FuelCell Energy Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How long can they survive?
Technician (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 18, 2018
This company has not had a profitable year for the last 18 years! That's correct...18 years! They are a publicly traded company, so you can look it up for yourself. They may have had one break even quarter, but that is it.

The only way they survive is to continue to issue stock and raise more money. The recent management team isn't any different than the previous ones. Song and dance...raise more money. Dog and pony show...raise more money. You get the idea.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Products and Great Organization
Employee (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTAugust 16, 2018
Workplace culture is great! Interesting products and projects. Very dynamic and never boring. Low turnover and opportunities for growth within departments as well as across the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employment
Integration Technician (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 7, 2018
. Building trust is the key. My focus is on safety, management, preemptive engineering, budgeting, cost reduction. I would love to be rehired at fuelcell.
Pros
Future thinking.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused organization
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJuly 3, 2018
FuelCell Energy is a very focused organization which has had many hurdles placed in front of it and has succeed. The organization always gave me room to grow if I wanted to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there for 9-1/2 out of 10 yrs
Service Materials Specialist (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTDecember 21, 2017
Variety of work and responsibilities looked forward to going in each day. Team environment fostered with co-workers. Took advantage of my experience enjoyed interaction with people at all levels. Focused on internal and external customer service. Was on service call 24/7 one week a month added to salary. Overtime was voluntary. Hardest part of the job was dealing with changing priorities and frequent scheduling changes. Management and supervision was minimal once confidence in abilities in work ethic and responsible attitude was established. Listened to and readily accepted opinions and recommendations if you made legitimate contributions.
Pros
25 cent coffee
Cons
dusty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and established safe workplace
SHIPPING AND HANDLING OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTJune 22, 2018
A typical day at work would be me coming in third shift, Learning which position I would be working in for the shift. Complete all tasks until shift is over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is good but supervisors not that professional they mix personal feeling with work
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTDecember 27, 2017
The place is good to work central air conditioning, but the management not professional at all, iso standards is just on the paper in reality they don’t go by iso quality standards , they do just numbers try to do more so supervisors to get the bonuses. Overall is different on paper than in reality they treat employees like animals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
FIELD SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 15, 2017
Fuel Cell Energy is a fun place to work but if you value job security I wouldn't work there. They have a problem making profits and rely on subsidies from the government to keep the operation running. If you like working with advanced technology then this place is for you, if you value job security, steer clear.
Pros
Work-life balance is great.
Cons
Job security is not so great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consumes your life
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAJuly 9, 2012
I actually like the work that I do. I love the job. You do some of your work form home you travel allot. You have allot of independents. However the job ask allot of you. At times you can work 80 hrs weeks, the benefits are okay, not great. Its hard to plan out a healthy personal life because the job requires allot of your attention. I normally don't mind, but it seem like that lack of pay raises and no room for advancement is demoralizing. Job Security was always an issue to the point I never felt safe with doing something like buying a house. Your pretty much left on your own which is okay, but it can get stressful when its only you working on a difficult problem.
Pros
some what flexible work schedule, no imediate supervision, work form home at time.
Cons
job security, sub par benifits, little to no pay raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Senior Accounts Payable Analyst APS (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTJune 4, 2014
Fuelcell Energy Inc. is a great place to work. The management cares about their employees and everyone works together to get the job done.
Pros
Always are trying to do something for their employees
Cons
all office staff is not salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere.
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTSeptember 28, 2017
Company is run on egos and personalities. Don't ask, don't tell. Engineers are know it alls, operators don't know anything, even with many years of experience. They love to take the wind out of your sails. Management needs to stop surfing the internet and start doing their jobs.
Pros
Job is close to home
Cons
Poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced support of service parts & logistics
Materials Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 28, 2017
Daily support of a Global Service Center as well as a number of field service technicians. In this roll, I have gained knowledge of Microsoft AX & Master Control. I have also broadened my warehouse and inventory skills as the inventory is much more different than past jobs. I currently work in fast paced yet easy going work environment. Current management lets you work without micromanaging. The hardest part of the job is having to be prepared for large last minute requests. I enjoy learning new things and recommending new ideas or processes for a more streamlined workflow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-worker relationships
Shift Lead (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTMay 29, 2017
Departments rely heavy on team work to achieve a resolution or to complete daily tasks. Hardest part is being able to be flexible and expand your skill set outside your job title to achieve optimum outcome. There is not... if any upward advancement. Training opportunities are slowly improving. Co-workers are encouraging and have good energy.
Pros
Freedom to learn anything if you put the effort in.
Cons
Poor advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
PROCESS COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Torrington, CTDecember 1, 2016
I gained a lot of valuable knowledge here. I started from the bottom and was able to move up quickly and within 5 years I was managing my own shift of 12 people
Pros
benefits, severance
Cons
layed off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTNovember 4, 2014
FuelCell is a good place to be an engineer, and to have the freedom to take ownership of a project. However, the opportunity for advancement is limited beyond a certain point and the salaries tend to be on the low end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTApril 22, 2017
Its fast paced and You're constantly building product and each shift has to reach a certain number everyday. Management was pretty good about the number goals too and they would work with you if you needed time off or anything as well. There i learned a lot on how to work in a assembly area and how to make parts and use the machines for production. The most enjoyable part was the people i worked with.
Pros
A lot of overtime
Cons
Lunch break was only 25 minutes long
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe.
Fuel Cell worker (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTSeptember 22, 2016
Clean, organize, not flexible with people's needs, same daily routine, but management was good and always hit company goals!
Hope the add more ways to keep people motivated at work, sometimes same routine gets boring, and stressful!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, hard working people
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTMarch 29, 2017
This company is full of genuinely nice, good working people. Provides for a great working experience, but overall company is very understaffed. Office culture is a bit stale; needs some more younger faces.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good manufacturing group.
Shift Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Torrington, CTJanuary 11, 2017
Not a bad place to work.People work well together and are very friendly. Strong R&D,weak sales and a good Production group.Poor planing on upper managements part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, yet productive work environment.
SOFC Materials Engineering Aide (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTFebruary 21, 2016
Great people to work for and with. Everyone I've worked with is willing to teach their skills to anyone. It's a great place to work if you're interested to learn. It keeps your mind busy throughout the day. It is a very rewarding place to work. The only downside is advancement takes a very long time. The supervisors and managers here are incredible. All of them are quite intelligent and readily able and willing to thoroughly explain something in detail if you don't understand it. I've learned incredible amounts of information in such a short period of time from everyone, supervisors and other technicians alike.
Pros
Great environment, easy-going people, a great learning experience, a good sense of accomplishment
Cons
Health plan is expensive, takes a while to advance/receive promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport