GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Found 771 reviews matching the search See all 1,283 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a sweat shop hidden from the US GOVERNMENT
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXNovember 12, 2018
THE MANAGER of the inventory department is always out "sick" like literally 85% of the year ! then because the general manager is dating it , it gets away with murder.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
corrupt managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment nice people
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2018
Experience was nice , just need better carts getting from plane to plane sometimes they are not working so it makes it hard to do your job. Everything else was okay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company could care less about the workers
Porter (Current Employee) –  AtlantaNovember 5, 2018
Lousy company unprofessional feed you free chicken all week supervisor talks to you like a child bad place to work orientation is a joke they make it sound good don't waste your time
Pros
Dental insurance
Cons
Don't pay enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Pace , Stressful
Equipment assembler (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 5, 2018
it's Cool But they have certain things they have to work on such as the lack of pay. We're unable to make a living off the pay. Another thing is the lack of cool air
Pros
Quick pace, Cool People & Benefits
Cons
Lack Of Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Food Assembler (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 1, 2018
Only plus is weekly check & some good employees...all the rest is stress you can be sent to a station & have no plates, food, equipment to work with...if you're missing hot food good luck getting it in a timely manner...production can be increased from doing 1 flight to doing 2/3 & then you get sent some of the slowest employees to "help" If you're getting payed about the same rate then you should be expected to work quickly with a purpose but no one gets reprimanded people are putting in OT on tasks that sometimes can be completed in 5 hours or less...alot of food substitutions because they run out/waste...very surprising they still hold on to the accounts they have, they're constantly implementing sanitation methods which aren't working since bacteria is still in their sewer pipes but they try to blame the workers for all their problems & worse if you say you worked at Gate Gourmet some other caterers WON'T hire you...as in culture things seem ok but it only takes something small for tensions along racial lines to come up
Pros
Weekly check
Cons
Managers try to work you harder if you have seniority, cant take breaks because you wanna get the heck outta there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembling food trays/baskets for all types of Airlines.
Food Assembler/Preparer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 29, 2018
This is a very cold environment where you work in cold freezers preparing and assembling food and food baskets for all types of Airlines in a fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Área fía
Packer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 26, 2018
para empezar es bueno pero no vale lo que pagan no
Pros
Si
Cons
Dos descansos de media hora
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place and people working
Porter (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 25, 2018
I have learned to be cooperative with each other as work is concerned.

To be patient for the task assigned for the day

We have free food and break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, good pay
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 24, 2018
It is a very good place to work, they get paid weekly and the hours are very good , you're allowed to sign up for overtime and make as much money as you possibly can
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will learn
Dispatcher, Asst.Opt, and Admin (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJOctober 22, 2018
Working there wasn't the best all the time. It very bias and indifferent. You have to have a strong back bone. Because, most of them only look out for each other.
Pros
Free lunch, awards
Cons
Overwhelmed with work and rarely any recognition if you arent of a certain kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A sad joke
Material Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  SFO, CaOctober 17, 2018
They feed you lunch because of foreign food contamination, so free-ish. Most of the time it isn't half bad. I worked in the warehouse as a clerk doing US custom's paperwork but my title was Asst Admin so they could fool you about the job responsibilities. There was not another clerk in the warehouse and I was not an Asst to anyone. Ultimately, when they stopped thinking and acting like custom's was a joke, I was on my own and reported situations to the warehouse manager, loosely reporting to them or the role. I liked the work -- inventory, invoicing, custom paperwork, computer work, filling, organizing, coordinating, and some technical Point-Of-Sales devices. Only reason for the 3 star was the people that kept that place going, the workers and not management.
Pros
free-ish lunch
Cons
paid for a large portion of nearly all benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not getting all my hours
Gate gourmet (Former Employee) –  College Park, GAOctober 12, 2018
I was not getting my hours pay was not nothing cause I was not makeing no hours ,bad break time and bad team work check all ways been mess up all ways been a problem
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Was not makeing my hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful/No Training
Gate Keeping/Flight Checker (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 8, 2018
This facility wasn’t anything that was shared in my Orientation very disappointing. When I first started I loved the 4-day on and 3-days off. That has since changed now it’s five days with approximately 2 1/2 hours of mandatory overtime daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I’m still in training.
Flight coordinator (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2018
It’s a difficult atmosphere and you’re pretty much on your own once you know the position. Flexibility is required. Overtime is offered and you will work more than 40 hours. Management is ok. Everyone is friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and fun place
Equipment Assembler (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 5, 2018
At gate gourmet you really have to be on your p’s and q’s because it is a very fast paced environment. You are on your feet the whole time you work. If you are a person that doesn’t like standing then gate gourmet is not the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for employees. Not so good for supervisors
Food Production Ops Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 30, 2018
Steer clear of working as a manager or supervisor in the food production area. The main manager micro manages the entire department with absolutely no concern for the development or well-being of the supervisors. Supervisors have no input about how their teams are organized. If you plan to be a manager, forget it. the main manager there refused to teach you anything. There was a manager there when I started. She was helpless to make even the simplest decisions without having to call the main manager.

No training. But plenty of blame if something goes wrong.
Pros
The employees were great to work with.
Cons
As a food supervisor, you will not develop any skills you can take with you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2018
Day goes fast you always moving always moving. Great food ,different food everyday. Work every other weekend!!! Great entry level job to get your feet wet.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
overtime everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
multi cultural and challenge to manage
Account Manager/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 24, 2018
Multi culture, challenge every department organization with all department Manage care for others and responsibilities around the unit head of the unit not understanding the needs of employees and tools to work with pressure around the unit to maintain it clean and organize, menu presentation is the must enjoy thing , cycle change is because we eat and enjoy the tasting of the dishes for customers.
Pros
bingo Month 100 dollar to win
Cons
not enough lockers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace warehouse work
Line worker (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 16, 2018
A typical day at work was fast and hot. I learned how the airplanes have their snacks placed and shipped. Workplace culture was mainly quiet you just focus on getting the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es divertido, me gusta el ambiente
Ensamble food (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 16, 2018
Me gusta la cultura y el ambiente cultural ....
No se pasa ambre siempre hay algo de comer.
Pros
Comida
Cons
La arrogancia de algunos Jefe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,283 reviews
5379
4300
3303
2138
1163

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight