Gap Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 2,201 reviews matching the search See all 2,586 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t even bother
Gap Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAOctober 10, 2019
I worked here when I was 16 worst job ever. Management was not nice. Never will work for them again that’s how bad it was. It may be better now who knows
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6 Months
Shipments/floor (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJOctober 9, 2019
I Didn't Like It At All , Well It Was iight. I Just Didn't Get Along With One of The Manager At All. She Always Had Something To Say Me For No Reason. And I Was An Excellent Working Also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 9, 2019
The work was okay, nothing special. But the hours varied wildly, one week i get overtime, the next week im lucky to work 10 hours. If its a first job where making a solid 40 isn't a real concern, then go for it. If you need a soild dependable paycheck. Look elsewhere. They do 4 days, 10 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked my Job very much
Packer (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYOctober 6, 2019
I love the Job. Though I was going to be hired full time. Hope this time they will. If l was to get a second chance I will work even harder so I can prove myself to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 5, 2019
I loved working for this company, each store is like its own family! With stores across the country it was easy for me to go to school and work year round by transferring during the semester!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you need to use the bathroom get a doctors note!
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 30, 2019
I’ve never worked at a place that requires you to need a doctors note so you can use the bathroom when you’re not on a break! I had several accidents working here because you get reprimanded if you’re not taking enough calls. I went through several supervisors here, they don’t give schedule changes as promised and the .06 cent raise was a slap in the face! They require you to do mandatory overtime and will schedule you when they want to and if you can’t show up then you’re gonna get in trouble! They’ll hire new people and pay them much more than you and give them the schedules people are fight for! I don’t recommend working here!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn’t a place I would ever return to again
Old Navy Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Springfield, PASeptember 30, 2019
Working there for over a year you would think that you would get the raise that they stated during the interview. Never received a raise after 6 months nor even got a yearly check up. The managers attitudes are terrible except very few and the gm of the store spends her time talking about people in the office all day, when she’s not on the floor talking to everyone crazy. The managers hide or ignore you when you need help until they’re ready to help you. I put in my 2 weeks, my hours were cut instantly and I was treated like I haven’t bent over backwards to exceed the expectation level of what these managers wanted done in a daily task. I will NEVER work here again or recommend anyone to work there .
Pros
The coworkers, flexible scheduling
Cons
Managers, no raise, no room for advancement, talked to like you were born yesterday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working there
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 29, 2019
Its ok never really had a bad day at work there the staff was excellent and Courteous the employees were friendly and helpful I would recommend people to this company for work
Pros
Lunch is ok
Cons
You get up to to regular breaks plus your lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here :)
Brand Associate (Former Employee) –  Tysons Corner, VASeptember 28, 2019
Working here was nice but if you have a family I would not recommend it..... good for high school students in the summer or single people with no bills :))
Pros
Good management
Cons
Not enough hours, no work life balance, does not pay a living wage :(
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please do not fall for their lies
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 28, 2019
* They have a five minute call rule which makes it impossible to provide good customer service and meet the adherence matrix. They lie about conversion, they lie about how many hours you get after training. The supervisors all tell you something different, high stress, impossible guidlines, no family balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and miss manage
Picker/Packer/Shipper (Current Employee) –  Gallatin, TNSeptember 27, 2019
No way to get ahead. Hard work management and supervisors are only concerned about themselves building are old and dirty. No air conditioning and not enough fans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job For College Students
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 25, 2019
They work with your school schedule and have a decent store discount. If you need a day off you can ask to get your shift covered or ask for it in advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Gap Warehouse Merchandise Handler (Current Employee) –  Fishkill, NYSeptember 25, 2019
something productive to do while you continue to search for a stable job because its seasonal but i would strongly recommend this place because they will hire you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement and minimum wage pay
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CASeptember 23, 2019
Regular retail job, they hire seasonal and cut permanent employees hours. You could work here years and never move up, minimum wage and poor benefits. Good if you're in high school but other than that would not recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bad pay
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCSeptember 22, 2019
The gap is a great place to work only if they paid a little bit more money or paid you according to evaluations or then the pay management is top drawer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible store
Cabazon - Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Cabazon, CASeptember 21, 2019
I was only here for a short amount of time. My experience was pretty bad. The managers were hardly available, the employees were rude. I never got trained.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sinking ship
IT Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 20, 2019
A company with a deeply flawed IT department ran by a short man with no IT experience along with his group of sweaty men. People call in to store support constantly because no one in Store Support actually knows how to troubleshoot, everything is a temporary fix. Terrible place to work at with a terrible management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gap
Store Director/Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 20, 2019
Gap inc is a good company to work for very fast paced and Challenge. As a store director you get a Opportunity to Learn all areas of the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great retail place
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 15, 2019
Great place to work but not to stay, you have to move on to bigger and better endeavors. I started working there in 2017 they have no dress attire no basic rules. I am indeed ready for something more set and stable w| a dress code uniform, set rules and regulations, and a great working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Truck Unloader/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Broward County, FLSeptember 12, 2019
It was a pretty good job the hours weren’t long they fit my schedule very good only bad thing was everyone in the warehouse speak Spanish so it was hard to communicate with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gap Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,586 reviews
5849
4798
3619
2187
1133

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Gap Inc..

Powered by Comparably