Freelancer.com Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place for writers.
Freelance Writer (Current Employee) –  Saint Johnsbury, VTJune 9, 2014
Time spent browsing job offers for writing projects, at whatever time one wants.

Self-managed.

I learned to govern my own work habits, and to appeal the needs of contract-makers.

The hardest part was the competition from all over the World, where the economy is different. Stiff competition.

The most enjoyable part was the self-made hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More productive, variant and really challenging.
3D Artist (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 19, 2014
What I liked about online freelance work is the following:
1- The pay is good and guaranteed.
2- Projects are more diverse and more challenging
3- Meeting clients from all parts of the world.
4- Eliminating the need for daily commute.

What I didn't like:
1- The inconsistency of work and pay.
2- The load of managing, executing and training is entirely on me to determine.
3- Most projects were done solo.

But I didn't find these points inconvenient, I welcomed the challenge and the change of pace and decided to take it as an opportunity for both professional and self development learning the various skills and concepts needed to become a successful artist.
Pros
The pay is good and guaranteed, Projects are more diverse and more challenging, Meeting clients from all parts of the world, Eliminating the need for daily commute.
Cons
The inconsistency of work and pay, The load of managing & executing and training is entirely on me to determine, Most projects were done solo.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online
Freelancer (Former Employee) –  NYJanuary 19, 2014
This platform provide us online jobs. Great competition to get the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Jobs to Bid on, offers testing in Areas that Employers look for most.
Freelance IT Seervices (Current Employee) –  Niles, MIMay 17, 2013
Bidding on jobs and projects I am experienced at. Logo Design, Website Graphic Design, Technical writing, Website Content.

It is not a conventional job so I do not work everyday.
Pros
Many jobs to choose from. Work from home.
Cons
Not a full time position, and work is not always steady.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to get experience
Proofreader/Editor (Former Employee) –  South Bend, IndianaApril 9, 2013
Freelancer is a great way to gain experience in a field when traditional means of on the job experience are not available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nanny
Mother's Helper/Nanny (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 12, 2013
Being a freelance Nanny is amazing. I get to create my own schedule and take care of children, which is one of the best jobs I've ever had. the most enjoyable part of my job is teaching children new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gets the gig
Freelance Writer/Graphic Design (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARMarch 2, 2013
I have done freelance writing and graphic design for about six years now, and utilizing Freelancer.com definitely made it less of a chore finding clients. Hundreds of new projects a day. The only thing is that it is difficult to get a good reputation through the site. Most clients tend to be over demanding and will leave poor reviews if you do not cater to their every whim (i.e. taking less money than negotiated pre-order). Other than that, great resource for the freelancer community.
Pros
new work every day, competative atmosphere
Cons
occasion overly demanding clients, client based reviews with little review from the site administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hard to Get Work
Software Article Author (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 4, 2013
It was very hard to find work once you start because you have no ratings and a lot of companies base off of that.
The small amount of work I did for this company I had to fight to get my payments
Pros
work from home
Cons
hard to get work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Freelancer.com reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freelancer.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 191 reviews
593
451
329
26
112

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss