Food City Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst job I have worked at.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 23, 2018
The manager was very rude and did not say a reason as to why I could not work anymore. I did at least try my best to continue working correctly. Even though I called in some days, I know that should not of being a reason as to why I got laid off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Knoxville (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 17, 2018
This is a typical retail job. My location is one of the more busy ones. Overall I like my coworkers, most are pretty laid back but still know how to get their jobs done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for full-time job-seekers
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dandridge, TNMay 17, 2018
Good jobs for people of fixed incomes from August to May and for high school kids from June until August. If you are seeking full-time work, this is not the place. Their flexible hours are not guaranteed unlike they advertise.
Pros
Good jobs - for part-time workers
Cons
Nothing available for full-time workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marion, VAMay 15, 2018
It was a good job for night school students but when you need more hours and money it’s not a places to be at. Or if you’re in college not the place for you.
Pros
The new people that you meet everyday
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for High School
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Maynardville, TN 37807May 12, 2018
The pay is not great, and when it comes to scheduling management may not listen. However, if you need a different shift taken, it is easy to switch with a co-worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 9, 2018
I have been at food city over 4 years and it was an ok place to work, your pay will not go much a year maybe 10 cents, and most of the managers aren't helpful.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, GAMay 9, 2018
food city has amazing people to work with and for. food city is a great company and they are very helpful to their community.
it is always steady paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Pro Fresh Pack Coor (Current Employee) –  Morristown, TNMay 7, 2018
It's okay to work and I like my job but didn't like the treatments. it makes me unhappy. good for part time job and its flexible hours. Would it be nice if my manager is matured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNMay 6, 2018
Great atmosphere and managment was outstanding. I learned alot of leadership skills. I was in charge of production and tending to all customers while keeping track of inventory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grocery store
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 1, 2018
foodcity was my very first job when i was only 14years old and i was only a bagger and could work 15hrs weekly.
it is a great first job however as you advance there they always like to hire within.
Pros
good breaks
Cons
pay, management, unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Food City?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 30, 2018
Daily I would make sure I had my register cleaned and I got my money drawer balance my drawer. Helped my costumers, help out my coworkers with stocking up the shelves, greeting customers, had a supportive supervisor. The best thing of working there was providing the customers with great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Perishable Grocery Manager (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TNApril 26, 2018
Wasn’t a bad place to work. Pay was a little lower than what should be expected. Management was hit and miss. Had one manager who would cuss me out for others not getting their work done. I didn’t want to leave but wanted to at the same time.
Pros
Scheduling
Cons
Pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
courtesy clerk (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85037April 23, 2018
This place was a great first job until the management started changing and certain managers definitely had their favorites and priorities, inconsistent hours non flexible
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Scanning Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Jonesborough, TNApril 22, 2018
Overall Food City is a great place to work at. There is a very relaxed atmosphere. Co workers generally work together to get the job done. Has great benefits.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job.
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNApril 19, 2018
This was my first job. It was certainly a learning experience. Looking back on it now, the management was rude and unethical. However, they do give a lot of kids their first jobs.
Pros
Discounts.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 18, 2018
the company can offer better benefits to it's part time employees, and more paid holidays considering that their open through the holidays. But, other than that I like working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly enviroment.
Front End Manager (Current Employee) –  Kingsport, TNApril 18, 2018
FoodCity is a Friendly place of employment. They work well with school age kids giving them the opportunity of having a job while either in high school or while going to college.
Pros
Works with school children including special needs kids.
Cons
Not many hours for part time employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Galax, VAApril 18, 2018
Work can be hectic. Management is attentive to any problems or issues you may have, Not very workplace cultivated. Hardest part closing. Customers joy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better have you a plan B
Night Stocker (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNApril 16, 2018
It's okay as something to get you by, but you have to stay focused on your long term goals, it is difficult to get ahead, be prepared to work your butt off ....
Pros
Good benefits for full time employees
Cons
No set schedule, 1 on 1 0ff, etc....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized and stressful enviornment
Day Stock Superviosr (Former Employee) –  Elizabethton, TNApril 15, 2018
A typical day of work, I would work back stock or unload the truck. I would have several opportunities to assist customers with questions or complaints. At times the workload is very heavy and at other times it is quite slow. The best part of the job was the freedom and independence that I had to run my department. The most challenging part was keeping everything organized considering the amount of product received each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food City. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 712 reviews
5213
4251
3167
248
133

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture