Gateway Rehabilitation Center Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Security Monitor (Former Employee) –  Erie, PAJuly 16, 2018
Favoritism should not be a part of management. Family should not be working in entry level and management level as there is conflict of interest that may occur
Pros
Interesting job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Atmosphere
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAMay 15, 2018
Negative atmosphere, poor supervision, supervisor offer little support or consistency, no accountability for patients with little consequences, no transparency in the company, large recidivism rate, high turnover rate, poor management
Pros
Pto is decent
Cons
Management has little motivation, management has poor work ethic, management is unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 12, 2018
Supervisors blab info that should be kept confidential
Favoritism
95% of the employees smoke, bad break abuse
Expect to get written up-poor management
Pros
40hr a week
Cons
teach 12 step program yet majority want nothing to do with getting help, more of a correction facility with poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed place to work
Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaFebruary 26, 2018
Very relaxed place to work. management is pretty ok. you only work 6 hours a day, 3 to 4 days a week. Its a good second jobif you are just trying to npick up hours some where.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
REGISTERED NURSE (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAOctober 19, 2017
Staff is great! Working environment is very relaxed and I enjoy going to work each day. The management is great. Schedules are flexible and it is a great learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gateway is not the company that it used to be
will not disclose (Former Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAAugust 2, 2017
Gateway is no longer focused on patient care. The focus is on a few upper level management staff making sure they themselves are making a profit. The other managers are in adequate. The goal is not to aid the patients in recovery, but to get paid for their time and have them go out unprepared so they can return and Gateway can collect on them again.

There are a few quality employees still left, but their hands are now tied. Everyone is just doing what they have to in order to survive and maintain employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going downhill
Building Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAJuly 7, 2017
need improvement. Upper management has changed and is slowly going downhill.no room for advancement. people are leaving and moving on to better opportunities. need to pay better wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management as well as great room for improvement!
Counselor Technician (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 19, 2017
its an awesome company to work for! Its located in South Fayette. Its the adolescent halfway house for males ranging from 15-23. The management is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At times, a very rewarding place to work.
Admissions Officer/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAMay 13, 2017
Gateway has many amazing people that work there helping many people as well as their families to overcome addiction problems. It can be a very rewarding place to work but at times it can be a very emotionally draining place to work. Gateway recently acquired a new CEO therefore a lot of change is going on. Hoping for the patients, community and employees that this in the end, will be a positive.
Pros
Rewarding watching the patients overcome addiction.
Cons
No lunch room and low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the population
Therapeutic Counselor (Former Employee) –  In pt and out ptFebruary 2, 2017
The experience at Gateway taught me many skills. I felt like the staff was over worked and did not have enough support in the group rooms.
Some of my managers were incredible others asked me to do unethical practices that I did not want to do.
Pros
Great supervision with new supervisor
Cons
Not paid enough I had to work a second job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that makes a difference
Counselor Tech (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAJanuary 5, 2017
The salary is not much for the type of work performed, which is a disadvantage.
Another issue is that there is absolutely no flexibility in the work schedule. Once your schedule is set, it never changes. You work the same hours everday, and have the same days off. It would be nice to have a rotating schedule to give everyone the opportunity to have weekends off.
The people I work with at Gateway are very nice and friendly.
It is also rewarding to know when you have made a difference with the kids!
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
low pay, and a work schedule that never changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and comfortable
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHDecember 8, 2016
this place was great. it was very welcoming and it felt like home. the residents loved me and the threw me a party when i left. i was told that never happened for anyone.
Pros
gave lots of hours
Cons
no breaks really
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Youth and Young Adult Program Counselor (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PANovember 30, 2016
Gateway has provided many opportunities for learning and growth. I have been able to further my abilities within the company and it has prepared me for future career options. Gateway is an excellent starter company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Unknown (Former Employee) –  UnknownNovember 9, 2016
Love some of coworkers others like to play too much. Favoritism / from upper management needs better direction/poor communication among staff. Corrections divisions is good stepping stone for new graduate but not a place to make career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over aged high schoolers for management
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAJune 22, 2016
I worked there for several years, in the admissions dept. The manager was a 55 year old trapped in high school mode. The workers were irresponsible, immature, and acted like a clan of mean girls making fun of each others shoes. Gossip galore. Repeated call offs, two hour lunch breaks, while sick patients sat in the lobby waiting for help. Multiple complaints and nothing was done. Upper management cares nothing except for fund raising so they can collect their big pay checks. The place had repeated bed bug infestations. No recognition for those who actually work there. Low pay, and you'll be doing everything while the queen shops on her three hour lunch break with all her cronies. Dont work in the admissions dept. Just dont.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door
lpn (Former Employee) –  Euclid, OHDecember 27, 2015
I wouldn't send my worst enemy to their assisted living. Nurses beware! You will jeapordize loosing your license. If you do decide to work there, make sure you count your narcotics, side by side, with the nurses,if you don't you"ll be sorry, Check and double check.
The first day of my orientation, the preceptor called off, I had to pass meds to 45 patients on 1 st shift (only nurse on the floor), none of the patients had identity bracelets.it was a nightmare. Night shift nurses- you'll be the only nurse for 95 residents! Good luck
Pros
You make loose your license in the process- but good money
Cons
Short staff- some of nurses need drug intervention
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN!! Run away fast!
Not Important (Former Employee) –  Not ImportantDecember 20, 2015
This place is a zoo!! Administration is horrible and worse when they're drunk. Place is filthy and staff is treated like trash. Pay checks are consistently wrong and no one is accountable for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fellow employees
management (Current Employee) –  GatewayNovember 15, 2015
Office I worked was great, corporate level has no idea what goes on outside there office in other divisions. Not much caring about lower level employees
Pros
good work atmosphere
Cons
low pay, little advancement, benifets could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Start
Therapist (Current Employee) –  Aliquippa, PAOctober 19, 2015
A good way to get your foot in the door and gain some experience in the drug and alcohol field. An opportunity to help those struggling with the disease of addiction. Very challenging with a high burn-out and turnover rate. Little to no opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Flexible Management
Cons
Low wage, No advancement, No support, Poor working environment No recognition. Less than stellar conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employed 12 years
Corrections Division Coordinator/PREA Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 7, 2015
I gained a wealth of knowledge and experience and grew in my career significantly while employed at Gateway Rehabilitation Center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gateway Rehabilitation Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 29 reviews
55
45
311
23
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture

Gateway Rehabilitation Center Reviews by Location