Garden Grove Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a place to work if you have the caring and love for people around you
Community Liasion worker Vietnamese (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAFebruary 13, 2019
It is a good place to work if you choose teaching career or like to learn more about the education fundamental environment. However, no benefits if you are not a full time employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding yet under represented
Pltw Instructor , Engineering, SolidWorks (Current Employee) –  Fountain Valley, CADecember 7, 2018
Long hours grading and preparing for class.
I learned a lot of patience for children with learning and other needs.
Management is very supportive.

The culture is very politically correct and click filled.

The hardest part of the job is the lack of structured pay raises.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the success stories and return students who come to thank you for your help.
Pros
The Great Kids, benefits
Cons
The difficult kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a School Program
Tutor/Mentor (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CANovember 23, 2018
A normal working time is after school for almost about two and a half hours for two days a week (depending on which schools you are assigned to). You're able to interact with elementary students so this would be great for college students who are thinking about going into teaching education. However, this is not a stable income job in which you would need to find a second job.
Pros
Good for college students who want to make extra money on the side.
Cons
Not given enough working hours since you work on a school calendar schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CASeptember 1, 2018
Cleaning classrooms during school year, and summer cleaning (deep cleaning) for preparation of school year beginning in september... Duties include vacuuming cleaning offices , also restrooms and dumping trash.
Pros
Good hours for 2nd shift
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Nursery Aide (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAAugust 9, 2018
love love love best overall. First job and place I can say i love, cant wait to get to work. best part of the day is being able to work with the little ones and their families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Registered Behavior Technician (RBT) (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAAugust 8, 2018
The behavior specialists work well with the staff. The scheduling process is consistent. The job in itself is rewarding, and you get to impact these students lives in a positive manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if intended career is to work around children
AVID Tutor (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJuly 12, 2018
Days are filled with great range of personality of students to work with
Feeling of helpfulness towards a student's academic success is a big pro
I learned how to problem solve and how to mentor individuals who depends on me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Intensive Behavioral Instructional Aide (IBIA) (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJuly 2, 2018
Job was a great environment and the people are awesome. The pay is great it is just a 10 month position so you need to save up for the summer. You may experience a lot of movement to different schools at any time. There is no forewarning you just get contacted to move.
Pros
Lots of food in the teachers lounge
Cons
Drama between staff at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Wouldn't Go Back
IBI Substitute (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJune 29, 2018
Special Ed department would not give me a break from aggressive kids, so I could not heal from an injury. There was a lot of negativity and gossip at some of the schools, and it was sad to see it taken out on other people.
Pros
Flexible schedule, plenty of work and some nice people.
Cons
I didn't get a break when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Wouldn't Go Back
IBI Substitute (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJune 29, 2018
Special Ed department would not give me a break from aggressive kids, so I could not heal from an injury. There was a lot of negativity and gossip at some of the schools, and it was sad to see it taken out on other people.
Pros
Flexible schedule, plenty of work and some nice people.
Cons
I didn't get a break when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the teachers are great
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stanton, CAMay 15, 2018
love the teachers and the students. staff is kind and work together.
hours are good and they work with me anytime i need something
i would say they have my best interest as a priorty
Pros
kids and staff
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family. Stable. Culture. Diverse
UBER INDEPENDENT DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMay 11, 2018
The best organization I have ever worked for feels like family. The benefits are untouchable, plus the time off and the summers are great. The pay could be better but it is more than most.

It is different than working for a typical IT environment. This is an educational setting, students, teachers, staff, and management. There are budget control and limitations, but a very relaxed and fitting union environment.

This is a very stable district to work for and there is so much pride working for this district.
Pros
benefits, 401k, time off, breaks
Cons
not paid during the summer months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-organized district with good compensation
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMay 7, 2018
This is a very stable, unified district. As a teacher, you are expected to be extremely professional and up-to-date on current education practices. It is a rigorous, but rewarding, career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Behavior Technician (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMay 5, 2018
Pays better than most districts. Challenging and rewarding job. You never know what your day will bring. Training is okay, could be better. Wonderful coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAApril 18, 2018
But don't expect to be able to live on the 5.8 or 3.75 hours they give you. You end up working just an hour shy of being giving benefits. While it is collaborative, people are not shy about nepotism.
Pros
Paid t/o, vacation days, good schedule
Cons
Job advancement can be arbitrary, cant live on the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Work Environment
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAApril 17, 2018
Great staff, great students!! I enjoyed meeting others in the work environment and getting to know them better. Also, I enjoyed the opportunity to be encouraging to the students.
Pros
Flexibility, meaningful work
Cons
Summer employment opportunities unavailable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat company culture
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAApril 5, 2018
Extremely controlling management style. Company culture is cut-throat, cut-throat, Cut-throat. No flexibility, you must work at your desk promptly at your starting time or time will be taken out of you leave hours. They count every minute you are to be working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great goals, good people
Math and Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMarch 16, 2018
The mission statement and goals of this school were clearly stated and eagerly shared by almost every employee.

The only reason I left this school was because I wanted to teach higher level mathematics.
Pros
Good goals, good people
Cons
No higher level math options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse working enviroment
School Psychologist (Current Employee) –  Garden GroveMarch 12, 2018
GGUSD serves a diverse population including diverse socio-economic backgrounds. Based on my experience, work always provided opportunities to think outside the box when working with students with diverse learning needs.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Large caseloads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In this job you have to be really carefully, organized, and accurate because working on different product you can get confuse and mess up.
Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJanuary 11, 2018
In this job you have to be really carefully,organized,and accurate because working on different product you can get confuse and mess up. But if you have good technique and skill on that job you will be an excellent worker for this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Garden Grove Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 64 reviews
535
421
35
20
13

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture

Garden Grove Unified School District Reviews by Location