Florida State University Employee Reviews

Found 584 reviews matching the search See all 592 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Toll Booth Attendant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 13, 2019
I meet a lot of good people working at Florida State University. Gain a lot of information about FSU. I won’t mind going back to FSU for the sake of a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intern
Technical Analysis Intern (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 9, 2019
enjoyed time and added to my resume,
worked on a team project with an excellent mentor
worked over the summer, other work listed was during class activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing place with high job security
ERP Analyst II- BI Developer (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 5, 2019
Relaxing place with high job security. Less opportunity to grow. The its department is not managed well with dated technology. Some people are over paid while others are under paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 3, 2019
Florida State University is a good school that supports students to do well. There are a lot of opportunities at Florida State University. Good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 1, 2019
I worked in the laboratory part-time during my undergraduate studies and it was a rewarding experience. My coworkers were very friendly and my schedule was flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 31, 2019
Great place to work! The people are all genuinely friendly, great professional development opportunities, and working on a college campus keeps you young at heart!
Pros
Great people, professional development opportunities
Cons
Upward mobility can be difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching at FSU
Criminology Instructor (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 29, 2019
Typically I prepared for class and lectured in a lecture hall. Took role, did power point presentations of the material in criminology. Management was fine.
Pros
experience in lecturing-first one
Cons
Over 100 students to track
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to Work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 24, 2019
Working at FSU was overall a pretty good experience as a grad assistant. it can be time demanding when trying to balance the workload with classes but if you work under a good professor it is worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Student Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 18, 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job was you get to do whatever you want for the most part.The hardest part of the job was looking for the files and dealing with rude students.Working here was fun.I loved it.It was only for work study, I wish I could work here forever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with Athletics
Coaches Video Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 17, 2019
Worked with Athletic Department and filmed teams for coaches use. Amazing opportunity and went perfect with my love for sports. The culture at FSU is incredible and the people are willing to go above and beyond for your success.
Pros
Food
Cons
Odd hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Counselor (Current Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 14, 2019
Really great working environment. Management is very helpful and they do there part to keep us on track. I greatly Enjoy working here. The hours are great to go with almost any schedule.
Pros
Consistent
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to spend my graduate career
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 11, 2019
I enjoyed the availability of mentors to help in the learning process as I progressed through graduate school. The pay was enough to afford comfortable living situation while going through school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different experience
Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 7, 2019
I wasn't too pleased with Management. Communication is not the best. Employee never knows what's going on. Training is provided but thrown at you and you are rushed to know all content. There is a lot of favoritism. So sad to say, I didn't run into too many employees that enjoyed working there.
I LOVE how the college find ways to keep the employee happy by employee awards/carnivals.
Pros
Free or deeply discounted game tickets, tuition, pay
Cons
Communication, Management unorganized, high turnovers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Program Assistant / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 3, 2019
While my roles with the university were temporary/part-time, I always enjoyed the work I did and the people I worked with/for. I learned many transferable skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Audio Visual Specialist / Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 2, 2019
Busy refurbishing multiple classrooms simultaneously with supporting campus locations.
Everything Audio visual.
Antiquated management structure.
It's Tallahassee - The South!
Covert racism.
Colleagues.
Pros
Easy relaxed work flow.
Cons
Understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Facilities Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 2, 2019
Everyday brings a new adventure. Never know what is waiting for you once you get to work. The University is as culturally diverse as any place you could work for.
Pros
Vacation time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job environment
Academic Retention and Enhancement Tutor (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 2, 2019
nice job environment .lovely people and relaxed pace. Manager is nice and understand the need of every employer. time to improve yourself with the group of excellent people .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Student Work Study (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLDecember 18, 2018
Supervisors are fun and very understanding. Very flexible with your schedule if you are a student. In your down time, they allow you to do your homework.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job while in college
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLDecember 13, 2018
Got to work in field of study. learned very from every department in the university. they promised a job after a received my degree but did not come through.
Pros
discount on events
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work as an international student
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLDecember 7, 2018
A typical day will start as giving a class. The students are very eager to learn. They always ask lots of questions. I think it is a very good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Florida State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 592 reviews
5332
4159
374
217
110

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight