrible mistakes at the start, I burned myself a lot of times, and they did not have hours for me to work during half a year working at Five Guys. I thought I would have rather just quit and look for another job during that summer. However, I proved my manager that I was able to work under the pressure of dinner rush hour. Before relocating near Oregon State University, I was the second most paid worker in that restaurant, with the general manager being the first. That job at Five Guys prepared me for the mistakes that I am to go through and how to overcome them.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food ok place
Food preperation and service related worker (Former Employee) –  Plattsburgh, NYNovember 11, 2018
good place to work unless you have medical problems but good food good benifits ie.tips at end of shift, meal program.all in all good place to work i liked it
Pros
lunch program and tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hardworking environment
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MINovember 11, 2018
its pretty simple they make you watch videos and take a test before working to understand the basics from start to finish (can all vary depending on location) we prep food from 8 to 10:30 cutting onions, tomatoes, jalapenos, green peppers, cooking the bacon, grilling onions and mushrooms, smashing meat, pre cook the fries, set up the lobby and the kitchen, count the drawers and open up at 11am and run till 10pm and clean the whole place up lobby, kitchen, back of house, etc
Pros
free food, bonuses
Cons
if a secret shopper comes in (we never now who it is) and they see something wrong like a spill, dirty table, full garbage they can mark us down and we actually lose money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are good
BOH and FOH crew member (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 10, 2018
Great place to work, make you step out your comfort zone, teaches responsibility to first time workers. It is an all around great place to work. Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and poor work environment
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 9, 2018
Did not encourage employees to work towards any goals.

Upper management increased work duties without additional compensation.

Expected more out of employees that actually performed but rewarded others that did not do the work .

Failed to notice who was actually do the work. Upper management totally oblivious to store operations and apparently have a hard time keeping employees due to such negative incentives.


No performance evaluations and few raises - very little feedback - positive or negative


Management talks down to employees
Pros
Helping customers, opportunity to work with some good employees
Cons
Not having any input
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Missouri City, TXNovember 8, 2018
As a cashier, I would come in and count the register. When Five Guys opened, I would be working nonstop restocking, cleaning serving customers, and providing care to customers. It was very long and busy days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
five guys
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 8, 2018
its a okay place to work at u come across all different kind of peoples i met alot of nice and good peoples working there my co workers was cool the food was good
Pros
free burgers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast paced, and fun
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLNovember 8, 2018
In a typical day at my last position, i opened the restaurant by prepping food, and making sure everything is set up for a day of success. Also making sure everything is clean and sanitized. I started out as a cashier but soon cross trained in every position. I would also train new associates on the operations of the restaurant. Working at this company i learned the meaning of leadership. The management was awesome. Everyone respected each other and tried to have a good time while staying on task and making sure the customers are satisfied. The hardest part of my job would be closing sometimes because we were often short handed. I really enjoyed working here because everyone worked together as a team, especially when things would get hectic.
Pros
experience and free food per shift
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an ok first jod.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mohegan Lake, NYNovember 8, 2018
This was my first jod and I love it. I have learned about about responsibility. As a cashier I bet to talk a lot with people, and have become a better listener.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favorite job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VANovember 7, 2018
My time at Five Guys was great, I met the friendliest people I've ever had to work with, the managers were really nice and the whole job culture at Five Guys is great, I wish I could've stayed even longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work , offer bonus perks and very up beat
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Rensselaer, NYNovember 7, 2018
Five guys is very fresh and we get orders out 8 minutes or less . I truly believe it’s a great company to be apart of . There is no freezers and everything is made to order .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wss okay
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLNovember 7, 2018
Management was very understanding and easily to get along with. This was new because i had never worked at a fast food place but they def have their hands full and stay busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  South Ridge, WvNovember 7, 2018
You learn so much and the people there are great to work with. You get the hours you ask for if they’re available and the days off you need if available. They’re pretty flexible with your schedule.
Pros
30 minute lunch
Cons
Short handed a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,266 reviews
51K
41K
3795
2252
1200

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight