Florida East Coast Railway Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 18 reviews
Ratings breakdown
55
45
32
25
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 18 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
railroad work= hard work
Track Worker (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2018
the job was on the road, at first i was paid to travel that was good. but they relocated me and i had to drive 4 hour to work one way and they took the travel pay away. i was away from home all the the time and never saw my family. the pay was decent and the co-workers made the time go by.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Track Supervisor - Night Shift (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 28, 2017
Expect to be stressed, work long nights and do not expect management to be truthful. Might as well forget about your family if you have one because your first love must be the railroad.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Its a tumultuos job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is always on the market
Cash Manager/Investor Relations (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 6, 2017
Company is always on the market, changing up strategies and management. work life balance is doesn't exist.

No longer offering pention, just 401K
Pay is ok for the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than supervision
Trainmaster/Port Everglades Manager (ICTF) (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 12, 2017
Transportation is the place to be........coming from a trainmaster. My employees made $6-700 more every 2 weeks than I did and worked half the hours. Now I know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about getting the work done
Trainmaster (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 12, 2017
Not worth the pay to be in management, I dont mind being all that I can be 40-60hrs a week, but when the numbers climb into the 80-100s and I dont get a little credit........No sir.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Training - No Worklife Balance
Railroading (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 13, 2016
Poor Management and Training - No Worklife Balance. They will grind you until you have nothing left and will not think twice when you leave or get fired. Use and abuse atmosphere. There is a terrible trend of hiring people who are far past there prime and looking to finish off the years needs to get retirement.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Poor Management, Training, No Worklife Balance, intimidating atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great benefits
Bridge Tender (Current Employee) –  FloridaSeptember 21, 2016
Great company with great benefits. Competitive pay. Historic railway with many opportunities for advancement. Company spans entire length of the eastern coast of Florida.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 21, 2016
Fast paced productive workplace in logistics with detail to customer satisfaction and service. Hands on training working side by side with professionals
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fec
DIRECTOR (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 11, 2016
Transportation organization that is working aggressively to build a customer focused culture. Initiatives that are in place today, will support progression in this area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enivornment
Scale House Operator (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLFebruary 6, 2016
I would go in the morning and unlock the scale house and set up and print tickets, i learned various computer skills and the co workers were enjoyable.
Pros
Can eat whenever
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to be managed by fear and threats then this is the place for you.
Dispatcher PTCs (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 18, 2015
The company is stuck in the 80s from thier technology, infrastructure, and management style. 60 + hour weeks required with "flexible schedules" and the added bonus of constantly having to worry about lay-offs. They did though buy lunch sometimes and gave everyone a lunch box and flashlight!
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 4, 2015
Management abusive, hours worked and expected do not match pay level, never secure with job due to threats from management. no advancement. Full of elitist.
Pros
Good insurance and vacations
Cons
Never secure with job position, abuse, long hours no familty time, work rotating weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fair playing field.
conductor (Former Employee) –  FT. Lauderdale, FL.April 11, 2014
After working for FEC for many years, I regret having invested a large part of my youth in a company that is runned by liars that claim "safety first" when in reality nothing is further from the truth. They will look the other way when any employee breaks a rule, as long as it benefits the company,but if something is to go wrong while you are doing it they will throw the book at you unless you kiss butt. Promotions to lower management are only given to low lives, who have no morals,as long as they develope instant amnesia, so that they can deny how they use to break rules, cheat, slack, steal, among other things
Pros
good pay
Cons
every thing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 82No 26Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
General Foreman/Machinist (Former Employee) –  Miami Springs, FLMarch 18, 2014
As a mechanic . learn all about hydraulics,electrical and welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FEC Rwy is much like the military regarding the following of rules and regulations, I knew I had found a new career.
Signal Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 20, 2013
I am proud to have worked for the FEC Rwy. They are a well-organized railroad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay bad social life
Conductor (Former Employee) –  Bowden Yard, Jacksonville FLFebruary 9, 2012
Stressful hours that are not very compatable with family life but very good compensation
Pros
compensation and advancements
Cons
you never know when you are going to work, feast or famine, you never can plan family outing much less sleep!
Was this review helpful?Yes 69No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
switchman/conductor (Former Employee) –  Jax,FL.January 17, 2012
enjoyed working with the railroad industry, had a difficult time adjusting to the extra-board.
Pros
lots of learning experiences
Cons
working on extra-board
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 11Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida East Coast Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

1.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight