Flatiron Construction Corp Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 149 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Accounting Intern (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAOctober 3, 2018
Company runs well, but coworkers had little idea of what to with an intern not working in construction/engineering, so I was often moved around a lot. They ended up sending me to an isolated stockyard where I spent a lot of the time by myself with little human interaction. After that I was sent away with employment, but little chance of future work.
Pros
Regular Free lunches, friendly staff
Cons
Little management direction, few responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive lack of correct personal
Pipe Layer (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCSeptember 24, 2018
Good days and bad days all part of construction.
not so good management in some areas
overall good company i would go back to work with them again.
good equipment..
Pros
free vest
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Projects but not trustworthy
Operations (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 20, 2018
They offered me a job across the country with reimbursable relocation expenses but not nearly the amount of what a cross country move costs. Then they drag their feet on reimbursing the expense. Their excuses change almost daily as to when the expense will actually get paid and it always ends up being "next week". The only problem is that next week starts a new cycle of excuses only to push you into the next "next week". If you are independently wealthy like most construction workers <sarcasm off> and can finance the move on your own and not sweat it until they decide to pay you back then this is the place for you. If not just beware that they take their time and do not seem to care if you need the money back or not.
Pros
Interesting Projects
Cons
No sense of urgency to honor the terms of their employment offers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 8, 2018
Great place to work competitive pay I enjoyed working there and would recommend not only working there but they they also have a high regard for their customers which I value as well.
Pros
steady work
Cons
alot of travel at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor is labor
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 2, 2018
Work with awesome people. Outside work your butt off, just getting in. You kick but and beat feat. I have always loved hard work and working with my hands.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Outside in crazy weather sometimes but thats also cool too
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flatirons
Construction Forman (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 27, 2018
I would only recommend this for able bodied people who don’t have families. Pay is good days are only with minimal rest Opportunities. This is construction so it’s defiantly not leasurly
Pros
Pay
Cons
Time to rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but does not promote from within
Structures Engineer (Current Employee) –  South Eastern USJuly 25, 2018
Great company but does not promote from within. The project level people that you work with are very professional, and knowledgeable.
Working hours, and pay are competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive,challenging,on job training high safety culture
Iron Worker Foreman (Former Employee) –  Longmont, COJuly 18, 2018
Enjoyed the everyday challenges was very greatful for the opportunities to work on some huge projects,high safety culture along with career advancement opportunities also moving to places
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Complaints
Subcontract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Selma, CAJune 15, 2018
I spent my entire time so far on one joint-venture project so I cannot speak to the pros or cons of Flatiron offices but the benefits are great, leadership is competent and the hours are reasonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Displeasure with non-training
Office Manager/EEO Officer/Accounts Payable (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCJune 14, 2018
I loved working in California with Flatiron versus the Southeast Division.

SE needs to incorporate training for the Office Managers and continued training after OM are hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCMay 20, 2018
A decent job depending on your position and supervisor. Good hours and weekends off... couldn't always work in the rain... provides equipment training when times allowed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people work for
Heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 19, 2018
It was a fast-paced but duction did a lot of things backwards that could have used a different management overall is good company that had nice equipment the people that was there was nice to work for overall it was a good job would like to go back to work and have work everywhere job placement movie where big company
Pros
As many hours as you want
Cons
Always had to work no time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to build things that support the strengthening of a structure.
Laborer Worker (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAApril 27, 2018
Worked closely with Carpentars to build wood and metal forms for hwy strengthening foundations and overpass colunms throughout Southern California. Responsible for the tear down of such forms aswell.
Pros
Loved working for CC MyerS/ Flatiron Constructors
Cons
Not enough work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/ Hard-working
Cost Engineer (Former Employee) –  Benicia, CAApril 17, 2018
My experience with Flatiron Corp. was one that I will never forget. I learned about what it takes to operate withing a professional workplace. Also, the operations of a construction site focusing mainly on safety. Overall, Flatiron was a great experience and I would recommend this company to anyone who is interested in working for a construction company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Loader operator Truck driver (Former Employee) –  southern CaliforniaApril 3, 2018
8 hrs days great variety of different job's
management was very good as long you did your job
Most everyone got a long as most were tradesman
hardest things were shut downs manly weather related
Pros
close to home
Cons
free sand and rocks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 19, 2018
Enjoyed a lot of the people the biggest negative thing about my experience was the lack of experience in management. A very family first company with great benefits.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Project Engineer/Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Renton, WAMarch 6, 2018
As an intern I was used as a superintendent in the field and not given any insight as to the working of the business end. The do not treat their field hands with any respect. Young engineers straight out of school run work they have no business running.
Pros
none
Cons
all of them
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance for a GC laid back
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Benicia, CAFebruary 16, 2018
Great place to work if you are into construction. The management is good to get along but does not direct any responsibility or work you will be the one figuring out what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Field Engineer I (Former Employee) –  TexasFebruary 5, 2018
Management took word of non Flatiron employee over the word of Flatiron employee, and terminated said employee. The employee was accused of not performing work, and was never talked to about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Foreman/Lead hand/ Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  AlbertaDecember 29, 2017
great place to work lots of hours and busy everyday. had a long day everyday. lots of money to made working with these guys. i was with them for 4 years and enjoyed it. i didnt wanna leave but the project came to a end and everyone got laid off.
Pros
coffee, lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Flatiron Construction Corp. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 149 reviews
557
452
327
27
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture