Food Lion Employee Reviews

Found 6,493 reviews matching the search See all 6,504 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJune 16, 2018
Food Lion was a chill place to work at, I enjoyed my coworkers and management. But I especially enjoyed working with the customers some of the customers I even bonded with and got to know personally. It was a great job to have.
Pros
customers were nice
Cons
no discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great places to work
Store Associate (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Grantsboro, NCJune 16, 2018
Working at food lion you learn how to deal with people from all walks of life .The pay is decent and hours may vary . Management was very helpful and understanding when helping my work my school schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food lion
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Onley, VAJune 16, 2018
Food lion is a good job for people who have little job experience, but i do not think that it is what u wanna do with your life for a long time. it is not a career, it is just a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat OK experience
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDJune 15, 2018
I started working for Food Lion as a teen. For the first year and a half I loved working there. After that management was terrible and I dreaded going to work. I unfortunately had to leave my position due to having a child.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Green Cove Springs, FLJune 15, 2018
Food Lion had great equipment. We were paid by the hour. The management staff were ex-drivers so they were aware of what the drivers had to deal with.
Pros
Home daily
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hands-on, collaborative, reasonable pay.
Store Conditioner (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJune 15, 2018
I get in, do my job and I get out. Jobs are pretty simple and require a repetitive workflow, which is something that I excel at. It doesn't usually make me feel stressed, and it's probably the least stressful point of my day, which is quite ironic. The employees and managers are very friendly and kind, willing to help out when needed, and always helps keep us accountable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Hinesville, GAJune 15, 2018
Very fast paced, its very essential to keep up with customers. You have to train and have a very good memory. Good people to work with. Variety of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and slow-paced work environment
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Newton, NCJune 15, 2018
Typical day consists of stocking, blocking, and organizing. Repetitive after awhile, but it is fun and keeps you busy. Management was
awesome; simple as "do your work to the best you can = they will like you."
Pros
easy, fun
Cons
30 minute lunches, no part time benefits (besides vacation/sick pay)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work for
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCJune 15, 2018
6 AM Unload truck
630 Organize cooler, rotate product
645 Cull and bring out fresh produce
7 Have the store prepared for customers to come in
throughout they day face products in the department
check inventory status
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviornment, i was happy.
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJune 15, 2018
I loved working for this company, i hated to leave my customers and my co-workers. I was very happy working here i loved my customers and the food was always fresh, and we always had good deals on the meats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense work enviroment with adequate reward for effort
Procurement Manager / Buyer (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCJune 15, 2018
Food Lion was a great place to work. Challenging yet rewarded for your effort. Teamwork was encouraged from the clerk position always up through senior management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many changes and lack of communication
DSD RLT Trainer (Current Employee) –  Mount Jackson, VAJune 14, 2018
Not enough communication. Not enough constants. Some bullying. Poor management. Poor salary and compensation. Employees not treated right. Rough work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Food Lion
Sales Associate / Pricing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Leonardtown, MDJune 14, 2018
I loved working at Food Lion. All the customers and employees were all so nice. I got to see all my family members that lived near the store. It was always busy so the day went by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a desirable place to work
Office Feast Associate (Former Employee) –  Hampstead, NCJune 14, 2018
Even though I enjoyed most of my coworkers, the work environment could be very negative and frustrating. Customers were very rude sometimes and only fueled this environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people in a good area
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NCJune 14, 2018
Long nights, and hard work with a great group of people. Spent most shifts working at night, unloading and loading the truck and then putting the product on the shelves.
Pros
Strong Management
Cons
unpaid lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Yanceyville, NCJune 14, 2018
Stressful environment, inconsistent. Management is biased towards certain people. Unrealistic expectations. Work and rules are never persistent enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NCJune 14, 2018
You don’t get many hours working there but it’s a fun place. Everyone gets along well and the only bad part is how many hours you get per week........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Lead (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJune 14, 2018
It was easy going , sometimes fun , face pace ....
They work with your hours and they are good at hiring .i would let people get their own idea or experience from working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great first job, or a job for those looking to work part time being around lots of people.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Indian Trail, NCJune 13, 2018
Food Lion is a great place to work. It is my first job, and I have learned so much while being here. The people are friendly, and there's always someone to help you when it's needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Harrisonburg, VAJune 13, 2018
Super fast paced environment, especially during evenings, weekends, and holidays. Overall a positive workplace and extremely flexible when it comes to working while in school (high school or college)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Food Lion. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 6,509 reviews
51.8K
42.1K
31.7K
2520
1358

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight