Forward Air Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Need Respect and Appreciation, Don’t Work Here
Office Worker (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHMay 15, 2018
Organized chaos can usually work itself out in times of change. However, unorganized chaos coupled with a disfunctional management team made the environment very toxic and favoritism based.
Pros
Consistent hours
Cons
Rude, gossipy employees and a nonchalant management staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Truck Driver / Router / Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2018
drove a truck to make deliveries
worked in the office to route trucks and drivers
had medical issues leading to me not being able to keep my job

would go back
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this job for long term
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILMay 7, 2018
The work, coworkers were great and the job was enjoyable. Worked there for 8 years but a new manager took over and anything changed. Many people were let go that had many years with the company. It became impossible to satisfy the new manager.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
When your pay goes up after years of service you are replaced
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but no hours
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 7, 2018
The forward air in Montgomery, AL has no hours at all. I literally worked 2 hours every three days. I went to my manager to ask for more but I was laid off 2 days after. They have started hiring again with the same amount of hours. Do not work here in Montgomery AL, complete waste of time.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
No hours available at all
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, poor management
Cargo Handler (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 6, 2018
Work work work, supervisors are rotated and changed monthly. Poor advancement, no recognition. Breaks are challenged, pointless meetings, topics repeated. Great part time job, not worth full time.
Pros
Always some kind of work, benefits, vacation
Cons
Management, incompetent supervisors, advancement, recognition
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy lifting and low pay
Traffic Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 30, 2018
You'd probably be better off working for Amazon. Lots of driving and too much carrying of items into mall shops. Very disorganized system. Tracking and computer system terribly outdated.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Haphazard system for routing and tracking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Clayton, NCApril 22, 2018
I learned a lot its a great work place u learn how to be organized the mangers are really good people they would come to the floor and work with you when you need help everything is really easy about the job there nothing hard about it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 20, 2018
I drove for a contractor, I was not a company employee,I was home everyother day the reason I left there was no benefits but the pay was fair. I hear employees of Forward Air get great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and work Environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDApril 17, 2018
I enjoyed working here. I liked the job that was asked of me. I learned a lot about logistics. The hardest part of the job was the different languages that you encounter on the daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 10, 2018
it was a fun and relaxing place to work the coworkers and management got along excellent i would recommend this job to everyone who does labor cant wait to get back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s all lies
Dock Worker (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  GeorgiaApril 7, 2018
They boost your head up during the interview but when you actually start working for them it’s a huge let down the hours are terrible and they will blame you for their mistakes everyone in the office has no clue as to what they’re doing they sent me home told me not to come back and months later they send me a letter saying I abandoned the job I wouldn’t even recommend this job to my greatest enemy
Pros
No
Cons
Management, poor training, favoritism, lazy supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 3, 2018
Multiple managers made this a hard place to move up. We were profitable and still our supervisors and workers were let go. They made supervisors cut staff and work long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Shipping & Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 2, 2018
it was a ok job i just didnt like it i dont like working there and im glad i found anther job and that is all i can stay for now so i just glad i moved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to work for free this is the job for you!!!
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 31, 2018
As a company driver, Forwardair soluiton will use you up. you will work about 10-14 hours a day, your pay is based off of a set zone pay.or 18% of your truck. to get the 18% you are going to have about 800-1000 boxes you are going to have to deliver by hand. This is a touch freight job, but you still want even make 300 hundred dollars for the day of work. you work quick 10, meaning you go home and come back in 10 hours no home life. all deliveres are made on window times,if you are late to them to much they will be ready to fire you. all the class B trucks have high miles they always break down.when you have a heavy case day you will not get any help they dont believe in team work. they dont have good equipment to work with to move the freight. when Christmas come they want you to work 6 days straight for three months. the dispatcher sucks there what ever the owner/operator dont want they put it on your truck and make your day longer. your start times will be 2AM-3to4 is when you will get off. mangement will not have your back, i repeat mangement will not have your back. and its a lot more ( BS) you will go through as well. so you will have to work there to see for your self. but i wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. thats on the FORWARD AIR SOLUITON side.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
pay, poor bonus pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early hours but great job
Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXMarch 30, 2018
The job starts between 3 and 4 am. You have to work quickly at each stop to unload your boxes so your not late to the next store. They don't like waiting
Pros
pay
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack on managerial guidance and ability
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Groveport, OHMarch 28, 2018
Management is very lax and not a lot of care given to work place culture. Continual changes make it hard to meet performance expectations. No opportunity for advancement, even when senior in department and voiced interest in more responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is physical
Cargo Handler (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 25, 2018
It's an alright work environment although there is a lot of changes in the personnel and the work is physical we do a lot of walking an average of 8-10 miles a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cargo sorting
Dock Operations Lead (Former Employee) –  Clayton, NCMarch 22, 2018
I loved the work and the employees ..fast paced get the truck in and get the truck out boom boom boom...a lot like a sweat shop...only breaks are when freight is running behind
Pros
none
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staggering
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City MOMarch 20, 2018
If you're young with a strong back and no sense of compensation for the unbelievable amount of work you're going to do than this is the job for you. More Temps going through there than a ghetto high school. Just another company trying to pay as least as possible for a STAGGERING amount of work!!!!
Pros
Free water.
Cons
They need to hire some.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant people and place to work
(Truck Driver) Owner Operator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 13, 2018
typical day would start at 10 pm eat dinner complete truck inspection and start driving. I have learned to be cautious on the highways and look for unsafe drivers. Work place is very easy to learn people are friendly and courteous. Hardest part of the job is driving in snow. Most enjoyable is driving cross country.
Pros
open to new ideas
Cons
time off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Forward Air. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 345 reviews
566
482
377
246
174

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.7Culture