Fred's Employee Reviews

Found 1,245 reviews matching the search See all 1,253 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Good The Bad The Basic
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gaston, SCJanuary 15, 2019
its a usual retail store.
i ran the cash register while ensuring the entire store was spotless and cleaned and the shelved were stocked, I also helped with
"truck day" which for me was every Wednesday normally me
and my team members would take racks and u-boats and load them with heavy/light weight packages repetitively then take the racks and unload them onto shelves.
Pros
15-30 minute Lunch Break, Lockers, Break Room, Training.
Cons
Must Work Some/Most Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Pharmacy Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 14, 2019
Gained lots of new experience that I will use in my career. Found the customers more pleasant than at other retail jobs. overall a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bishopville, SCJanuary 14, 2019
freds was an good realaxing job, never ran out of work to do. I was alway busy. customers was nice and friendly. freds was an good paying job with good manager service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Donalsonville, GAJanuary 14, 2019
Clean environment nice customers pharmacy was always fully stocked nice coworkers one of the pharmacist was very kind
Received a raise every year overall a very nice place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freds fun place to work
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Charleston, MSJanuary 13, 2019
Freds was the best place to work when I worked there until 2004. I worked there for 10 years in different places. It was great. Learned alot about the retail business. The shipping and recieving of merchandise. Invoices, overages and shortages, damages, etc. That was the exicting part about Freds. Plus helping the customers in anyway possible. It was a life lesson.
Pros
Making Freds what it needed to be.
Cons
Be responsible for everyone and everything was not what I signed up for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hope, ARJanuary 12, 2019
The job taught me how to cope and talk to my customers and employees. I enjoyed everything about the job. With Fred’s being my first job, it taught me a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXJanuary 10, 2019
District manager came in and took over the store after manager resigned her position. However district manager belittled the entire staff while we were working. I felt i was left with no other choice than to leave. I had given notice two weeks prior that it would be my last day. I refused to take ridicule in front of my customers and my co-workers from a person that is in the position to know better.
I think as a district manager she should know better than to behave that way. Most especially in front of customers.
Pros
Good team of employees
Cons
District manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSJanuary 9, 2019
enjoyed working there, but was sold out. very flexible work schedule. 1 hour lunch. good benefits.. loved dealing with employees and customers. good work team. always put customers first and did what we could to make them happy so that they would return.
Pros
flexible schedule.
Cons
sold out pharmacy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ferriday, LAJanuary 9, 2019
great work environment I learned a lot my schedule was flexiable it gave me to time to take my kids to school and pick them up the hardest part was closing a t night with only me and a cashier
Pros
great schedule
Cons
working on holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Citronelle, ALJanuary 8, 2019
Co workers were great. Hours were great. Hated to leave but had something better come along. Manager wasn’t my biggest fan but we got along. Always kept the store clean and in order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Clarksdale, MSJanuary 8, 2019
They gave me a job at a very young age but worked with me and I was able to get my tech license which gave me better opportunities! so glad to work with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended
Appliance Technician (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAJanuary 6, 2019
Provides great opportunities to learn new skills and earn a livable wage for the area. Great job culture with good leadership. Product discounts for employees very beneficial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Operations Expert (Former Employee) –  Toccoa, GAJanuary 6, 2019
I liked my coworkers and my immediate manager. Regional manager was a complete toolbag but he didn't show up often. The pay was pretty terrible and while I was suppose to get paid time off, they never actually gave it to me and I never got the pay for it either.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good/bad
Registered Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee) –  Newport, TNDecember 31, 2018
It was a good place to work overall. Work/Life balance was great. In the end the company sold their pharmacies and hundreds of people lost jobs. Upper management seem to think this was the best thing ever. Upper management was given bonuses and others paid big bucks to leave the company. In my opinion, I think they lost their shirts and that Fred's will not be in business much longer.
Pros
Co-workers and direct supervisors were great
Cons
Upper management left you in the dark on everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to do better .
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marianna, ARDecember 29, 2018
Management needs help the head office doesn't give enough offers, the pay isn't worth it. They pay every two weeks but no overtime pay. Fred's needs big help fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Pharmacist in Charge (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaDecember 26, 2018
Fred's is a good place to work. While there are companies with better benefits, Fred's offer very competitive pay rates. Fred's offers opportunities to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Indianola, MSDecember 20, 2018
Nice and comfortable environment,no hard work as long as you're doing your job its hassle free.Nice management ,just not enough hours to get paid Bi-Weekly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at freds
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cochran, GADecember 18, 2018
I loved working at Fred's. The small company friendly people you get to know customers on a personal level instead of just another face in the crowd
Truck day was my favorite
Stocking the shelves organizing everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, and a great place to work.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  McMinnville, TNDecember 18, 2018
I've only worked for Fred's Pharmacy for a few months, but I learned so much. They where always eager to teach me, and more. Great management and employees!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Operations manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, TX 75840December 17, 2018
The company offered reasonable pay for the area, and opportunity for advancement. They were always well staffed and offered complete training, plus paid vacation and 20% discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fred's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,253 reviews
5352
4351
3319
2119
1112

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

1.0Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight