Frischs Big Boy Employee Reviews for Cook

Found 31 reviews matching the search See all 604 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 23, 2018
Fun and productive different people to learn from and communicate with, need more pay for lead cooks that cover shifts and clean and cook and prep. The company is family oriented and hire felons and those with criminal background to give chances to those unfortunate due to their past and they also promote and encourage friendship and strong teamwork ethics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive fast outgoing place I loved the speed of cooking.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 30, 2018
Frisch was a fast cook to serve place it was my first ever cooking job and it showed me how to cook fast but still make my food and follow the steps of cooking.
Pros
Comfortable environment
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes stressful and understaffed
Cook (Former Employee) –  Huber Heights, OHOctober 11, 2018
Sometimes we would have only 2 cooks for dinner rush and low staffed across the entire business. Not the cleanest or safest work area. Very misunderstanding
Pros
Discount
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Competitive
Cold Side Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 9, 2018
Job was very competitive. Employees we're very disrespectful, had no manners. Managers cut hours for personal reasons. Pay was not good compared to hours given.
Pros
I was getting paid to work.
Cons
Stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
COOK (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceburg, INAugust 7, 2018
Great work environment. Easy commute to work. Management and staff worked well together. Atmosphere was fun. Although I do not work for this employer anymore, I would recommend others to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 30, 2018
It was a very hard job at times. Being short staffed at crucial periods. Management didn't hold people accountable for quality of food being served. Did get Serv Safe certified though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 12, 2017
I like the pace . People where helpful and i learned a great deal there. It was great place too meet people and lern the fine art of cooking at a fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Maysville, KYOctober 11, 2017
The rushes were hectic, trying to listen to everyone tell you what they need all at once. Everyone is friendly to each other. Management jumps in and helps when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast service poor management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Oregon, OHSeptember 22, 2017
I didn't like working there had little to no hours it was stress full only worked a couple hours a week at minimum wage the management was terrible the discounts were ok
Pros
Half off and discounts through out the company
Cons
Rude management staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced
Cook (Current Employee) –  Bethel, OHSeptember 3, 2017
I enjoyed working with public and other co-workers. I enjoyed working in a fast paced environment and helped me to be able to learn at a quicker pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, terrible workmans compensation.
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  cincinnatiJune 25, 2017
I enjoyed my job until a burn on my hand caused me to take two days off. My claim was never made until the following two months and even so, I was never compensated.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
under staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neutral
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJune 19, 2017
Great mangers however, the facility lacks proper staff/crew amount. Long hours for minimum wage pay. The work environment is relaxed for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 8, 2017
Ok place to work weekly pay which is good sometimes you will be cut early depending on business which is hard to get your 40 hours also management is good as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and very fast pace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 30, 2016
I was the line cook but I also did dishes and provided maintence when necessary. I did drive thru, food prep and assisted in the bagging process
Pros
Lunch benefits
Cons
Short breaka
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast friendly work place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHMay 21, 2016
Had no complaints with this job just do not pay their employees enough can not make a living off of what you bring home weekly. but other than that not a bad place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Cook (Former Employee) –  Franklin, OHFebruary 12, 2016
It was an okay place to work. Not really much room to move up. Some of the employees were not professional and neither were the managers. They don't really keep the back of the house very clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Cook (Former Employee) –  Covington, KYDecember 31, 2015
I was hired for one thing an they had me doing everything that was not in my job description, I dint have a problem with it I jus wasn't making enough money for it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Fort Wright, KYNovember 16, 2015
my typical day started with prep for my shift, cooking orders, i learned how to become fast paced, management always came back to help when we needed it the coworkers was really laid back and easy going the hardest part of working at frischs sometimes is keeping up.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
can be over worked sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enjoyable workplace
cook (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHJuly 16, 2015
they was very welcoming and was able to advance in the company I would work with the other cooks on getting the orders ready as well as do the pre dinner prep and cook orders for carry out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
cook (Former Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHNovember 14, 2014
i learned alot here from cooking on big grills to working with deep fryers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Frischs Big Boy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 604 reviews
5133
4189
3189
248
145

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture