Gates Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 148 reviews matching the search See all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global leader in automotive and industrial products
Graphic Designer and Pre-Press Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 1, 2018
I learned so much working at Gates. As a guy fresh out of college, I had the opportunity to learn the latest software for both graphic design and pre-press when I worked in the on-site printshop. There were 50 employees in the print shop itself and a variety of printing presses, including database driven printers for printing variable data. I also got to work with different marketing directors on a variety of projects. The pressure of being under deadlines to get things to print instilled a sense of timeliness that I keep with me to this day. I also had to be detail oriented and communicate effectively. Those skills gave me the confidence and basis for creating a successful design agency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Versailles, MONovember 1, 2018
Enjoy the work most of time not much chance of making day shift being made to switch to a rotating 12 hr shift but enjoy fellow maintenance employees and good boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people is the worst part of the job. There laszy and cut throat
Belt builder and Cure operator (Current Employee) –  Siloam Springs, AROctober 18, 2018
works not bad but the people are cut throat and if if you not in managments little click theyll treat you unfairly. Not a clean enviroment. The people around u will bring u down cause there so lazy.
Pros
Old machinery, awful management, cut throat people
Cons
Paid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job while it lasted
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Jefferson, NCOctober 15, 2018
Factory shutdown. Was disgruntled at end due to seeing others receiving large sums to stay where I was not, though I was payroll accountant. I believe the Controller chose who she wanted to stay based on friendship rather than responsibilities
Pros
good atmosphere, friendly corporate office
Cons
political being a small town
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Warehouse Worker f (Current Employee) –  Versailles, MOOctober 3, 2018
my review is bad for this place its hot and people gossip about everything. comapny isnt bad but staff could be better and so could the pay. have a good day
Pros
good pay for area
Cons
lack of comunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hyper focused on budget but great people to work with
Management (Current Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 10, 2018
Gates allows all levels of employees to participate in ideas that drive the company forward. Gates promotes and follows through on doing not just the minimum but the right thing. They try to treat people well.
Pros
over 100 years old and growing
Cons
runs on absolute minimum staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work and Consistent Stress
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Lithonia, GASeptember 5, 2018
It's a competitive place where there are favorites. You are consistently lied to, and they get upset if you don't volunteer your days off to work. Very unorganized, and do not listen to there employees. They will get upset if you don't finish their last minute projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place poor management
Vulcanizer (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOAugust 25, 2018
I loved the work place but got fired for something my manager made me do to help because Lock out tag out was not done but manager was supervising whole time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Mechanical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOAugust 23, 2018
worked with a lot of great people had multiple people who were will to teach and train me management was great flexible hours and relaxed work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at home
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lithonia, GAAugust 23, 2018
Many projects going at the same time, which I really enjoyed. Every day was a challenge and which I enjoyed. Everyone I worked with were very professional and we all helped each other out if needed..
Pros
Able to work at home. Always felt appreciated
Cons
donwe sizing and loosing my job after over 19 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Iola, KSAugust 21, 2018
Job is very hard and hot work. They do not like to work with you having a family. Overtime is constant and hardly time with family. Management are usually pretty rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Environmental, Health, & Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Elizabethtown, KYAugust 13, 2018
I would prefer not to speak about this employer. The job served its purpose while I was there. It was a job and that is about all i can say for it. That is all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDAugust 7, 2018
I really love the company, it’s a fun place to work. I will recommend anyone to work for this company. Consistent work schedule, good pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coworkers were fun
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Newton, IAJuly 31, 2018
wasn't intending on leaving but things happen to where you just cant deal with certain people and things around you and you shouldn't have to be treated poorly if you don't know how to do something.
Pros
co workers
Cons
short breaks, management, and working 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day or week
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Madisonville, LAJuly 22, 2018
A typical day was mapping out my territory to see which area I would concentrate on that day or week. I learned to manage my time and customers and also learned how to referee rival distributor disagreements.
Pros
worked from home
Cons
distributor disagreements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool environment but not much job advancements
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Siloam Springs, ARJuly 11, 2018
It was a great job I enjoyed it a lot.Other than the fact that its almost impossible to advance to a ,higher paying position. The management is pretty good they are overall pretty laid back. But they dont really understand personal things.
Pros
Great benefits, good management.
Cons
no advancements in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Siloam Springs, ARJuly 9, 2018
If you like working in a Hot H*** Hole? Go for it!!! Management no good. No training. Figure it out on your own environment. No shoe allowance and no safety eyewear allowance. Insurance no good and very high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment with a sink or swim training system
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Siloam Springs, ARJune 5, 2018
Could be an excellent place to retire from, many holes in their training create unnecessary stress and prolonged people , machinery and process issues.
Could use communication classes between management and employees
Pros
pay
Cons
hot work, poor communication, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Lithonia, GAJune 4, 2018
The work is very easy the people a great they pull orders for nappa like belt hoses and water pumps
.......................................................
Pros
Management
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gates great history. New owners ruin it.
District Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 21, 2018
I was always proud to work for Gates. However the new ownership has ruined the culture for this company and what it stood for. It's a shame we have lost alot of good people. I wish it was like the old day's customer first and revenue driven later. I understand we need the revenue. But cut backs in inventory has killed our sales momentum. Thanks Blackstone corp.
Pros
Great leadership at the local levels and middle management
Cons
Blackstone Corp
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gates Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 161 reviews
524
449
343
220
125

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight