Florida International University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people, not much opportunity
Cashier, Aramark Corporation, Pollo Tropical (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 14, 2018
Aramark is a separate corporation from FIU and they themselves treat workers well and are very understanding. FIU itself will toss you under the bus with no consideration and without warning. Unless you are a business, engineer, or science related major, you may as well be an ant they can step on at any minute. Aramark at least treats everyone equal and is very positive towards you in hoping your succeed in whatever you plan on doing.
Pros
Free meals, flexible position, rewards for positive reviews
Cons
Nothing else for benefits and no real growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
University Graduate Assistant/Professor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 12, 2018
It was very stressful at times, combined with attending classes at the same place. It probably would have been a better experience, as a full time position without other duties involved.
Pros
Stressful
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 12, 2018
have been working at Florida International University (More than 5 years). It is a good place to work as it has been ranked in the past. And I also just became a student which is great because as an employee i get free credits.
Pros
great benefits, paid vacation. excellent work/life balance - leave the work at work.
Cons
too much politics, nothing ever gets done bc of bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 9, 2018
Under the supervision of Dr. Anthony Mcgoron, Brandon Dinner conducted research to optimize a waterin-
oil protocol to create chitosan-PVA cross-linked microspheres.
• The microspheres serve as "vehicles," delivering chemotherapeutic drugs and imaging agents to cancer
sites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Event Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 7, 2018
There needs to be an adjustment in management due to lack of organization and the job being treated like a government position. People are working to just collect a paycheck instead of working to improve the work place. The negativity outweighs the positive reinforcement. I don't know if this is due to pressure from the higher ups or just something normal. There is room ultimately for improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
OFFICE SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 5, 2018
This company like any other has its good and bad, but for the most part it's a great place to work. I have been here for over 5 years and would only leave if I was to work in a similar environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching
History (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 1, 2018
The university has undergone many changes and the department is now barely operating. Students are motivated and eager to learn. The overall environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience for a short term contract / assignment
contractor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 30, 2018
Good environment. Hardest part of the job was to get a hold of the Vice Provost who contracted the work, almost impossible to get a hold of her. This limited the opportunities to develop further work with the institution.
Pros
knowledgeable staff for the most part
Cons
lack of humility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Working Environment
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 26, 2018
Worked there many years ago. Was a very good working place then. People cared about personal growth as well as teamwork. Duties were explained and you were trained if necessary.
Pros
Excellent Working Environment
Cons
Just a Temp Job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and flexible
Occupational Therapy Department Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 20, 2018
I was currently a full-time student and they were always there to work around my schedule. The staff is really friendly and supportive. I am sad I had to go :(
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Staff Writer, The Beacon newspaper (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 18, 2018
FIU is possibly the most impactful journey I have had. it nurtures and developed me into a mind that "always questions the assumption." I would recommend this institution to anyone seeking a quality education.
Pros
great facilities
Cons
More one to one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 10, 2018
FIU is a wonderful school and provides a great education to its students at a reasonable price. I think the behind the scenes situation needs some work.
Pros
Great campus, working with students, benefits
Cons
A bit of a mess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It alright
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 8, 2018
FIU is okay, it could be better or worse. Apparently i must include 150 characters. I think it is a great educational institution, however I do believe that more focus should be put on hiring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and informative tenure at Florida International University.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 7, 2018
During a typical day at would learn about high pressure liquid chromatography and how to make phantoms. Management was very effective an the workplace culture was very diverse. The hardest part of the job was getting the concoction of the phantoms just right and the most enjoyable part of the job was running the phantoms through a laser.
Pros
Long breaks.
Cons
Phantoms concoctions were hard to make.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greek life is different.
Judicial Board Member (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 5, 2018
FIU is a great place to grow your education, as well as your social environment as well. The teachers are understanding, and want the best for each and every student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
CAMPUS SUPPORT (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 1, 2018
It is a relaxed atmosphere doing your work orders of the day,coordinating with others.Learning everyday.Super management in place.The hardest part of the job its the heat buts not a big deal.The most enjoyable part is the satisfaction of the teachers and staff when we finish our job
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
Free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to start
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 1, 2018
I have nothing to say
I have nothing to say


Who reviews like this? If you have a user take the questionnaire before this page, what is the purpose of this page? Then to put a minimum count on it?

Too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience varies
Student Financials - Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 27, 2018
Experience varies per department. There are areas where you'll barely be busy and it's slow paced, and then there are areas where you work with students and it can be hectic and fast-paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work place with possibilities of going higher in the company.
Bright Futures Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 23, 2018
I have been at FIU for about 4 years now both working and as a student and I must admit that working there is far better than being a student. Although the environment is very fast paced, with a nice and caring supervisor you can learn very quickly and there is room for possible future salary raises and being able to take over someones job once they retire.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well strucutred university
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  college of buinessApril 15, 2018
a all-around well established and professional school. this school i highly recommend to anyone who desires a high quality education for whatever the individual desires to study at an afforable cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida International University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 494 reviews
5270
4143
364
211
16

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

3.1Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Florida International University Reviews by Location