Five Star Bank Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search See all 56 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont want to leave review
Certified Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 1, 2018
Dont want to leave review but this is forcing me to leave one. I love working for Five Star. I just wish they paid better. Their pay is considerably lower than competitor banks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is a good experience
Certified Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Ellicottville, NYFebruary 13, 2018
Five Star Bank is a great place to work, the pay is competitive and benefits are great. They offer ample opportunity to grow with the company. They offer classes to help you learn everything you're interested in learning about the banking business.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no thanks
Fraud Detection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYJanuary 29, 2018
A typical day would include taking care of customers and handling the daily head teller duties. I also have the opportunity to work in the collections department taking care of past due accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very personable bank.
Teller (Current Employee) –  Ovid, NY 14521October 25, 2017
The hardest part of the job is making sure no counterfeit bills or fraudulent checks are going through the accounts. I like to have a personal interaction with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not want to leave a review
Administrative Clerical Support/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYOctober 13, 2017
I was taught If you do not have something nice to say, say nothing at all!!!!

I would not like to leave a review!!!!!!!

Sorry I do not want to leave a review
Pros
I liked seeing all the clients
Cons
You are just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work.
Assistant Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  warsaw NYOctober 11, 2017
Worked you part-time so you did not get benefits. Not enough training, Breaks were hard to take, needed to get your work done before leaving for the day.
Pros
none
Cons
needs better management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good!
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Local BranchOctober 10, 2017
Good pay

Branch Culture
-Low morale
-Poor Management
-Unethical employees

Bank does not value prior experience, and suggestions for improvement at the branch level are met with disgust and opposition.

Branch operations are antiquated, little to no innovation. Anything new is seen as bad.

Employees often lie to management about other employees, and there is no questioning this information. It is accepted as true, and the employee being complained about is reprimanded without the opportunity to defend themselves.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EVeryday is the same
FULL-TIME TELLER (Former Employee) –  Dansville, NYAugust 14, 2017
Definitely is a everyday routine nothing new each day. Have to be a quick learner and good mathematic skills. Always something to do, but lots of standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position as Encoder
Encoder (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYAugust 5, 2017
I worked as an encoder, which I really loved. If you like data entry. Unfortunately, the positions no longer exist. People were very friendly and helpful.
Pros
Nice atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not awful, very boring
Certified Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Chili Center, NYJuly 6, 2017
I like most of the people I work with but the company itself has some kinks to work out, including benefits and pay. I feel like I have no room to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Five Star Bank?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Five Star Bank
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYJune 9, 2017
Worked as an encoder and sorter operator many years ago. Management was great at the time. Had to maintain certain numbers to keep your job, but that was the be expected. Worked many different departments during the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Bank Branch Manager IV (Former Employee) –  Penn Yan, NYJune 5, 2017
Loved to go to work every day. Great company great people to work with. Leaders where great until AG showed up man then it was all down hill. He is gone now so hope it gets better.
Pros
Solid company and growing
Cons
Company seems to be cost cutting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and Balanced
Collections Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 29, 2017
Working at Five Star is fair and balanced

The atmosphere is congenial and management makes you feel welcome.

My supervisor is among one of the best I've worked for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not high and no room for advancement
Teller (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, NYMay 2, 2017
There is no communication from upper management and pay never increases. Work load is a lot and branches are understaffed. Pay never increases more and 2% per year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different culture now
Ln Clerk/Mortgage Servicing Mgr/Business Analyst I (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NY 14569May 1, 2017
When it was a smaller company, it was a great place to work. The bigger it got, the more things changed. New management brought with them new ideas of how things should be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A growing company
Certified Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, NYApril 12, 2017
A great company to work! Growing and adapting to the new banking industry! The ability to cross sell bank and investment products is a key, along with the ability to assist banking clients in every aspect-from cash handling-checks, deposits, withdrawals to opening and closing accounts, along with financial planning and assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bank!
Deposit Account Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYFebruary 20, 2017
I enjoyed working at this financial institution. Great opportunities for advancement. Would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining people.
Lock Box Processor (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NY 14569January 18, 2017
I enjoyed the experience of learning something new and meeting new people. It was a friendly environment with supplies handy when you needed them and questions answered when asked. It was a pleasant place to work
Pros
Allowing us to get up and walk
Cons
Some days were long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment.
Loan Reconciliation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bath, NYDecember 29, 2016
Enjoyed job and working environment. Only left due to company down sizing. Company offered lots of employee perks. Type of work could be fun and challenging. Management was always very supportive.
Pros
Nice environment, employee perks
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It\s an ok place to work
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, NYAugust 2, 2016
Most of the people there are OK to work with. The managers are really helpful most of the time. I liked that I was always busy and had stuff to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Star Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 56 reviews
516
414
315
29
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight