Formosa Plastics Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 53 reviews
Ratings breakdown
515
416
313
24
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 53 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok job to have at the time
Operator (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXJuly 11, 2018
The unit was old and junky the company would not spend any money
Lots of Manuel labor it was all about how strong your back was not how good your head was
Very clickish you were either in or out no in between
Was very glad when I left and went to flint Hills
Pros
It was good to have employment
Cons
Intense Manuel labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator
Operator (Former Employee) –  Port Lavaca, TXJune 22, 2018
Enjoyed my time being there and learn a lot about being a operator. Learn the ins and out of chemical plant and the daily routines of running a plant in operations.
Pros
Operator sauve
Cons
Management don’t relate to operators
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Associate (Current Employee) –  New Castle, DEJune 8, 2018
Pay is good, overtime is required, which is nice for your pocket but not nice for your work/life balance. Job is very stable. It is a big company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Treatment
Millwright (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXMay 22, 2018
Maintenance Employees are treated as less than human and expected to work overtime without any notice or planning. If you have a complaint against the company or if you notice them doing something wrong and report it to them they will Punish you for breaking rank.
Pros
Pay for the Area
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXApril 22, 2018
Job security is good for the most part. Not a whole lot of room for advancement. Management is not the best. Pay is about middle of the road compared to industry average. Health care benefits are pretty decent. They have a pension plan, but it is not the best. One plus is that you are vested after 3 years.
Pros
Health Care
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company, Expansion in all Units
Senor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXMarch 27, 2018
At Formosa Plastics USA, shift operators work a 12 hr rotating shift scheduled. There are four shifts that rotate on a four week day/ night work cycle. The first set of the cycle includes a Monday thru Thursday work week. The shift starts at 06:00 and ending on Thursday at 18:00.
I arrive at work 45mins early to make relief and also to enjoy a cup or two of fresh brewed coffee. You can get a lot of information about the previous shift conditions just by sipping and listening.
After the completion of the first set of the 12 hr days four day week. I look forward to a needed 7 days off. The days off fly by quickly, because of needed attention to family life and leisure activities.
The second set of the cycle starts Friday night, 18:00 thru Tuesday morning 06:00. This set is the most difficult and taxing on mentally staying alert around operational conditions.
After this set of nights, the third set of the cycle starts on Friday for thee consecutive days ending on Sunday at 18:00. This completes the third set and look forward to Monday off.
The fourth set of the work cycle starts after the day off on Tuesday night 18:00 thru Friday morning 06:00. That weekend scheduled off and that concludes the four week work cycle.
This schedule is demanding and overtime is required when needed to cover call ins on the other three shifts,
I have great respect for my coworkers, we are all very close and treat each other like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training ground
Sr. Buyer (Former Employee) –  Livingston, NJJanuary 14, 2018
Formosa is a privately owned company with limited career advancement opportunity unless you are family members or close friends. Is a male-dominated culture, rarely see female managers. The company is very focused on separation of duties. There is no useless meetings to discuss strategies or metrics. The entire company is mainly focused on generating results and profit, everything else are secondary. Each function can focus on what they do the best.
Pros
Great health benefits. Almost life time job security. Family oriented.
Cons
Low pay. No career advancement. Chinese is dominate language
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a continuously rewarding place to work .
CELL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXJanuary 3, 2018
A typical day for me with this company was also anything but typical. Most days I had no idea what I was scheduled to do until I arrived. Later on however I was chosen to be part of a specialized group and things later became fairly routine from there. I learned many things on the job mostly dealing in tools and equipment however. The management during my employment was incredible, I have absolutely zero complaints. The workplace culture was definitely friendly although safety was absolutely first. The workplace environment was a very potentially dangerous one to be in. The hardest part for me working there was the long hours in the scorching heat . The most enjoyable thing about being there all in all was the whole experience. I truly enjoyed this job and everyone that I worked with at the time.
Pros
Staff were treated amazing and everyone just clicked together, something very rare in my opinion.
Cons
Only the lack of free time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Senior Leader (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TX 77978December 27, 2017
Formosa is a large industrial plant that offers competitive salaries and excellent medical and dental benefits as well as 401K and a pension plan, in a fast paced environment.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxx
Purchasing / Contracting Agent I & II (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LADecember 21, 2017
They would not allow women to advance to supervisor/management positions. No respect for hard work.

Love what I did. Loved working with contractors and vendors in an effort to better the plant as a whole
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Instrumentation/Electrician (Current Employee) –  delaware city, delawareDecember 19, 2017
good company too work for great cast of employee.lesarned a lot there.Work place is very good on keeping production moving along. There no hard points about the job.
Pros
good location
Cons
on cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXDecember 13, 2017
A good place for people with out plant experience to get hired in.decent pay scale. Starting pay is decent. A good place to get experience. Job stability.
Pros
Good starting pay
Cons
No accountability for employees that don't do there job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start
Process Operator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXDecember 4, 2017
Again i think this is a stupid step within indeed.com
oh well here is another useless survey about a place i put behind me for a reason. why would i have so much to say?
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace culture.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 29, 2017
I find that people who manage and or supervise at chemical plants and or refineries tend to be intimidated by folks with education greater to or equal to their own. Instead of them properly placing folks with said educational levels in the proper settings to benefit mutually, they prefer to use good ole boy networks in today's marketplace and that system is not working today.
Pros
Stable workplace or should i say industry.
Cons
Pay not up to industry standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Process/Production Engineer (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXNovember 2, 2017
As a graduate, it was a great place to start my first professional job. I have learned a lot there. If i did not have to relocate i would have stayed there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Fire Watch (Former Employee) –  Port Lavaca, TXOctober 17, 2017
It was ok to work in the people ate very nice sweet and helpful they would help me get around when I would get lost because the plant is to big and safety one the number one key
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not for everyone
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXSeptember 17, 2017
This job is a rotating shift schedule. Say goodbye to your personal life. They pay very well however. Paid time off is decent. Starting hourly rate is around $27 and goes up by 3% per year with a cost of living raise. Its not a bad job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carefree
Chemical Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Comfort, TXAugust 5, 2017
they have absolutely no care for their employees! they would rather wait until someone gets hurt to fix something than to shut down and make repairs safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement. Great place to work.
Finance Administrator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 20, 2017
A typical work day is steady, never a dull moment. I have learned so many different aspects of my career field being that my supervisor is beyond genius. Management is well organized and willing to teach and learn more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as contractor
ENVIRONMENTAL AIR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Port Lavaca, TX 77979June 29, 2017
Safety culture lacking. As a contractor I came across many dangerous locations that I felt I could not do my job properly. Was there for only a short time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport