Florida Atlantic University Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 278 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5131
485
349
29
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 278 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Climb the totem pole (requires knowing where you are)
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 9, 2018
Each department works as a fiefdom. If you are desperate, may be you can find some lucky connections to fund your program while TAing in a department that guarantees your funding a week before class starts. For those that like to live on the edge. Play politics right, and you can end up in a nice position. Fall behind or lose favor with your department lab coordinator, GOOD LUCK!
Pros
Sometimes the Dean would give a lump sum 2% bonus if school state metrics are up
Cons
No healthcare AT ALL, only public Florida school in this situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time job
Ticket Agent for Sports Department (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 6, 2018
Great staff to work with. Fun atmosphere. This part time position would be great for students attending FAU. You would typically get around three to four sporting events to work so the pay would help with spending money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented work place
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 29, 2018
A typical office job.
Learned about school policies.
Management wants you to succeed and will give you as much help as you need.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students resolve their assignment issues with the school.
The hardest part of the job is dealing with angry parents.
Pros
Some downtime
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Graduate Assistantship, it paid for school
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 27, 2018
It was an ok job for a graduate assistantship. It paid for school, it wasn't particularly academically stimulating, mostly task work. There was little to no opportunity to teach in a classroom setting as a GA in the music department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy it
Math Lab Tutor (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 20, 2018
I enjoyed working in the math lab. but the hours and the pay are way to little. My boss was great to work for. enjoyed the kids but again not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAU was an incredible place to work, I was actually employees by Boca Care, Inc
Practice Manager (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 12, 2018
My position was a group effort between FAU, Boca Care, Inc and Boca Raton Regional Hospital. Collectively it was an amazing joint effort with remarkable results.
Pros
Mentor ship, support and Team participation.
Cons
Having to move away from such an incredible program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workstudy
Desk assistant/ secretary (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 10, 2018
productive work study very little guidance often asked to do something over your pay grade thus put in difficult situations when asked to perform tasks
Pros
short shifts
Cons
poor supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Ocean Engineer (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 29, 2018
Cutting edge development of the new technologies. Fantastic work in the ocean environment. Dedicated professionals and high quality students reaching new boundaries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Microbiology Preparatory Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 27, 2018
Worked 30 hours a week producing materials for seven lab sections. The work was enjoyable at times, although some weeks demanded many extra hours in the lab.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture very competitive and low salary
Spanish Professor (Former Employee) –  Jupiter, FLJune 27, 2018
The job culture in general was competitive and low salary. The opportunities to advance in the career was very limited. There was not onsite training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, educative, fun and wonderful
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 24, 2018
productive, educative, fun and wonderful. I loved working here. The staff are lovely, helpful and collaborative. The training was a bit stressful but every other thing was worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience in FAU
Engineering Teaching and Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 20, 2018
I was completing my masters in Florida Atlantic Unviersity and worked here for 2 years as teaching and research assistant under my advisor also complete my thesis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time graduate student
Graduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 14, 2018
I am not the correct person to give a review. I am a fulltime graduate student and I have no idea how the work environment in FAU is other than my research lab. All the ratings above are related to my review about our research lab in FAU.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente multicultural
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach County, FLJune 13, 2018
Experiencia genial e inolvidable. La universidad me puso en una oficina toda para mi con ordenadores y todo lo que necesitaba a disposiciĆ³n.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible student job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJune 5, 2018
FAU is a good place to work for current students. Tutoring and grading made me appreciate my instructors more and was occasionally stressful. In the past, TAs were less regulated, but now are held to more regulations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Ticket Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 30, 2018
It was a great place to work. I was only there part time but I loved it. I was it wasn't temporary but hey life goes on. I would recommend any student to work for the school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAU is a great place to work
Assistant University Registrar (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLMay 23, 2018
Ample direction is given when asked to work on a project, and there are others that you can reach out to if you have questions.
Meeting new students each year is definitely the best part of the job!
Pros
Steady work
Cons
No pay increase without a position change, with an advanced degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 23, 2018
Help you prepare for a teaching or researching type of job. Very open with everyone opinion. You will receive many experience from this job that can strengthen your resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great college experience
Student Government Representative (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 22, 2018
Working for Student Government duffing my time in college has opened many doors for me and helped me understand the workings of the government. I have been able to use what I have learned in Student Government in many other jobs since.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough communication
Community Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 20, 2018
Something new would be introduced and barely enforced. No workers would be on the same page for a long period of time. Being late had no punishment and there was no strict penalty for many infractions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida Atlantic University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight