FM Global Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search See all 109 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is excellent company
Loss Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 5, 2017
FM Global is the top property loss prevention company in the world. It's employees are carefully chosen to fit the type of environment in which it works. As a large mutual insurance company it has very good benefits, typical to a company that has been around for over 100 years. They are based on long term employment. The typical successful employee stays with the organization until they retire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAMay 2, 2017
FM Global was a great place to start in the industry as their training and corporate culture set the bar very high. Advancement is difficult for non-engineers, but not impossible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Great company focused on mitigating clients' loss exposure"
Salesforce Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johnston, RIApril 12, 2017
Very stable company.
Good compensation with incentive (not included in CTC)
Knowledge driven.Great benefits package including pension, 401k match, health insurance, dental insurance, vision insurance, and parental leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate culture with incredibly structured IT department
Windows 7 Migration Technician (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIApril 8, 2017
My brief experience with this company impressed me in their benefits, treatment of employees, facilities and opportunities. Beautiful corporate offices and seemingly content workforce
Pros
High class management and facilities
Cons
I was only there on a temporary contract. No chance to see any downside
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture and Flexible Work
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  Johnston, RIFebruary 15, 2017
The culture here is something very special. All employees are dedicated to resilience and preventing risk for the clients. Everyone enjoys coming to work every day. The benefits are wonderful and compensation is fair. FM Global values work-life balance with programs for flexible work and compressed work weeks.
Pros
food, culture, managers, benefits
Cons
lack of entry level positions in some departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 22Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good company to work for
Senior Consultant Engineer (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAFebruary 5, 2017
Consultant engineers perform field work that is very complex. Company car and tablet are provided. Training, both in classroom and in the field is extremely detailed. Expectations are very high.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place, no one is "chained" to their desks
Reporting Data/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIJanuary 25, 2017
Management is key for an excellent work environment. This they delivered in spades. Job requests were easily completed.
Pros
No micro management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 26Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work places
UI Developer (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIJanuary 19, 2017
wherever you work we should make all efforts for the company and do hard work always. place is not an big issue if we have an facilities we should better to relocate any where. the hardest part of the job is when we do work stress if we not get an incentives we should not concentrate on work. we enjoy only work if we work hard for the company it will growing up, that is the big enjoy part.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Workday Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johnston, RIJanuary 9, 2017
It was really nice working there
people there are very friendly
I learned a lot while working there
Co-Workers are pretty freindly
I enjoy each and every moment
Management is very good
There was no typical day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 21Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
MULTIMEDIA MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Johnston, RINovember 17, 2016
Good place to work if you have a background in Engineering and Insurance. Very relaxed atmosphere with many, many long term employees. People have spent their whole careers at FM Global.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Workday consultant (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIOctober 20, 2016
It was really nice working there
people there are very friendly
I learned a lot while working there
Co-Workers are pretty freindly
I enjoy each and every moment
Management is very good
There was no typical day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 20Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and interactive work place
ETL Developer (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RISeptember 27, 2016
everyone are very supportive and has a lot of learning experience.Flexible to work.Fun to work with FM Global.The business is also really vast and a lot of free to express thought of nature
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Manager/Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RISeptember 17, 2016
A typical day at work: Arrive between 7:30 & 8:00 (my start time.)
Phones would already be ringing since we are a Global company. With the type of insurance we handled it was very confidential in nature and we made sure it was kept that way. When not on the phone customers would visit our private work area, or offices for an explanation of coverages. Particularly the people from Europe since they purchase insurance differently in other countrie.. It was a very busy atmosphere.

The company has excellent benefits; sick days, vacation days, flex time, 2 personal days, a gym , walking paths, excellent salary, long term disability coverage. FMG is a big supporter of the United way. During the fund raising time, they had various fun activ

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my client base. That I loved.

I also worked with great Account Supervisors who were very knowledgeable of day to day operations and kept things moving.

The best part of my job was interacting with people and providing assistance to those new to the U.S. I simply loved it.

The hardest part of the job me was setting objectives for the year and meeting them. Also difficult was my initial budget exposure, getting reports from Finance and becoming familiar with all the lines on the report.

What I learned: Our CEO was the best. Also, being a multi-cultural company I learned so much from the various people I met regarding their cultures and concerns. I met people from London, Sweden, Australia, and every office where FMG set up location.

There is so much I learned
  more... it would be impossible to write it all down.

But I always refer people to the Company.
  less
Pros
A cafe where you can get coffe, tea, snacks all day.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Windows System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIAugust 16, 2016
Great company with many opportunities for advancement. Excellent benefits and competitive pay along with a great employees make this a great place to land.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for anyone that's a loner and loves the open road
Jurisdiction Inspector (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAAugust 8, 2016
Great place to work for anyone that's a loner and loves the open road
Great Pay, Great Benefits
Excessive travel near zero office community
Pros
Great Pay, Great Benefits
Cons
Excessive travel near zero office community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Network Security Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIMarch 31, 2016
A good experience but at the same time it was comfortable but not exciting work. If you want a place to settle down this is that kind of company but if you want to be in a fast paced environment this is not it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant Runoff Operations
Claims Examiner / Consultant (Current Employee) –  Waltham, MASeptember 11, 2015
I would come in and make sure e-mails are answered, filing is down, work on project assigned to make sure to meet dead lines. I loved coming to work everyday enjoyed working with management and staff! working independently and solving any problem that would come up. I am ready for new and exciting chapter to begin.
Pros
flexible schedule, co-workers
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security, great benefits, negative culture
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Johnston, Rhode IslandSeptember 8, 2015
Hard to get to fired
Understaffed and Overworked
Management promoted due to tenure and not skills
gossip and backstabbing encouraged. Very political atmosphere.
If you are looking to advance this is NOT the place for you.
Nice vacation package, great benefits, 401k, health insurance
Pros
Pensions, 401k, Vacation and sick days
Cons
No Growth, highly micromanaged, a LOT of gossip, promoted based on who you know
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and supportive employer
Jurisdictional Inspector (Current Employee) –  Norwood, MAAugust 27, 2015
Excellent employer
Outstanding resources and support
Ability to work independently and efficient
Frequent contact with co-workers "networking"
Day to day visit accounts to perform jurisdictional inspections within state laws of boilers and pressure vessels
Pros
lease car, alll expenses, flexible schedule
Cons
......................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work. always fun picinics.
Sr. Computer Operator / Supervisor of Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Johnston, RIAugust 20, 2015
Worked 2nd shift. Ran jobs on computer, worked with great co-workers. Hardest part of job was some of the technical skills. I was able to program some of the jobs which increased my skills. Enjoyed working with all of my co-workers.
Pros
401K savings opportunities.
Cons
Short breaks and short vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FM Global. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 109 reviews
550
433
318
25
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss