Forward Air Employee Reviews

Found 454 reviews matching the search See all 458 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and cut throat
Forklift / Dock Lead (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXSeptember 18, 2018
Company was very unorganized. A lot of manager favorite employee and no fair treatment. No room for advancement. Hard atmosphere to work due to the scattered brain management not prepared for the day. No one ever gave directions for the day.
Pros
Convient location
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is very stressful
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GASeptember 13, 2018
No hours to be made, and lack of work daily. Its dead end, the work they'll have you do doesn't match what they pay. Its unorganized and is a little racily divided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management/ work you to the bone
Driver (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYSeptember 13, 2018
The company promises you everything and delivers on none.
You start at all different times in the morning. One day it 7am and then the next day you will start at 3 am. They tell you you won’t work more then 10 hours a day and you work 12-14 hours pushing you DOT time limit. Equipment is broken and it’s first come first serve basis, so if you’re scheduled at 6am you get broken equipment. The warehouse can’t pack a truck at all. Everything should be pelletized and wrap well. In New York they take 25% of your paycheck in taxes.
And it took them 3 weeks before I even started.
I highly recommend you don’t apply for this company
Pros
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, fast paced environment
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GASeptember 11, 2018
Dock workers are like family and definitely impact the warehouse production. Along with very key employees overall experience was great but the pay wasn't enough. This job would be fit for anyone wanting to start out in the warehouse industry.
Pros
You rarely have to get off of your Forklift (Sit-Down)
Cons
Management is Unfair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor company to work for
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, GASeptember 7, 2018
company is no good to work for. the managers don't know their jobs and they all have no lack of drive. the people that work there are complicated in their work ethics
Pros
you do what you want
Cons
work is done half the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly staffed and poor work environment at San Antonio location
Sorter/Unloader (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 30, 2018
The management is forceful on coming into work no compassion for life situations that might prevent you from coming in. Short staffed and forces vets. To pick up the slack. They lie bout what’s expected and breaks and a lot of other stuff
Pros
Money was good
Cons
Short breaks for extremely long hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No. Good
Forklift operator/Dock worker (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 28, 2018
Bad place didn’t like iit. Good that you can learn forklift but the work is grueling the people there are prett good people, I liked the guys I worked with.The pay was to low and it seemed unlikely that you could make a career there.
Pros
Learn forklift
Cons
Depressing place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Package Handler/Sorter (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAAugust 21, 2018
It was bread and butter had a lot of fun workin there packin truck u loading trucks usin a scanner I like working there the job came to any end worst day of my life
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No teamwork
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAAugust 19, 2018
3 terminal managers in and 11 month period. All 3 terminal managers identified the problem but for some strange reason they were unable to get rid of the person creating the click and creating a difficult work environment. Someone not at the station calling the shots based on gossip.
Pros
Great manager
Cons
Mafia environment preety evident but nothing done to get rid of the lazy cancer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is like bumper cars at the carnival mixed with jousting
Cmh production (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 14, 2018
They have no regard for safety contrary to what the training said. OSHA if you are reading this, this place is an easy bust. They take flashing lights and back up alarms off of all forklifts the equipment does not meet safety standards and employees are told not to use the horns because "its annoying to hear honking all day" as stated by the lead in charge of training.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about Forward Air?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, work you to death
dri er (Former Employee) –  atlanta, gaAugust 14, 2018
The dispatchers will give loads to friends and sit you if they can. They make alot of money but won't compensate their drivers. They hire a bunch of no driving people and oush out the veterans who helped them get started
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHAugust 14, 2018
Great company to work for. Benefits and work environment are good, provided your become part of a team with good management. Some managers are out of touch with every day operations and don't always know what is going on. Constructive feed back tends to fall more on the bullying and belittling side, then constructive or helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Nightmare
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALAugust 10, 2018
The leadership at this terminal is horrible. Disorganized, antiquated and extremely poor work culture. Tobacco use on the production floor and in the building, theft of customer product, drug and alcohol use on site. Training programs are faulty and shallow. Employee abuse. High risk environment.
Pros
Reasonable pay but nothing worth the pitfalls
Cons
The entire terminal needs to be overhauled. High risk
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Operations Manager/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCAugust 9, 2018
Managed daily routes and drivers. Management was easy to deal with. I learned and grew more with the air freight business. Quality driven work environment.
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management needs training
Load and Unload Associate (Current Employee) –  Groveport, OHAugust 6, 2018
management needs training.
no place to move within the management teams.
a suggestion system needs to be put in place.
not open to positive change.
supervision is pulled from production. they keep doing the same thin the same way overlooking cost and the feelings of the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an ok job if you dont have any kids or a wife
Dock hand/ forklift (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 6, 2018
when i first started there, i was married and didn't have a child. when my wife had our daughter, everything changed for me. the management made me choose later on that i needed to pretty much choose between my family or your job. obviously i chose my family. i didn't think that was the right thing for them to approach me with. i typical day there was stressful to say the least. unloading trucks in a timely manner was hard. then you have drivers coming in breathing down your neck needing freight so they can get going on the routes. but if you like a fast paced environment where it can get somewhat stressful, this is the job for you. but if you have kids, i don't recommend this job.
Pros
job security
Cons
forced to make it your 1st home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Cargo Handler (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, OHJuly 28, 2018
Don’t apply for this job, unless you want to be constantly cussed out, treated like a dog, and almost kill yourself working there. Management is so broken there, it’ll never be fixed. Horrible company.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, often stressful with high turnover rate due to non competitve salary.
Dock Worker/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Folcroft, PAJuly 28, 2018
If you're looking for mostly part time work at a high volume pace then this is the job for you. Getting fulltime is very difficult because people usually don't last.
Pros
Sometimes
Cons
Very short breaks if any at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save yourself some time and don’t bother with this place.
Cargo Handler (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJuly 27, 2018
Some guys are catered to and can be paid to stand around doing nothing. OSHA guidelines don’t mean anything to them. If you’re good at the job expect to be worked harder. If I had a mortal enemy I wouldn’t recommend this job to him. The Harrisburg terminal is one of the worst places I have ever worked at.
Pros
Sometimes they bring in pizza
Cons
A lot of cons, management is a big one
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bueno
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJuly 24, 2018
trabajo duro pero salarios bastante buenos jefes mas o menos
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Forward Air. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 458 reviews
592
4107
3103
263
193

See reviews about

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture