Garlock Printing Employee Reviews

Showing all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machine assistant
machine assistant and a packer (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MAJune 4, 2019
I prep work stations for machine operators for each work order as well as pack finished product. I check each job for imperfections, clean up work sites and use the computer to trace the footage for each job.
Pros
good work environment, good team players
Cons
I have to work second shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized company lacking communication and management.
Garlock employee ///// (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 29, 2019
The Company is run through a HR/Plant manager who specializes in micromanagement, has too much power.

There is incredible turmoil and dysfunction to go along with the blame game culture.

Management is unsupportive and is rarely available to manage anything, often times they are unknowledgeable on what they are managing. Yet expect flawless results, without giving an once of effort themselves.

Management comes in whenever or not at all, yet expectations for their employees is to come in 10 minutes early. If you're a minute late you are disciplined..

Management has no problem asking their employees to work 16 or more hours, they struggle to adequately staff and or manage shifts.

Quality is not valued, they really hold their breathe and hope problems go away. Employees are not instructed how to identify or correct quality issues, just Reprimanded and threatened...

Fires break out routinely, Putting people in unnecessary situations, Management's response is to blame the workers who are unadequately trained.

The place is a revolving door, turnover is incredibly high. Skilled legacy workers are the only thing keeping the plant above water.

You're not really treated like Human, staff are largely ignored by management, and forced to come up with numbers to make management happy. It is very difficult to get basic tools to perform job functions and/or get machinery fixed.

There is no work life balance, Some work 12 straight hours go home and are immediately called back in. Or asked to cover other shifts 20 minutes before they go home...

Safety is
  more... supposedly important to the company, but it is Micromanaged and Muzzled.

Many employees have been injured, This is why many insurance companies will not cover this company. The health insurance they do provide is very expensive for their employees.
  less
Pros
There can be promotion within the company.
Cons
Management - Negative work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 13, 2019
it was a good place to work i was a machine operator totani machine operator to be specific i run a slider machine to that is a different machine to run
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of changes mostly bad
Press Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAMarch 6, 2019
Started at the company a few years ago have been multiple shift changes from 12 hour swings to 8 hr shifts and not just once multiple times. No real job security and they make it known. Floor supervisor are great to a point but upper management has no idea how to treat its employees and any changes made on the work floor or company wide seem to be made from day to day. There is no consistency in this company but if you need a job and can deal with all of the stress it’s the place for you. Recently cut benifits as well example being your paid time off and massive layoffs because they spent to much last year and had to make cuts somewhere.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Forced overtime 6 days a week and have to stay 4 hours if someone calls out no choice
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through a restructure, stay tuned
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAFebruary 5, 2019
Garlock is going through a restructure so it's hard to see what they will be once it is complete but I would imagine once they have the structure in place it will be a fine place to work.
Pros
Location in central Mass makes it close to quite a large population
Cons
going through a restructure
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos at its finest
Lead Press Operator Flexographic Printing (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 26, 2018
management at the time had no clue how to run a plant or fix Ink issues that was needed for expected run speeds. this place is a revolving door of people as most dont waste their time here too long
Pros
its a check
Cons
poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garlock was a great place to work.
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAOctober 28, 2018
Working at Garlock in my department was challenging on a daily basis. I enjoyed the work and feeling like an essential employee. We were a bit overwhelmed with work most days and more employees would have been helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for growth labor wise, lots of company events
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MAAugust 4, 2018
most enjoyable part about my job at Garlock is everything i love everything about my job at Garlock Printing. Garlock printing has given me lots of opportunities to work in different areas of work and become a very knowledgable. at this point at my career at garlock printing there is no typical day i've learned so much with the company i can be used any where to do anything from running any machine in the company to building or tearing one down. since I've been with the company management has been nothing but fair to me a little less understanding at some points but fair in the sense they have a business to run and thats what they stand by. everything about garlock makes it a great place to work especially for individuals look to grow knowledge wise in different fields of work.
Pros
company with lots of career opportunities
Cons
career advancement to managing position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 18Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High workload, poor management
Customer support (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAJuly 17, 2018
High overturn of employees and management, nothing stays consistent. In my 2 years the Customer Service dept was overseen by 4 different managers, and we heard the same happenings in the other departments. Work load was very heavy which required overtime to due job sufficiently. If you just need a job and keep your head down this is a good place with fair pay. If you value your job and clients with respect and proper management this is NOT the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Operator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAMay 29, 2018
good place to work at but some of the co workers i didnt get along with cause of there manner.
i didnt want to leave the place but was thinking of relocating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding management
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAMarch 19, 2018
If it were not for the way you are treated there it would be an excellent place to work. The pay is good there but the way that management treated the employees was not good
Pros
good money
Cons
poor treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAMarch 10, 2018
company was good to work for when I started a few years ago but over the last year it feels like it went downhill. They changed shifts from 12hr swing to 3 8hr shifts and upper management is a joke.. they don't care about the employees...all that matters to them is the numbers . I like the actual work part of it and the pay but other that that it isn't a good place to work at unless you want to be stressed out all the time
Pros
pay
Cons
bad management, hours.. next to impossible to get on 1st shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing company
Operator (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MADecember 29, 2017
The company is continuing to invest in machines and systems that will allow us to become better. they give us good pay and there are opportunityes to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, quality based
Bag Packer (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 22, 2017
This was a really good place to work they have plenty of advancement options and theyre more than willing yo teach you new positions and machinery hours are set and they pay you for your 30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 16Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management is poor supervisors are ok .It is a stressful work environment
Flexographic Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MANovember 13, 2017
Working there threw the years a lot of unsafe acts and unsafe equipment on the floor.They are putting a lot of responsibility on operators and with low staff . The job pays good that's why I stay . I recommend for anybody who works here get ready it's defiantly going to be a bumpy ride
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not so good moral it's not a good environment to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Garden, MaSeptember 5, 2017
Garlock like any other manufacturing is fast pased with steady work. Its not a bad place to work but has a salary max in which i have met. I have been in same position at Garlock since the day i started with empty promises of pay and to move up in the company.
Pros
Insurance, 401k, vacation
Cons
Fast paced, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Order Entry Administrator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MAJuly 18, 2017
Small company, great co-workers and management.
No hard part to the job. Company compensated employees fairly and held company related outings regularly.
Pros
Company Outings/Gatherings
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challening Place
Prefer not to list (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MAJune 26, 2017
It is a difficult place to work. The culture is a bit depressing.

There is another new management team and the company is going through a lot of changes.
Pros
Other employees, I like what I do
Cons
Not quite certain if you will have a job tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money tough job with family
Flexographic Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MAJune 6, 2017
The money is good and work is pretty steady. 12 hour swing shift is very tough as a single parent. Overall great place to work if married or single without children. Pay is good and benefits above average
Pros
Good pay lots of days off
Cons
Days off change and home life difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reno plant is a disaster due to managers
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 3, 2017
When the new VP came on board, changes were made. People were put in manager positions last August that are not working.
HR manager is horrible dealing with employees issues. Always rolls her eyes and says "It is what it is". Plays favoritism with production employees. Bad hiring . If you do not speak English she would not hire you.
QC manager is the same way. Actually makes people uncomfortable by rubbing her breasts to most the operators. HR is aware but nothing is getting done.
CI manager is a back stabber. Talks bad about everyone.
Press manager does not know what he is doing.
A lot of people are leaving.
Owner has been kept out of the decisions by the VP.
Pros
Hard working employees
Cons
Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Garlock Printing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 50 reviews
57
49
316
29
19

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture

Garlock Printing Reviews by Location