Forward Air Employee Reviews

Found 358 reviews matching the search See all 362 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OH 43125July 17, 2018
This job was physically demanding. The hours varied quite a bit. I would work first shift Wednesday through Friday and then third shift on Saturdays. Also, this was a lot of overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
redpetan al chofer
Chofer (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 16, 2018
Buen trabajo. Todo el año. Vacaciones al elegir. Buen trato
Pros
hay cargas
Cons
noche
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to wrok
Brokerage Specialist (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHJuly 5, 2018
Fantastic company with numerous departments to find the right career path. Time off isnt the best in comparison to other companies but overall I would recommend FAF to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work standards
Dock worker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 3, 2018
At the time, this work place was not a good place to work at. There was no management supervision, long hours, and no time off. We hardly got any raises and the work load was overbearing for the pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive very fast paced
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJuly 2, 2018
never given enough hours to qualify for their benefits , no chance for advancement, very dirty working enviroment, unqualified leads, they pick n choose favorites, not fair, 30min. lunch & thats it!! write ups for bathroom breaks , 2 10min. breaks given 2 times within a 6 month period HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!!! VERY careless with customer product/packages absolutly no care for the handling of fragile packages
Pros
short days okay pay
Cons
poor managment, no advancment, no benefits, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy, fast work, very busy
Cargo Handler (Former Employee) –  Grapevine, TXJune 29, 2018
I was at this company for quite a while. It was a fast paced environment with lots of work everyday. For someone like me five feet tall the work was kind of heavy so for that reason i left.
Pros
long break
Cons
early morning 5-6 am
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was like family
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 28, 2018
Until corporate came in and done away with 5 of the staff, one day I just didnt have a job and it was heartbreaking after 6 yrs of service, but the time I did spend there I developed a family in the office we got our work done we had fun but we took our jobs seriously...
Pros
business casual dress/ jeans on friday
Cons
lots of brake dust from the forklifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Expedited Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INJune 24, 2018
This would be a great place to work if you are not looking to advance your career. They don't seem to base advancement off proven work ability, but rather who you know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 18, 2018
I enjoyed working here. It's a productive place to work. It's a great environment. In the summer it was typically hot and really cold in the winter. The workers and management was awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHJune 17, 2018
All this company will do is work you like a dog the management dos not care about you at all the only good thing about this place is load side it seems like no one gets applicable training
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co to work for not that much room for advancement at manager level.
Dispatcher/Airlines Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 16, 2018
Great co to work for just no room for advancement.People that work are all long term they have been there ten , fifteen even twenty years.They have made a career in forward air, they are now mid age so they are not going anywhere .That is the only reason why there is no room for advancement in the near future. unless you are willing to relocate.In my case is not something I can do right now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and fun involved by all.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Greeneville, TNJune 14, 2018
I learned that when you work hard, you will be rewarded for what you do. Everyone helped when needed and never gave up when it was a tough road to follow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some what decent place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 10, 2018
Sometimes unsafe, very dirty place employees should wear respirators with the fumes from all the forklifts. When we work 16 hours employees didn’t get the breaks desired.
Pros
Pays good
Cons
Overworked no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its what you make it as an owner op
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 3, 2018
Forward air is not for rookies. As long as your on time, safe, and willing to work they will let you as long as hours permit. As an O/O YOU are completely responsible for the amount of $$$ you make. Many drivers stay for 10 + years. Dedicated opportunities are available based on seniority and safety. This has been by far my best experience driving for a company.
Pros
You control your schedule
Cons
A lot of changes in your driving schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Room for advancement & job stability poor
Contract Airfreight Driver, Pick (Former Employee) –  Jfk areaMay 17, 2018
Nobody stay working for the company, salary does not compete with the market in the area, low wages, and poor management...
If you on schedule and the job slow down, you have to clock out, so you might not even make your 40 hours....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Need Respect and Appreciation, Don’t Work Here
Office Worker (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHMay 15, 2018
Organized chaos can usually work itself out in times of change. However, unorganized chaos coupled with a disfunctional management team made the environment very toxic and favoritism based.
Pros
Consistent hours
Cons
Rude, gossipy employees and a nonchalant management staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Truck Driver / Router / Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2018
drove a truck to make deliveries
worked in the office to route trucks and drivers
had medical issues leading to me not being able to keep my job

would go back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend this job for long term
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILMay 7, 2018
The work, coworkers were great and the job was enjoyable. Worked there for 8 years but a new manager took over and anything changed. Many people were let go that had many years with the company. It became impossible to satisfy the new manager.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
When your pay goes up after years of service you are replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but no hours
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 7, 2018
The forward air in Montgomery, AL has no hours at all. I literally worked 2 hours every three days. I went to my manager to ask for more but I was laid off 2 days after. They have started hiring again with the same amount of hours. Do not work here in Montgomery AL, complete waste of time.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
No hours available at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, poor management
Cargo Handler (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 6, 2018
Work work work, supervisors are rotated and changed monthly. Poor advancement, no recognition. Breaks are challenged, pointless meetings, topics repeated. Great part time job, not worth full time.
Pros
Always some kind of work, benefits, vacation
Cons
Management, incompetent supervisors, advancement, recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Forward Air. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 362 reviews
570
487
381
249
175

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.7Culture