GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Found 807 reviews matching the search See all 1,336 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYJanuary 20, 2019
do not work here it is worst job if you have a family I was wrote up cause my wife was in hospital and I had to call in money is good if you are a driver if your in another department Like my wife was pay sucks! Benefits are a joke with 4000$ deductible. Mangmet is a joke who run good workers out. I repeat do not apply!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Straight truck driver (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJJanuary 19, 2019
Environment-friendly good coworker bad pay trucks not in good condition that they should be but overall a okay job managers was good to talk to but once again bad pay no benefits
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Galley/Stocker/Transportation (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAJanuary 16, 2019
It was bad when I was there, but it very possible got better since I was there. Work conditions were ok but the pay was pretty bad. Management felt a little uncaring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work place
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJanuary 15, 2019
It’s really good company .. we could hard work with fun .. really interesting awesome workmate they helped each other with happily. Timely paid free lunch for employee
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Timely bre
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work place
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Inglewood, CAJanuary 14, 2019
Very productive management team work environment was polite and friendly overall... Over time was available paid holidays understanding staff and managers as well as respectful
Pros
Meals are provided
Cons
Limited parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like i'm back in high school, avoid if possible.
Equipment Assembler (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 13, 2019
High turnover. Mandatory overtime and heavy workload every single day because of the lack of staff. Management and coworkers rude and disrespectful. We need permission from management every day to leave like if we were kids.
Pros
Weekly Pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can work at Your own pace
Flight Checker (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2019
The job is kind of far and we don’t get paid enough and they will Work You Kind Of Hard I feel like the way people work up there we should be making a Lil bit more money
Pros
Free drinks and lunch
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best place to recommend for a first time thing
Food Handler (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 11, 2019
Although the pay is decent enough, the management sucks, and for the work you are doing its not 100% worth your time and effort. For your entire shift you are working in a nearly freezing cold environment 40 degrees c or below, with limited breaks.
Pros
pay, free lunch
Cons
short breaks, cold environment, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Other Experience (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJanuary 10, 2019
There’s a certain manager who is very rude towards everyone. He talks down on people and threatens to fire them. He is very disrespectful towards women. Other managers are awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
Billing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 10, 2019
I was released after correcting various errors in billing worth millions. No notice from one day to the next. Stole my binder where I kept my notes for training purposes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
EPA (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 10, 2019
Productive job, keeps you busy, hardest part of the job is sometimes trying to keep up with all the line. all in all the job is very easy and a fun job to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work environment
Senior Manager Human Resources (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 8, 2019
Largest kitchen in north america, SFO. represented and non-represented staff, no work/life balance, not supportive of SF cost of life. However, still a very dynamic place to work, many resources for continuing training and education.
Pros
Free lunches, 401k deferrals from day one, room to advance
Cons
24/7/365 business, admin is understaffed, too many changes too fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not understand food cost
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89119January 4, 2019
Management does not understand food cost and how to properly order enough food to cover busy times. They do not staff enough people or staff in the correct hours to achieve the job efficiently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food Processor
Food Assembler (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 1, 2019
Great Job. I learned how to make trays for international flights in a quick instant. Management was always their when you needed them. The culture of the workplace was calm and kosher just really upbeat and quick. The cool air of the freezers where we worked was the hardest part of the job. I enjoyed the people I worked with they always smiled and always friendly.
Pros
Free Lunches and dinner depending on what shift you were working.
Cons
The cold air of the freezer where we worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Food Prep (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 31, 2018
Prepping food for airlines working long hours in a enjoyable
enviorment. The company is very fast paced with an expectation of safety and excellence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and full of nice people to work with.
Food Assembler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 27, 2018
Gate Gourmet was my first job to return to working class. The staff and co-worker's were very helpjful and friendly. The most enjoyable part of the job was loading the basket's that are served to passenger's on incoming and outgoing flight's. I wanted to send the tray's out as neat as I possibly could. However, I learned that quantity was what my real goal should have been.
Pros
Gate Gourmet was a great place to work.
Cons
I was not strong enough to perform my duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its safe
Senior Pricing Analyst (Current Employee) –  Reston, VADecember 25, 2018
wont learn too much, good for job security. it isn't very stressful and management is ok but the problem is you will be doing the same thing day in and day out and wont learn much after a certain point which is like a year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and productive
DISHWASHER (Former Employee) –  O'hare International Airport, ILDecember 21, 2018
clean out food carts off air planes ensure cleanness and sanitization of dishes, tableware, glass ware and utensils through machine cleaning methods. reload the cart with the clean products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Proper Training, Body Straining
Galley (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 19, 2018
When hired on I wasn’t properly trained or told how to do anything. The department entailed strenuous work, the lead played video games on his phone all night, had no personality and got out of doing as less as possible. He, as well as a few other employees in the department, were super rude. It was too much down time and the whole department slept half the shift. No one knew anything from leads up to some in management. You were always given wrong information and your check is guaranteed to be short or messed up. The employees were messy and never worked in an organized fashion. The majority of them didn’t even know English. And last but not least, I seen roaches in the cafeteria.
Pros
Some nice coworkers
Cons
No proper training, rude employees, non-knowledgeable employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Porter, Food Assembler, Dish Washer, Galley Worker (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 16, 2018
Be prepared to work at a fast pace and long hours, and in some cold area. some some areas of work are refrigerated and can get very cold at times, like frozen finger and hands....feet too.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Get in line fast at break, sometimes they run out lunch food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,336 reviews
5390
4311
3320
2142
1173

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight