Freebirds World Burrito Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 19, 2018
Hard fast paced to work. Very busy during the day and a lot of work with catering. Great music listening while you work and or eat. No time to sit and relax unless on a break
Pros
Music
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Mentor/ Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJuly 14, 2018
Freebirds is a friendly environment with a dedication to customer service and having guests leave happy. Hardworking with a good drive towards success
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun entry level job
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 12, 2018
This was a very good entry level job for several reasons. It emphasized interactions with customers, had a good working community, and was an overall enjoyable job. You started with minimum wage, but could easily work or request higher pay. This has been my favorite job.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Can be tiresome dealing with people, standing, and talking all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a chill place
Builder (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 9, 2018
I liked working there. good people that helped me out. I worked hard pulled doubles took people's shifts I put in a lot of hard work. I was really good at my job and am looking to find employment.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for a temporary job
Front of House Employee (Current Employee) –  College Station, TXJuly 7, 2018
The managers are okay. General managers can't communicate well. The food was free at first and later changed that because of micromanagement by corporate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Grapevine, TXJuly 5, 2018
Freebirds hires a lot of younger people so it's generally an easier job than others. I learned a lot about food preperation and how to run a grill....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Granada Hills, CAJuly 5, 2018
Good experience, bad communication from upper management. A very relaxed place, no uniforms and good music. Lots of confused messaging from the top but the place itself is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Team Leader/Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  League City, TXJuly 3, 2018
The company itself was great, but the outside managers they hired WERE AWFUL!! Thy never seem to get why Freebirds was so great. for them it was always about the bottom line and never about the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freebirds life
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXJune 28, 2018
constant seriving people

food service skills

horrible management

workplace culture was great

hardest part was dealing with management

the people were the best part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co workers
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJune 26, 2018
I was the kitchen manager. I showed up at 7:45 a.m. and left anywhere between 3 p.m. - 5 p.m. I would cook and prep everything needed for my shift and start on the night prep if I could. I kept the kitchen clean and line stocked throughout the day. I was always trying to figure out ways to do things faster and easier.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Newer employees did not put in much effort so I was training constantly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for starter job!
Kitchen Manager/Cook (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 20, 2018
Satisfactory towards work distribution, mangement was relatively new and was learning while working. My personal experience was very helpful and did in fact teach me most of my management experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unenjoyable and very stressful and demanding.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mission, TXJune 18, 2018
Typical day at work, will consist of me doing many things all at once or else the managers will get mad. I will have to clean the tables, answer the phone, clean the bathrooms, restock the two teas and soda machines, sweep the floor, refill the cups of the customers, throw the trash, wash the trays and make sure they are dried and cleaned in the area to serve them. I will have to do all this within a time from of five to eight hours with breaks at times, this was tiring and exhausting to do all for one person especially in the lunch hour. The workplace culture was very laid back and relaxed, with one manager being very mean and aggressive to everyone. And the enjoyable part was making friends, and having a discount on a burrito.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, no benefits
PREP COOK (Former Employee) –  League City, TXJune 10, 2018
I made minimum wage when I worked here. Even supervisors barely made about $8/hr. The management was not great but depending on the store you work at may be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2018
Any and everything that it takes to run a high energy atmosphere.
getting know built a great crew and knowing my guest and getting involved in my community as much as possible.
Pros
guest
Cons
upper management sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,fast paced, well taken care of
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TXMay 22, 2018
Would open the store at 8:00 sharp.
Start all long cooking items.
Do all counts, temperatures, and produce.
Prep all items for night shift.
Do midday counts.
Detail clean entire kitchen
Do any dishes left from morning to middays
Do all hot food prep as well as help cold food prep with anything they need.
Help line employees with running customers through at our busiest times (11-1PM)

Learned a wealth of knowledge into Tex-Mex cooking
how to saute, bake, grill etc
line-work and detail cleaning
Management Skills/Training Procedures.

Management was friendly and we all worked together to build a stronger team.

Cooking the Spanish and Cilantro lime rice due to fragile toasting times.

Working hard alongside co-workers you care and strive to help better themselves and other employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made burritos
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXMay 17, 2018
It’s a very good place,very clean,friendly people. Didn’t have enough hours only problem. Managers are very friendly, coworkers are very nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changed over past 10 months
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 16, 2018
Freebirds at one point cared about its people. over the oast year the focus on people is not there or the support.this place is a joke now. We started closing early now too like 30 mins before.
Pros
get to sit around and take home all the food at closing
Cons
manager always eats
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An employee mill
Culinarian (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 2, 2018
Managers would often just sit in the back and not help. Employee retention was practically non-existent. The burden of the labor was mostly carried by senior employees as the rotation of new hires made them the only ones capable of sticking it through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its great
Cashier, back of house closer (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAMay 2, 2018
Freebirds is a great place to work if you are a teenager and or young adult and to work your way up! I am usually in the back of house doing dishes or running up and helping on line or prep the food!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Mission, KSApril 30, 2018
Not very busy. Employees liked it that way. They were very lazy. No one cared about cleaning or doing much of anything besides texting really. Sickening.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freebirds World Burrito. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 256 reviews
571
472
376
220
117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.2

3.0Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight